Cyclingnews - the world centre of cycling Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recent News

January 2009
February 2009
March 2009
April 2009
May 2009
June 2009
July 2008
August 2008
September 2008
October 2008
November 2008
December 2008

2007 & earlier

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

2005 Team rosters

ABD Cycling

The ABD Cycle Club is based out of Chicago, Illinois, USA, and is one of the more active clubs in the USA in terms of event promotion and support of elite riders. The club promotes 14 sanctioned races throughout the year and has seen National Champions Kirk O'Bee and Frank Pipp, 2004 Junior World's Team Member Natalie Klemko, and rising young amateur Frank Dierking pass through its ranks.

In 2004, membership in the ABD club grew to include over 150 riders, ranging in age from 10 to 72 years young. These members are the backbone of ABD's events, including the ever- popular Indoor Time Trial Series and Illinois State Championship Criterium - which is held in Winfield, Illinois the weekend before the U.S. National Championship Criterium in nearby Downers Grove. ABD's Elite squad has grown to include 15 men and women. ABD is also very excited to extend support to even more Chicagoland riders through its new "Women's Recruitment Program", 3.4.5 Racing squad and Coaching programs.

Trek-Volkswagen have once again named the ABD Elite squad a regional program in 2005, which puts the athletes on Trek's new Madone 5.2 bikes. Other returning sponsors include Prairie Path Cycles, Bontrager Wheels & Components, Sinclair Imports and Carnac shoes, Powerbar, Compex Technologies and adidas eyewear.

Full details on ABD events are available at, or contact

2005 ABD Elite Riders


Kelly Benjamin, 28, Overland Park, KS
Natalie Klemko, 17, Kenosha, WI
Sarah Tillotson, 28, Wheaton, IL


Jim Baldesare, 32, Kent, OH
Scott Boyd, 34, Naperville, IL
Frank Dierking, 24, Madison, WI
Mike Ebert, 26, Winfield, IL
Rob Jungels, 36, Elmhurst, IL
Bryce Mead, Rock Island, IL
Terrence Metz, 25, Wheaton, IL
Reid Mumford, 28, Wheaton, IL
Ryan Nenninger, 25, Iowa City, IA
John Puffer, 32, Schaumburg, IL
Brett Stewart, 22, Evansville, IN
Lucas Wall, 28, Madison, WI

2005 ABD Event Dates

Jan. 16, 2005: Indoor Time Trial #1
Feb. 6, 2005: Indoor Time Trial #2
Feb. 27, 2005: Indoor Time Trial #3
Mar. 19, 2005: Indoor Time Trial #4
Apr. 2 &3, 2005: Indoor Time Trial event at Navy Pier.
Apr. 10, 2005: John Fraser Memorial TT
May 29, 2005: Masters Memorial Day Madness
Jun. 12, 2005: Garden Prairie 40kTT.
Aug. 13 & 14, 2005: Winfield Criterium
October 1, 2, 8, 9: Fall Fling Race Series

2005 team rosters