Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Beacon 'Cross

Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA, November 8, 2008

2007 Results  Results  Past winners  Men's results

Van Gilder the Sandy girl in Jersey

Laura Van Gilder took another victory in her maiden 'cross season as she reigned on the South Jersey sandy soil. Van Gilder mastered the difficult conditions to beat Dee Dee Winfield (Velo Bella / Kona). Van Gilder's win made it a double triumph for C3-Sollay.com, the squad taking honours in both the men's and women's events.

It was a two-rider race from the start, with Winfield and Van Gilder rapidly moving ahead of the remainder of the women's field. Van Gilder was able to bound up the two-foot-high amphitheatre steps as fast as any of the taller women, despite giving away a few inches to her rivals. She and Winfield remained together to the very end, when Van Gilder unleashed her legendary sprint on the slightly uphill paved road finish to take yet another win in her rookie cyclo-cross season.


Elite women
1 Laura Van Gilder (C3 Sollay)                        
2 Deidre Winfield (Velo Bella - Kona)                 
3 Kristin Gavin (Human Zoom/Pabst Blue Ribbon)        
4 Nikki Thiemann (Human Zoom Pabst Blue Ribbon)       
5 Arley Kemmerer (Hub Racing)                         
6 Melanie Swartz (Velo Bella - Kona)                  
7 Patty Buerkle (Vanderkitten)                        
8 Heidi Von Teitenberg (C3-Sollay.com)                
9 Lauri Webber (Secret Henry's Team)                  
10 Kristine Church (Human Zoom/ Pabst Blue Ribbon)    
11 Elizabeth Harlow (C3-Sollay.com)                   
12 Kristy Swope (EPS/CSS/Riptide cycling)             
13 Terri Spanogle (NCVC/Inova Health System)          
14 Diane Grim (C3-Sollay.com)                         
15 Bianca Grecu (Human Zoom/Pabst Blue Ribbon)        
16 Tara Parsons (CRCA)                                
17 Laura Winberry (Campmor)                           
DNF Lenore Pipes (Zaveta Construction/Cyclesports)    

Past winners

2007 Georgia Gould (Luna Women's Mtb Team)
2006 Deidre Winfield (Velo Bella-Kona)
2005 Georgia Gould (USA)