Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from Ireland

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Bray GP




All Ireland Cyclo-Cross league, round 2

Kilbroney Park, October 25, 2003

Aiken defends lead with fine win

By Shane Stokes, irishcycling.com

Roger Aiken defended his lead in the All Ireland Cyclo-Cross league in the best possible way this weekend, racing to another fine victory at the end of the second race in the series. The Banbridge CC rider started up to six minutes behind some riders in Saturday's handicapped event at the Kilbroney Park venue, but he dropped the other riders in the scratch group and steadily reeled in all those in front of him. Apollo CC's Peter McCauley was the last to resist but he too was overhauled on the final lap.

Aiken crossed the line 39 seconds ahead of McSorley, with XMTB's Lewis Ferguson finishing 1 minute and 48 seconds behind to place 3rd for the second week running. Aiken's team-mate Don Travers, Robert Lamont (XMTB) and Andrew McAlister (ECV) completed the top six.

Meanwhile Eoin Sheridan of MOB CC also took his second successive win, beating Banbridge's Nathan McCormick to win the under 16 event. Andy Godfrey of XMTB also did the double, winning the under 14 race from Team WORC's Ian Galloway, while William Boyd (XMTB) and his team-mate Jonathon Beers were the first two home in the under 12 contest.


1 Roger Aiken (Banbridge)                     58.03
2 Peter McSorley (Apollo)                      0.39
3 Lewis Ferguson (XMTB)                        1.48
4 Don Travers (Banbridge)                      2.33 
5 Robert Lamont (XMTB)                         2.57 
6 Andrew McAlister (ECV)
7 Matthew Ferguson (XMTB)                      3.55 
8 Glen Kinning (XMTB)                          4.56 
9 Eamon McConvey (unattached)                  5.19 
10 Stephen O'Sullivan (Cycleways-Lee Strand)   5.30 
Under 16
1 Eoin Sheridan (MOB CC) 
2 Nathan McCormick (Banbridge) 
3 Alaister McSorley (Apollo)
Under 14
1 Andy Godfrey (XMTB) 
2 Ian Galloway (WORC) 
3 Ronan Byrne (Newry Wheelers) 
Under 12
1 William Boyd (XMTB) 
2 Jonathon Beers (XMTB) 
3 Michael Gordon (XMTB)

Previous results from Ireland