Competitive Cyclist
Full Speed Ahead
3T Designs

USA Cycling Mountain Bike National Championships - CN

USA, July 19-22, 2007

Main Page    Results   Overall standings             Next Race

Race 1 - Thursday, July 19: U23 Men Cross Country  

By Jackson Weber in West Dover, Vermont

Sam Jurekovic (U23 National Team) wrenched victory from defending champion Subaru-Gary Fisher's Sam Schultz in the day's U23 men's cross country race. Schultz and Jurekovic generally together until the last lap during which Jurekovic attacked. That's when Schultz suffered cramps, leaving Jurekovic to comfortably ride away to victory.

"I was right with Sam until the second lap when I went over my handlebars," Jurekovic explained how he lost 20 seconds at one point on lap two. "When I recovered, I rode with Colin (Cares) for a lap, but rode away on the climb. It was a very hard chase, but when I finally caught back up with Sam at the top of the mountain on the third lap, I just rode right by him. I just didn't stop and tried not to look back."

"I felt awesome today," second placed Schultz said, "I was leading for most of the race, but Sam just started riding really strong. Once he blew by me, I just tried to salvage my losses. He opened up a pretty good gap and then I started cramping pretty badly. I just didn't quite have the legs today."

Race notes

- 2007 nationals marked the second consecutive year that the same trio swept the top three podium spots. Last year, the order was Schultz, Jurekovic, and Cares.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Dave McElwaine/www.trailwatch.net


U23 men
1 Sam Jurekovic (U23 Nation)                    2.34.18
2 Sam Schultz (Subaru-Gary Fisher)                 2.58
3 Colin Cares (U23 Nation)                         5.11
4 Chance Noble (Cal Giant)                        11.17
5 Mitchell Peterson (Devo)                        11.43
6 Bryan Alders (Mona-Vie)                         12.31
7 Brian Fawley (Xfusion)                          14.04
8 Ryan Woodall (Industrynine)                     16.15
9 Travis Livermon (Cycling)                       16.21
10 Brandon Draugelis (Bear Naked)                 16.29
11 James Driscoll (Floridifruita)                 20.25
12 Dylan Alesio (Giant)                           22.15
13 Andrew Alesio (Wild Blues)                     23.05
14 Tad Elliott (U23 Nation)                       24.27
15 Mitch Hoke (Tm Radical)                        25.52
16 Aaron Snyder                                   26.38
17 Mcconnell Franklin (Devo)                      26.44
18 Kirk Turner (Giant)                            28.03
19 Christopher Hamlin (Bliss Racing)              29.13
20 Pete Ostroski (Red Jersey)                     30.13
21 Jesrin Gaier (Specialized)                     31.11
22 Kyle Hammaker (Cadence)                        38.52
23 Harry Precourt (North A.)                      45.02
24 Matt Wittler (Sierraxpre.)                     45.37
25 Alex Ryan (Land Rover)                         46.36
26 Caley Fretz (Bliss Racing)                     47.41
27 Brian Firliet (Coyote Hill)                    49.55
28 Travis Mann-Gow (Team Bliss)                   54.07
29 Benjamin Moore (Velo Roche)                    55.28
30 Nick Magliocco (Bliss)                         57.29
31 Trevor Downing (Team Devo)                     58.01
32 Matt Nudy (Beansbike)                        1.00.52
33 Art Nelsen (Tokyo Joes)                      1.02.26
34 Luke Pennington (S And M)                    1.04.02
DNF Tristan Uhl (Team Hotel)                           
DNF Nic Magliocco (Bliss)                              
DNF Luke Brechwald (Rad Racing)                        
DNF David Bishop (Krystal)                             
DNF Luke Rozanski (Giant/Maxx)                         

Back to top