Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from Canada

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Blizzard Bike Club

Forest City Velodrome
Ontario Track Cup #6

Cross on the Rock #1


Vancouver Island Cyclocross Championships

Nanaimo, BC, Canada, November 13, 2004

With only a very short two-week lead in time we were very pleased to have 57 athletes turn out for our event. The biggest winner was the sport of cyclocross as it was the first official sanctioned event on Vancouver Island (that we know of). We also had 23 people in the beginner event and a total of 30 people that had never raced cyclocross before. We started the afternoon with Canadian National cyclocross champion leading almost all of the first timers over the course to explain barriers, run ups, sand and mud.

Despite being a beginner event it did not lessen the competitive nature of the race. There were lots of lead changes and plenty of passing. Darren Carmichael on the last straight away of Grandview Bowl just pulled ahead of Gary Croome for the victory. Also notable was Helly Visser, at 72 years old, doing the event on a borrowed Brodie Spark. Our youngest competitor was 13-year-old Kjersten Lorne from Victoria who usually competes in cross country MTB events on the Island.

The unique LeMans start proved to be one of the highlights of the event with 34 racers furiously running 100 meters before finding and mounting their bikes for the opening lap of Grandview Bowl. Once onto the parcours Drew Mackenzie led it out with Andrew Pinfold (Symmetrics), Basse Clement (Solo), Sean Lunny (Frontrunners), Normon Thibault (Frontrunners) and Graeme Martindale (Frontrunners) in line. The first split occurred at the BMX track (noted as the most favorite part of the course by almost all surveyed after the event) where those with technical skills pulled away and splits in the field started to appear. The BMX track was also where the first major crash of the day occurred when Justin Maguire (Frontrunners), following ironman Peter Reid (Specialized), attacked the first set of jumps and launched his Moser into the air and into the next jump.

Off the BMX track, Pinfold started to gap the field with Drew Mackenzie, Thibault and Martindale in a small group 5 seconds behind. Mackenzie showed great skills by riding the steepest hill on the course while most others ran. At the end of lap one Pinfold was in the un-official pits looking to borrow a wheel from a beginner's race woman as he had a flat and Clement, Martindale and Thibault were trying to gap the rest of the field. The BMX track took another casualty on lap two with Martindale hitting the dirt. Pinfold made his way back up to the front and Clement and Thibault were trading places in 2nd and third. The only woman in the race, Wendy Simms (Frontrunners) was sitting in 5th with a group of guys after tearing her shorts wide open on a snag.

With darkness approaching attentive race timers cut the race short by one lap, a good move for safety reasons. The last lap saw Pinfold extending his lead to come across the line first. Thibault was out sprinted by Clement in the last 100 meters for second. Kelly Guest (Frontrunners), after making his way from further back in the field, took fourth - he thought Thibault was a lapped rider and coming third. Simms came in seventh in a group of five separated by 10 seconds Clean up was done in the dark and the awards were later at the famous Frontrunners Annual party.

Thanks to everyone that came out for the event, including volunteers, spectators and racers. Special thanks to Nanaimo Parks and Recreation, Nanaimo B.M.X., Frontrunners and Adidas (for bringing out their wicked RV). Pictures will be available at: http://barnlive.com/photos/index.php?folder=/Cyclocross/Vancouver%20Island%2004/ as soon as our Seattle friends make it home. (Currently there is only one shot marking the page)


1 Darren Carmichael (Frontrunners)                         30.51
2 Gary Croome (Schwalbe)                                        
3 Ted Radstake                                              0.07
4 Jeff Croft                                                0.37
5 J.P Baron (Frontrunners)                                  0.41
6 Mark Overton                                              1.54
7 Jeff Gallimor (Fire Dept.)                                2.05
8 Ron Williams (Fire Dept.)                                 4.39
9 Christine Baron (Frontrunners)                            5.06
10 Krissy Johnson                                           5.19
11 Kjersten Lone (Dirty Girls)                              6.20
12 Carrie Willekes (Frontrunners)                           7.03
13 Liz Williams                                             7.14
14 Sue Handel                                               7.36
15 Kemel Holubeshen                                         8.39
16 Trish Maguire the 1st                                    8.51
17 Layth Holubeshen                                        10.11
18 Lorne Bucholz                                           13.10
19 Mary Mark                                               13.39
One lap behind
20 Alison Keple (Frontrunners)                                  
Two laps behind
21 Helly Visser                                                 
Non-Beginner Race
1 Andrew Pinfold (Symmetrics)                              38.15
2 Basse Clement (Solo-Rockey Mountain)                      0.35
3 Normon Thibault (Frontrunners)                            0.36
4 Kelly Guest (Frontrunners)                                1.10
5 Stefan Jakobsen (Frontrunners)                            1.31
6 Sean Lunny (Frontrunners)                                 1.35
7 Derek McMaster (Team Costal)                                  
8 Jason Fluckiger (Bayside)                                 1.36
9 Wendy Simms (Frontrunners)                                    
10 Chris Barth (Bayside)                                    1.42
11 Andrew Kent (Aerosmith)                                  1.54
12 Peter Stevenson (Experience Cycling)                     2.12
13 Peter Reid (Specialized)                                 2.26
14 Graeme Martindale (Frontrunners)                         3.40
15 Justin Mark (Frontrunners)                                   
16 Nathaniel Morton (N.B.L.)                                4.07
17 Mason McGarrigle (Nanaimo M.T.B Club)                    4.09
18 Steve Crowley (Aerosmith)                                4.30
19 Chris Red (OakBay)                                       4.34
20 Jason Sandquist (Frontrunners)                           4.40
21 Ian Abbott                                               4.44
22 Gray Taylor (Brooks)                                     5.44
23 Kurt Knock (B.C. Masters)                                5.45
24 Corey Piket (Frontrunners)                               6.06
25 Jeff Sparling (Bow Cycle)                                7.49
26 Sean Clark (Adidas)                                      8.40
One lap behind
27 Hugh Fletcher (Aerosmith)                                    
28 Jason Howard (Aerosmith)                                     
29 Louis Brossard (Nanaimo Cycling Club)                        
DNF Darren Mealing (NewBalance)                                 
DNF Drew MacKenzie                                              
DNF Kevin Calhoun                                               
DNF Rob Britton                                                 
DNF Justin Maguire III (Frontrunners)                           


Local results 2004