24th Route du Sud - 2.3

France, June 17 - 20, 2000

Main Page    Results    Previous stage

Stage 2 - June 18: Villeneuve-sur-Lot - Castres, 190.3 km

Petacchi continues his run

After performing well in the Giro d'Italia with a stage win, Fassa Bortolo's Alessandro Petacchi managed two stages in the Tour of Luxembourg last week, and now has two stages in the Route du Sud. He won the second 190 km road stage from Villeneuve-sur-Lot to Castres, after a long day in the heat and a strong headwind.

Two riders, Festina's Florent Brard and Bonjour's Damien Nazon escaped early on, and were able to stay away for most of the stage. Their 170 kilometre breakaway gained a maximum of 3:50 before they were caught with 20 kilometres to go.

The stage ended in a bunch sprint after a few more attacks, with Petacchi victorious over teammate Gabriele Balducci and Damien Nazon, who still had the legs to sprint after his effort. David Millar retained his leader's jersey.

Tomorrow's stage will go from Castres to Saint-Gaudens (Haute-Garonne), and is just 104.6 kilometres long.


1 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo            5.40.41 (34.043 km/h)
2 Gabriele Balducci (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
3 Damien Nazon (Fra) Bonjour-Tourpargel
4 Lars Michaelsen (Den) La Française des Jeux
5 Aart Vierhouten (Ned) Rabobank
6 Alberto Ongarato (Ita) Mobilvetta-Rossin
7 Sébastien Hinault (Fra) Crédit Agricole
8 Alexei Sivakov (Rus) Big Mat-Aubervilliers 93
9 Kirk O'Bee (USA) US Postal Service
10 Andy Flickinger (Fra) Festina
11 Samuel Sanchez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
12 Julian Dean (USA) US Postal Service
13 François Simon (Fra) Bonjour-Tourpargel
14 Leon Van Bon (Ned) Rabobank
15 Pascal Chanteur (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
16 Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Ag2r-Prevoyance
17 Cédric Vasseur (Fra) US Postal Service
18 Bruno Thibout (Fra) Jean Delatour
19 Matthe Pronk (Ned) Rabobank
20 Patrice Halgand (Fra) Jean Delatour

General classification after stage 2:

1 David Millar (GBr) Cofidis                          8.19.13
2 Andrea Peron (Ita) Fassa Bortolo                       0.34
3 Viatscheslav Ekimov (Rus) US Postal Service            0.47
4 Tomasz Brozyna (Pol) Banesto                           0.49
5 Didier Rous (Fra) Bonjour-Tourpargel                   0.50
6 Grzegorz Gwiazdowski (Pol) La Française des Jeux       0.54
7 Jonathan Vaughters (USA) Crédit Agricole               0.55
8 Dariusz Baranowski (Pol) Banesto                       0.56
9 Tyler Hamilton (USA) US Postal Service                 0.57
10 Bobby Julich (USA) Crédit Agricole                    1.02