24th Route du Sud - 2.3

France, June 17 - 20, 2000

Main Page    Results    Previous stage

Stage 1b - June 17: Villeneuve-sur-Lot, ITT, 14.9 km

A Scot takes the lead after day one

By the end of day one of the Route du Sud, there were some strong results from the English speaking riders, and in particular Cofidis' David Millar. The Scot posted the quickest time in the 14.9 kilometre time trial, and now holds the leader's jersey. He beat Fassa Bortolo's Andrea Peron by 34 seconds, while Vjatceslav Ekimov (US Postal) finished third.

In the top 10 on GC, Tyler Hamilton (US Postal), Jonathan Vaughters and Bobby Julich (CA) were there, in addition to a strong Polish representation. Tomasz Brozyna and Dariusz Baranowski (Banesto) rode strongly in the time trial, as did Grzegorz Gwiazdowski (FdJ) who was part of the break in the morning.

Tomorrow's stage 2 will go from Villeneuve-sur-Lot to Castres covering 190.3 kilometres.


1 David Millar (GBr) Cofidis                             19.51 (45.005 km/h)
2 Andrea Peron (Ita) Fassa Bortolo                        0.46
3 Viatscheslav Ekimov (Rus) US Postal Service             0.47
4 Tomasz Brozyna (Pol) Banesto                            0.49
5 Jonathan Vaughters (USA) Crédit Agricole                0.55
6 Dariusz Baranowski (Pol) Banesto                        0.56
7 Tyler Hamilton (USA) US Postal Service                  0.57
8 Didier Rous (Fra) Bonjour-Tourpargel                    1.02
9 Rik Verbrugghe (Bel) Lotto-Adecco                       1.05
10 Francisco Mancebo (Spa) Banesto                        1.06
11 Grzegorz Gwiazdowski (Pol) La Française des Jeux       1.08
12 Fabian Jeker (Swi) Festina
13 Christophe Bassons (Fra) Jean Delatour                 1.14
14 Bobby Julich (USA) Crédit Agricole
15 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis                          1.17
16 Leon Van Bon (Ned) Rabobank
17 Serguei Yakovlev (Kaz) Besson-Chasseurs                1.22

General classification after stage 1b:

1 David Millar (GBr) Cofidis                           2.38.32
2 Andrea Peron (Ita)  Fassa Bortolo              	  0.34
3 Vjatceslav Ekimov (Rus) US Postal Service      	  0.47
4 Tomasz Brozyna (Pol) Banesto                   	  0.49
5 Didier Rous (Fra)  Bonjour-Tourpargel          	  0.50
6 Grzegorz Gwiazdowski (Pol) Francaise des Jeux  	  0.54
7 Jonathan Vaughters (USA) Credit Agricole       	  0.55
8 Dariusz Baranowski (Pol) Banesto               	  0.56
9 Tyler Hamilton (USA) US Postal Service         	  0.57
10 Bobby Julich (USA) Credit Agricole            	  1.02