Cyclingnews - the world centre of cycling Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recent News

January 2009
February 2009
March 2009
April 2009
May 2009
June 2009
July 2008
August 2008
September 2008
October 2008
November 2008
December 2008

2007 & earlier

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

2005 Team rosters

Team Starbucks Doubleshot

U.S. masters team Starbucks Doubleshot returns this year as an elite, multi-sport team consisting of veteran cyclists from around Washington State. The elite team will kick off its season with the Ohop Chilli warm-up series on January 29 and February 12. The series will be open to USCF licensed riders from February 26th ( with points awarded towards the Washington Cup series.

Team Starbucks Doubleshot is operated by PruSports LLC, sponsored by Starbucks Doubleshot and co-sponsored by the Spoke & Sprocket bicycle shop. The "Doublespokes" will again be aboard Torelli bicycles on the road. Mountain Bike sponsorship opportunities are available.

Team Starbucks Doubleshot has added four new elite men to the team to bring the total elite roster to eight men and four women. All eight elite riders will return from the 2004 roster and the additions have been carefully chosen to continue the goal of creating and maintaining a family friendly team that supports cycling as a lifestyle. Starbucks Doubleshot's competitive focus will be on Masters World and National Championship races as well as the Senior Washington State BARR (Best All-Around Road Rider) competition.

Returning to Team Starbucks Doubleshot is 2004 USA Cycling National Road (Masters 30-34) Champion and 2003 and 2004 NORBA National 24 Hour (Masters 30+ Team) National Champion Andrew McDirmid. In addition to his cycling, Andrew is the team accountant. Also returning is 2003 and 2004 NORBA National 24 Hour (Masters 30+ Team) Champion and team manager/director Michael Pruitt. Michael is in the third year of his return to competitive cycling after retiring for two years to raise his son.

Former Austrian Champion with the Blind Association Michael Emde has been one of the region's most consistent, top riders and also provides coaching services to the team. Unpredictable and powerful, Pat Roregan will continue to keep other riders on their toes. Erik Schmidt will be entering his 2nd year with Team Starbucks Doubleshot, having also been a member of the 2004 NORBA 24 Hour National Championship Team. New riders include 1996 U.S. Collegiate Track (Team Pursuit) Champion Randy Boettcher, Former All-American Triathlete Glen Stewart and Mark Knokey.

On the women's side, the team is packed with strong riders from the Northwest. 2004 World 24 Hour Solo (Age Group) Champion Maribeth Evecich is joined by former USACycling National Tandem Champion Wanda Howlett, USACycling National Cyclocross (Masters Women 35+) Champion Lisa Givens & Marla Emde. The women's team will focus on off-road events such as the 2005 24 Hour Mountain Bike Nationals.

For more information on the warm-up series and the team, go to or email Michael Pruitt

Team roster


Michael Pruitt - Seattle, WA
Andrew McDirmid - Spokane, WA
Michael Emde - Spokane, WA
Randy Boettcher - Seattle, WA
Mark Knokey - Spokane, WA
Glenn Stewart - Spokane, WA
Erik Schmidt - Spokane, WA
Pat Roregan - Moses Lake, WA


Maribeth Evezich - Seattle, WA
Lisa Givens - Mercer Island, WA
Wanda Howlett - Auburn, WA
Marla Emde - Spokane, WA

Manager/Director: Michael Pruitt
Assistant Director: Eric Kapfhammer
Starbucks Doubleshot 2005, Sponsors
Starbucks Doubleshot /
Spoke & Sprocket /
Axley Eyewear /
Ritchey Logic /
Torelli /
Carnac /
Emde Coaching /
Voler Team Apparel/
Clif Bar /
CrankBrothers /
Tufo North America /

2005 team rosters