Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

GP AVB Zonhoven - C2

Zonhoven, Belgium, October 5, 2008

2007 Results   Results   Past winners

Albert storms away to second season win

Niels Albert (Palmans Cras)
Photo ©: Isosport
(Click for larger image)

22 year-old Niels Albert jumped away from the gun at the start of the GP Zonhoven, and was never to be seen again by his competitors. The rider from the Palmans-Cras team held a 30 second advantage over Klaas Vantornout, who fought off a chase from the Fidea duo of Zdenek Stybar and Bart Wellens to secure second place.

Albert, the winner of the Steenbergcross seems to have recovered fully from a nasty crash in the GP Neerpelt last week, and never showed any sign of the sore ribs which he came away with from that wreck. "After my fall in Neerpelt, I stayed off the bike three days," Albert said to sporza.be. "Then I trained hard despite the wind and rain, but I didn't know where I stood. I attacked from the start, and when I had a 30 second advantage, I limited myself to holding it. I wasn't here to win with a three minute advantage."

Vantornout, the winner of the season opener in Dudzele, was being chased by Stybar and Wellens until the latter flatted on the final lap. He was surprised to do so well as he was sick all week. "Yesterday I was thinking I would not start," Vantornout said, "but later decided to try anyway. All in all it was a good day."


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by AFP Photo

Images by Isosport


1 Niels Albert (Bel) Palmans-Cras                            
2 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb Projob                       
3 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Fidea Cycling Team                     
4 Petr Dlask (Cze) Fidea Cycling Team                        
5 Bart Wellens (Bel) Fidea Cycling Team                      
6 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) Fidea Cycling Team                   
7 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Fidea Cycling Team                     
8 Thijs Al (Ned) BeOne Chainreactions Cycles                 
9 Rob Peeters (Bel) Landbouwkrediet                          
10 Richard Groenendaal (Ned) AA Cycling Team                 
11 Wilant Van Gils (Ned) ZZPR.NL                             
12 Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) Palmans-Cras                  
13 Ben Berden (Bel) Revor Cycling Team                       
14 Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Rabobank Continental Team           
15 Jan Soetens (Bel) Revor Cycling Team                      
16 Jan Verstraeten (Bel) Sunweb Projob                       
17 Tom De Kort (Bel) AVB Cycling Team                        
18 Eddy Van Ijzendoorn (Ned)                                 
19 Nico Berckmans (Bel) DCM-GB Vorselaar Cycling Team Vzw    
20 Jimmy Tielens (Bel)                                       
21 Mariusz Gil (Pol)                                         
22 Geert Wellens (Bel) AVB Cycling Team                      
23 Kristof Luyten (Bel) Pro Cycling Team Vzw - Neerpelt      
24 Jerry Kallenfels (Ned) EasyPay                            
25 Steven De Schoesitter (Bel) Rudyco Cycling Team           
26 Peter Goeman (Bel) Asfra Racing Team                      

Past Winners

2007 Bart Wellens (Bel) Fidea Cycling Team
2006 Sven Nys (Bel) Rabobank