Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Results for Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Ready-Hire 24 Hour Mountain Bike Challenge

Beaudesert, Queensland, April 12-13, 2003

By Sharon Payne

Age was no barrier for the winning six man team at the Ready-Hire 24 Hour Mountain Bike Challenge held at Beaudesert over the weekend. The Gold Coast team; Brett Stevens, Jack Weitenberg, Phil Hystek, Gary Purtell, Gary Sutherland and Ole Hansen; with an average age of 40 years completed a record 97 laps to win their first 24 hour team event.

Over 240 mountain bike riders from South-east Queensland and New South Wales rode the new course at Fellgcrag near Beaudesert starting at mid-day on Saturday. This was the third Ready Hire 24 Hr Mountain Bike Team Challenge and the first of 5 endurance races in the National Strongbutt Series for 2003/04 including the Mont 24 hr and the Polaris Challenges.

They took the lead after three blistering laps to finish ahead of second placed team led by strong mountain biker, Mark Frendo. In third were six downhill riders including the National Series Downhill winner, Shane Wode and Craig Van Haren from the Gold Coast.

Seasoned endurance rider, Saul Britton from N.S.W. won his first 24 hour event after finishing 2nd in the Canberra Mont 24 hour Race. Britton rode 58 laps to finish comfortably ahead of Ian Wright on 54 laps and Anthony Cooke on 49 laps.

Next event: 25 May - MTB Duathlon Series Round 1


1 S. Britton                                                                                 58 laps
2 I. Wright                                                                                  54
3 A. Cooke                                                                                   49
4 C. Hackett                                                                                 34
5 D. May                                                                                     32
6 Q. Lymbery                                                                                 31
7 D. Shailer                                                                                 31
8 R. Chalmers                                                                                24
9 M. Hester                                                                                  18
Solo Woman
1 J. Hougan (Female Winner)                                                                  26
Overall Winners & Teams of 6
1 Disorganized (B. Stevens, J. Weitenberg, P. Hystek, G. Purtell, G. Sutherland, O. Hansen)  97 laps
2 Mofo 1 (P. Herzig, J. Claridge, M. Frendo, R. Breste, D. Penhaligon, A. Penhaligon)        92
3 DH Boys (S. Wode, C. Van Haren, M. Tape, L. Klein, C. Woodhead, T. Mann)                   91
Women's Team of 6
1 G. Duncan, T. Britton, S. Ruis, K. Todd, L. Hougaard, M. Young                             56
Teams of 2
1 Tornadoes (G. Land, D Kenney)                                                              79
2 Two Up (J Brough, G, Heap)                                                                 49
3 Two Tired Titans (C. Fox, M Donohue)                                                       46
Teams of 4
1 Byron Bay Freeriders Inc (F. Young, N. Frederiksen, J. Petit, D. Murray                    80
2 Suff-Rin (G. Grieve, C. Byron, A. Paton, A. Madsen)                                        76
4 Cycledelic (R. Pope, C. Boyce, C. Frost, A. Byron)                                         76
Teams of 8
1 The Torn Vets (P. Enright, P. Mulholland, K. Mooney, G. Evans, T. Pullos, P. Bent,
L. Harley, G. Edwards)                                                                       64 

Previous Australian Results