Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from Ireland

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Bray GP




Northern Ireland Cyclocross League #2

Banbridge, Northern Ireland, November 15, 2004

Seymour On Form In Banbridge

Irish champion Robin Seymour took his second win out from two starts this season when he came out best in the second round of the Northern Ireland cyclo-cross league, held in Banbridge yesterday. The Team WORC rider, who won the opening round of the Leinster League in Kilcullen last week, was part of the scratch group in the main event. There was a record turnout of 45 riders in this race, with 17 others competing in the underage contest.

Under the handicap system, the two scratch riders Seymour and Roger Aiken started six minutes behind the first group. The expected tussle between the two was scuppered by mechanical problems, though, with Aiken being forced to retire after the first of ten laps as the rear derailleur jammed in his wheel. However, Seymour still had a lot of work to do before landing the win, as the Toyata North Down rider Raymond Brownfield started four minutes ahead and held the race lead right up until the final lap. Seymour finally reeled him in and reached the line 33 seconds ahead, with Lewis Ferguson (Team Fergie) a further 39 seconds back in third place. Tim Edgar (XMTB), Dave Gill (Team WORC) and Robert Lamont (XMTB) completed the top six, while eighth-placed Alaister McSorley (Apollo) and eleventh-placed Jon Rinciman (Banbridge CC) were first of the junior and veteran riders.

Mark Downey (Banbridge), Michael Runciman (Banbridge), Sean Downey (Banbridge) and Graham Boyd (XMTB) were the victors in the various youth categories. Yesterday's course will also be used for the Ulster championships in January. The next race in the Irish cyclo-cross calendar is the second round of the Leinster league, which will be held in the grounds of UCD in Belfield next Sunday. The underage race is at noon while the main event begins an hour later.


Seniors and Juniors
1 Robin Seymour (Team Worc)                     	
2 Raymond Brownfield (Toyota North Down)        	
3 Lewis Ferguson (Team Fergie)                  	
4 Tim Edgar (XMTB)                              	
5 Dave Gill (Team Worc)                         	
6 Robert Lamont (XMTB)                          	
7 Philip Roche (Team Worc)                      	
8 Alaister McSorley (Apollo)                    	
9 Andrew McAllister (ECV)                       	
10 Francis Blake Dillon (Cyclewys)              	
11 Jon Rinicman (Banbridge CC)                  	
12 Stephen O'Sullivan (Cycleways Lee Strand)    	
First Junior: Alaister McSorley
First Veteran: Jon Rinciman
Under 10:	
1 Mark Downey (Banbridge)                       	
2 Daniel Runciman (Banbridge)                   	
3 James Curry (untached)                        	
Under 12:	
1 Michael Runciman (Banbridge)                  	
2 Robert Lamont (XMTB)                          	
3 Gareth McCormick (Banbridge)                  	
Under 14:	
1 Sean Downey (Banbridge)                       	
2 Chris Cameron(XMTB)                           	
3 Willam Boyd (XMTB)                            	
Under 16:	
1 Graham Boyd (XMTB)                            	
2 Neil McGimsey (XMTB)                          	
3 Jonhan Beers (XMTB)                           	


Local results 2004