Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

US Cyclocross championships - CN

Portland, Oregon, USA, December 10-12, 2004

Main Page    Results    Previous Race     Next Race

December 12: Junior Men 17-18, 40 minutes

Selander takes junior title

Bjorn Selander (Alan Factory Team)
Photo ©: Matthew E. Moses
Click for larger image

Bjorn Selander secured a national title in the Junior Men's 17-18 race. Showing his form early on, Selander rode at the front with the likes of Teejay Van Garteren (Missoula, Mont.), Mitchell Peterson, and Brady Kappius (Littleton, Colo.) until he was able to break away. "Brady Kappius and I were riding side by side," the winner explained afterwards, "When I passed him, I just kept going and didn't look back." The third lap proved to be the decisive point in the race as Selander increased his lead. By the bell lap, he had 20 seconds on his nearest threats and powered through the final stretch for the win.

Photo gallery


1 Bjorn Selander (Alan Factory Team)            36.48.6
2 Nicholas Weighall (unattached)                 0.20.5
3 Brady Kappius (Team)                           0.33.6
4 Mitchell Peterson (Devo/Balance Bar)           0.37.2
5 Peter Stetina (Team)                           0.51.8
6 Toby Marzot (Corner Cycle)                     0.52.4
7 Will Dugan (Tosk-Berkshire)                    1.34.7
8 Tejay Van Garderen (Unattached)                1.53.8
9 Adam McGrath (Redline/Excel Sports)            2.03.7
10 Eric Riggs (Lombardi)                         2.19.8
11 Luke Brechwald (Rad Racing)                   2.21.2
12 Jonathan Belcher (Missing Link Bicycle)       2.22.5
13 Alex Howes (Team)                             2.23.0
14 Adam Switters (Lombardi/Klein)                      
15 Chance Noble (Scary Fast Junior team)         3.01.1
16  Stockburger (Team Rio Grande)                3.26.0
17 Morgan Macleod (Portland Velo)                3.56.2
18 Austin Carroll (Balance Bar/Devo)             4.11.9
19 Michael Hosey (SOULCRAFT)                     4.26.0
20 Joey Rogerson (rad racing nw)                 4.31.1
21 Noah Harwood (NECSA/ACT)                      5.40.6
22 Ryan Owens (blackwater bike shop)             5.48.3
23 Gian Dalle (Roslyn)                                 
24 Tyler Given (ASC/Team Oberto)                 5.54.5
25 Alex Motz (Gregg's/Trek VW)                   6.54.2
26 Nathan Bannerman (Bicycle Centers)            7.02.5
27 Colt McElwaine (NEBC/Cycle Loft)              7.48.5
28 Marc Swart (Alan)                             8.08.2
29 Logan Wetzel (B0216334)                       8.52.0
30 Ian Megale (Fred Meyer)                       8.53.8
31 Sam Morton (Beaverton Bicycle)                      
One lap behind
32 Terence Wedam (Fred Meyer Cycling)                  

Back to top