Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for New Zealand

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Latest results from New Zealand

Bev May Women’s Tour


West Coast Track Carnival
Wellington track champ's

Manukau Velodrome Track racing Series #1 & North Island Elimination Championships

December 21, 2002

Dean pips McCauley in nailbiting win

By Peter Ulmer

Top-ranked NZ professional Julian Dean won the North Island Elimination Championships held Saturday at the Manukau Velodrome. Dean beat 2nd placed NZ road & time trial title-holder Gordon McCauley for a nailbiting win.

The Women's Elimination came down to a battle fought out between Sarah Ulmer, NZ road champion Annalissa Farrell & North Island Keirin Champion Elizabeth Williams. It was Williams who prevailed using her rapid sprint to overcome her endurance-based rivals, just pipping Ulmer to the line.

In the sprint events, Commonwealth representative Justin Grace held off Briton Neil Campbell to take the Sprint Derby with Campbell reversing the honours in the Keirin event.

The meeting, which doubles as the first event of the North Island Summer Track Series, saw the return of the motor-paced Derny Race with cyclists following motorbikes at speeds up to 80km/h. This crowd-favourite saw NZ Development rider Richard Bowker take line honours from a fast-finishing Dean.

The next race in the Series will be held at the Wanganui Velodrome on Saturday January 18.


A Grade 4000m Scratch
1 Richard Bowker
2 Adam Curry
3 Chris Boerson
U17 Girls 2000m Scratch
1 Rushlee Buchanan
2 Ashleigh Stone
3 Teresa Bint
U17 Boys 3000m Scratch
1 Michael Northey
2 Chris Macic
3 Mark Langlands
U15 Girls 5 lap Scratch
1 Mellissa Hunt
2 Ella Brogan
3 Georgia Hutchison
U15 Boys 5 lap Scratch
1 Simon Caulfield
2 Myron Simpson
3 Nathan Bunn
Women / B Grade 3000m Scratch
1 Stephen Collins
2 Andrew Smith
3 Nigel Hunt
U17 Girls Points Race
1 Rushlee Buchanan
2 Ashleigh Stone
3 Gretchen Walker
A Grade points Race
1 Richard Bowker
2 Chris Boerson
3 Gordon McCauley
U17 Boys Points Race
1 Andrew Robertson
2 Logan Hunn
3 Elliot Crowther
North Island Womens Keirin Championship
1 Liz Williams
2 Annalissa Farrell
3 Alice King
Sprint Derby
1 Justin Grace
2 Neil Campbell
3 Jono Hamblin
Women/B Grade points Race
1 Andrew Smith
2 Matthew Haydock
3 Nigel Hunt
U15 Girls 9 lap Points Race
1 Georgia Hutchison
2 Ella Brogan
3 Mellissa Hunt
U15 Boys 9lap Points Race
1 Simon Caulfield
2 Myron Simpson
3 Nathan Bunn
Derny Race
1 Richard Bowker
2 Julian Dean
3 Tim Gudsell
B Grade Chariot Race
1 Andrew Smith
2 Neil Ludlam
3 Don England
North Island U 17 Girls Elimination Championship
1 Rushlee Buchanan
2 Gretchen Walker
3 Georgia Hutchison
North Island U 17 Boys Elimination Championship
1 Andrew Robertson
2 Elliot Crowther
3 Brad Carter
North Island  Womens Elimination Championship
1 Liz Williams
2 Sarah Ulmer
3 Annalissa Farrell
U15 Girls Chariot Race
1 Ella Brogan
2 Georgia Hutchison
3 Mellissa Hunt
U15 Boys Chariot Race
1 Simon Caulfield
2 Myron Simpson
3 Nick Small
A/B Unknown Distance
1 Willie Atkin
2 Manu Robson
3 Aaron Rusden
North Island Open Mens Elimination Championship
1 Julian Dean
2 Gordon McCauley
3 Richard Bowker
Open Womens 2ooom Scratch
1 Annalissa Farrell
2 Rachel Powell
3 Anna Gardner
Mens Keirin
1 Neil Campbell
2 Justin Grace
3 Jono Hamblin 
Previous Results from New Zealand