Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Blizzard Bike Club

Forest City Velodrome
Ontario Track Cup #6

Cross on the Rock #1


Wisconsin Cycling Association 'cross series #2

Yellowstone Lake State Park, WI, October 16, 2005

Paul Roltgen (Brazen Dropouts)
Photo ©: Madcross.org
Click for larger image

It was a beautiful fall day at Yellowstone Lake State Park for a cross race. Temperatures were around 60 degrees and from the top of the race course you could see all the trees changing colours.

However, this was not a race course for everyone. Bumpy downhills and lung busting climbs characterised the day. The two sets of barriers were both hill run-ups (oh those wacky college kids love to make people suffer). Very little relief was found on the course as you were either hanging on for dear life flying down a fast bumpy section or praying your legs wouldn't give out on one of the many uphills.

Matt Kelly (Alan Factory Team)
Photo ©: Madcross.org
Click for larger image

In the A Men's race, Matt Kelly (Alan Factory Team), Brian Matter (PCW Cycling) and Tristan Schouten (Trek Midwest) took the early lead. However, flat tires and needed bike changes by Tristan soon reduced the lead to Matt and Brian with Jim Holmes (All 9 Yards) eventually surging by Tristan. On the final lap Matt made his move and unleashed Brian from his wheel to take the win. Brian held on for second with Jim Holmes taking third and Tristan holding on for fourth.

The Women's A/B race had a small but determined field. Diane Ostenso (Alan Factory Team) got the hole shot down the first fast, bumpy downhill. At the first uphill barrier Renee Callaway (Alan Factory Team) took over the lead from her teammate. Renee built up a sizeable gap but mid-way through the race she hit her knee on the first up hill barriers and then tripped and fell going over the second set of up hill barriers.

This was just the opening that Heidi Ploeg (Atkins Cycling) needed and she surged forward on the next lap to eventually catch Renee on the climb up to the start/finish area. Renee railed down the bumpy downhill to try and get a small gap back. By the middle of the last lap Renee had recovered and had a small gap which she took all the way to the finish. Heidi came in second, followed by Brittany Nigh (Pedal Moraine) and Diane Ostenso who suffered mechanical problems finished fourth.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Madcross.org/www.madcross.org


Men A
1 Matt Kelly (Alan Factory Team)                         
2 Brian Matter (PCW Cycling)                             
3 Jim Homes (All 9 Yards)                                
4 Tristan Schouten (Trek/VW)                             
5 Chris Setter (CZ Velo)                                 
6 John Acker (Wheel and Sprocket)                        
Women A/B
1 Renee Callaway (Alan Factory Team)                     
2 Heidi Ploeg (Atkins Cycling)                           
3 Brittany Nigh (Team Pedal Morraine)                    
4 Diane Ostenso (Alan Factory Team)                      
Men B
1 Jack Hirt (Velo Trocadero)                             
2 Kip Spaude (Nova/IS Corp)                              
3 Aaron Brandt (Team Wisconsin)                          
4 Damon Rinard (Brazen Dropouts)                         
5 Thomas Bender (Team Wisconsin)                         
6 Luke Batchelor-Clark (Team Magnus)                     
7 Matt Brandt (Team Wisconsin)                           
8 Joe Greatens                                           
9 Erik Olsen (Team Magnus)                               
10 Ric Damm                                              
11 David Bell (Chainsmokers)                             
12 Hans Higdon (Hampshire CC)                            
13 Carl Ham                                              
14 Bill Nigh (Team Pedal Morraine)                       
15 Joseph Tavano (Schwinn Regional)                      
16 Dave Thomas (Team Magnus)                             
Men C
1 Justin Breathen                                        
2 John Roberts                                           
3 Bryan McGill                                           
4 Richard Janisch (Hayes)                                
5 Matt Block                                             
6 Shawn McMahon                                          
7 Todd Hill                                              
8 Wade Loberger                                          
9 Dan Hendricks                                          
10 Lewis Clark                                           
11 Any Tautges                                           
12 Andrew Toumanoff (Marquette U)                        
13 James Garton                                          
14 Frank Batchelor-Clark (Team Magnus)                   
15 Chuck Strawser                                        
16 Peter Tampa                                           
Women C
1 Melissa Putzer (Gear N Up)                             
2 Michele Schulze (Capitol Velo Club)                    
3 Linda Seamars (Capitol Velo Club)                      
Junior Boys Under 14
1 Thomson Remo (Nova/IS Corp)                            
Junior Boys 15-18
1 Matt Brandt (Team Wisconsin)                           
Masters Men 30+
1 Randy Bailey (Stadium Bike)                            
2 Jeff Melcher (Team Pedal Morraine)                     
3 Mark Harms (Brazen Dropouts)                           
4 Jerry Long (Chainsmokers)                              
5 David Peters (Brazen Dropouts)                         
6 Paul Roltgen (Brazen Dropouts)                         
7 Mike Bobusch (Wheel and Sprocket)                      
8 Andrew Gardner (Brazen Dropouts)                       
9 David Yu Greenblatt                                    
Masters 40+/50+
1 Greg Ferguson (Novara/REI)                             
2 John Handlogten (One Percent More/Beans and Barley)    
3 Eric Knuth (Brazen Dropouts)                           
4 Geoff Fenelon (Team Moots Midwest)                     
5 Bob Downs (Brazen Dropouts)                            
6 Paul Warloski (Team Mack)                              
7 Philip Olsen                                           
8 Bob Hayssen (Vision Quest)                             
9 Lowell Kellogg (Nova/IS Corp)                          
10 Robert Schueler (Hampshire CC)                        
11 John Spaude (Nova/IS Corp)                             

Local results 2004