Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 MTB index page for all MTB content

South African National Cup Series #5 - 2

Pretoria, South Africa, May 23-24, 2009

Main Page    Results    Previous Race  

Race 2 - May 24: Downhill

Potgieter wraps up downhill double

Johann Potgieter wins the final round
Photo ©: Carl Scholtz
(Click for larger image)

Johann Potgieter (Red Bull Von Zipper) maintained his impressive run when he won the final leg of the MTN National Downhill Cup at Klapperkop, Pretoria on Sunday.

The Cape Town rider clocked a time of one minute 53.38 seconds on his first of two runs down the technical descent and then followed that up with a second run of 1:54.31, giving him the two fastest times of the day and the overall victory.

Wesley Augustyn was just over a second back grabbing the runner-up place.
Photo ©: Carl Scholtz
(Click for larger image)

He also secured maximum points and collected the National series title, giving him a rare double, after his victory in the national championships in George in March.

But despite the absence of a few top riders, Potgieter didn't have things all his own way as Wesley Augustyn, brother of top road pro, John Lee, had two quick runs, his second of 1:54.54 being his quickest, giving him the runner-up place.

Alex Bramley, Pierre van der Merwe (Fox Morewood) and Louis-Bresler Knipe rounded out the top five, with Van der Merwe claiming the junior victory. Van der Merwe also 'did the double', adding the series title to his national title.

No women competed, giving Pietermaritzburg's Victoria Phillips the series win.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Carl Scholtz / MIHPhotography


Elite men

1 Johann Potgieter (RSA)               1.53.38
2 Wesley Augustyn (RSA)                0.01.16
3 Alex Bramley (RSA)                   0.03.88
4 Louis-Bresler Knipe (RSA)            0.05.64
5 Dirk Van Schalkwyk (RSA)             0.10.87
6 Thomas Rood (RSA)                    0.12.75
7 Kelvin Purchase (RSA)                0.13.94
8 Frank Liebenberg (RSA)               0.16.77
9 Justin Victor (RSA)                  0.19.84
10 David Dinkelman (RSA)               0.28.16
11 Gustav Kros (RSA)                   0.38.03

Open / sport men

1 Cobus Truter (RSA)      
2 Shaun Roodt (RSA)                    2.57.00
3 Brent Carpenter (RSA)                6.25.00
4 Alex Frisby (RSA)                   12.16.00
5 Joshua Liebenberg (RSA)             18.17.00
6 Marius Snyman (RSA)                 20.06.00
7 Sean Shepherd (RSA)                 20.32.00
8 Cornel Claassen (RSA)               23.07.00
9 Lee Stopforth (RSA)                 27.22.00
10 David Hogan (RSA)                  30.39.00
11 Werner Van Der Westhuizen (RSA)    31.53.00
12 Patrick Alexander (RSA)            32.53.00
13 Mark Sydney (RSA)                  33.42.00
14 Hennie Blignaut (RSA)              50.47.00
15 Johann Von Bachstrom (RSA)         54.36.00
16 Rory Attridge (RSA)    
17 Sean Attridge (RSA)    

Junior men

1  Pierre van der Merwe                      1.58
2  Timothy Bentley                           0.05
3  Simon Dinkelman                           0.09

Youth men

1  Tiaan Odendaal                            2.04
2  Alasdair Fey                              0.08
3  Matthew Wortman                           0.14

Sub junior boys

1  Alan Hatherly                             2.24
2  Peter Bentley                             0.27
3  Luke Evans                                0.29

Sub veteran men

1  James Morland                             2.23
2  Norman Hatherly                           0.11
3  Conrad Davies                             0.29