11,'min'=>20, 'refresh'=>500); // IN GMT $refresh[2]=array('hr'=>11,'min'=>45, 'refresh'=>250); // IN GMT $refresh[3]=array('hr'=>12,'min'=>45, 'refresh'=>0); // IN GMT //add new $refresh rows as you like in chronological order. Set refresh => 0 for no refresh line // foreach (array_keys($refresh) as $r) { // foreach not available in PHP3! Have to do it like this reset ($refresh); while (list(, $r) = each ($refresh)) { if (time() > gmmktime($r[hr], $r[min], 0, $m, $d, $y)) $delay=$r[refresh]; }; if ($delay) { return ("\n"); } else { return(''); }; }; ?>
Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  





Course Maps






2003 BMX World Championships - CDM

Perth, Australia, July 23-27, 2003

Main Page    FAQ    Results    Previous Races    Next Day

Day 1 - Friday July 25: World Championship Cruiser

Stumpfhauser repeats senior cruiser victory; junior win to Latvia's Matisons

By Tracey Tilsed in Perth

If the action was frantic in the early cruiser events today, things soon got hotter when the Junior Cruiser and Elite Cruiser classes made their way out onto the track.With World titles at stake, it was not the place for the faint-hearted, as riders threw bikes and bodies in all directions in a bid to reach the finish line. On the way to the finals, there were several spills, resulting in riders being taken from the field on mobile stretchers. The first aid staff earned their keep on the first day of racing.

With so much at stake, riders went for broke in all their races, looking towards a spot in the final and a chance at claiming the World Championship title on offer. In the Junior Cruiser final, Latvia's Arturs Matisons crossed the line first, ahead of Manuel Lopez from Argentina, with Frenchman Thomas Hamon finishing a close third.

USA's Randy Stumpfhauser successfully defended the Elite Cruiser title in won in Brazil last year, when he finished ahead of Czech Republic's Michal Prokop, who went one better than last year's third place, and Australia's Luke Madill.


Junior Cruiser  
1 Arturs Matisons (Latvia)
2 Manuel Alejandro Lopez (Argentina)
3 Thomas Hamon (France)
4 David Gilbert (France)
5 Arnaud Dubois (Belgium)
6 Sander Bisseling (Netherlands)
7 Todd Williams (Australia)
8 Jerome Leocadie (France)
Elite Cruiser  
1 Randy Stumpfhauser (USA)
2 Michal Prokop (Czech Republic)
3 Luke Madill (Australia)
4 Jamie Gray (Australia)
5 Lukas Tamme (Czech Republic)
6 Deivlim Baltazar (Brazil)
7 Roger Rinderknecht (Switzerland)
8 Javier Luciano Colombo (Argentina)

back to top