Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Perth Grand Prix - NE

West Australia, Australia, November 8, 2008


Stars light up WA track

Cameron Meyer hits out
Photo ©: Robert Commons
(Click for larger image)

The 2008 International Track Cycling Grand Prix was held with sprint teams from Malaysia, Holland and Australia well represented with past and present Olympic and world senior and junior champions. The program was split into two events first the Support program, for all juniors up to U/17, plus B & C Graders and a few Masters, some U/19's and senior needed to qualify for the State Championship 30 lap scratch race.

The support program was well attended with lots of juniors of all ages. Mitch Benson was in the thick of it, not being able to ride in the feature as he is a U/17 and riding a restricted gear.

The stand was very full by the time the feature program started. It got underway with a flying 200m by the two Dutch girls under 12 seconds. Then along came the men, with the three Malay sprinters going under 11 seconds, while Scotty Sunderland also managed a creditable 10.63 to hold up the Australian flag.

The two state title scratch races went to two local riders: Josie Tomic and Cameron Meyer. A very gutsy ride came from the third placed Davina Summers in the women's race. Summers competed with a fractured wrist and also went on to win the women's 25 lap Derny.

Tomic showed why she is a force to be reckoned with on the world scene with wins all over the place.

The men were just as exciting Meyer, Graham Brown and Chris Sutton showing the way in the endurance events. The Derny ended up with both bike riders and motor bike competing for the line sprint, Brown won from Meyer while the motor bike fought for third place with Sutton.

The Malaysian and Dutch teams showed the way in their disciplines, giving Australia a bit of a thrashing.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Robert Commons


Womenís Sprint Challenge Flying 200m

1 Willy Kanis (Holland)
2 Yvonne Hijgenaar (Holland)
3 Fatehah Mustapa (Malaysia)
4 Kaarle McCulloch

Sprint Final

1 Willy Kanis (Holland)
2 Kaarle McCulloch

Mení s Sprint Challenge Flying 200m

1 Azizulhasni Awang (Malaysia)
2 Josiah Ng (Malaysia)
3 Scott Sunderland
4 Edrus Yunos

Sprint Final

1 Azizulhasni Awang (Malaysia)
2 Scott Sunderland

Womenís 30 lap Points Score

1 Josie Tomic
2 Melissa Hoskins
3 Sarah Kent

30 lap Open Womenís State Championship Scratch Race

1 Josie Tomic
2 Melissa Hoskins
3 Davina Summers

40 lap Open Menís State Championship Scratch Race

1 Cameron Meyer
2 Luke Durbridge
3 Jordan van der Togt

Womenís 6 lap Group Hícap

1 Jossie Tomic
2 Sarah Kent
3 Ellen van Dijk(Holland).

Menís 8 lap Group Hícap

1 Michael Frieberg
2 Doug Repacholi
3 Duane Johansen.

Womenís Invitational 20 lap Derny Race

1 Davina Summers
2 Ellen van Dijk (Holland)
3 Mellisa Hoskins

Menís Invitational 25 lap Derny Race

1 Graham Brown
2 Cameron Meyer
3 Chris Sutton

Menís 40 lap Points Score

1 Cameron Meyer
2 Chris Sutton
3 Luke Durbridge

Womenís Invitational 8 lap Keirin

1 Willy Kanis (Holand)
2 Fatehah Mustapa (Malaysia)
3 Yvonne Hijgenaar (Holand)

Menís Invitational 8 lap Keirin

1 Josiah Ng (Malaysia)
2 Azizulhasni Awang (Malaysia
3 Edrus Yunos (Malaysia)

Menís 15 lap Scratch Race

1 Michael Fritzgerald
2 Graham Betts
3 Steven Hedley

Senior Men Support Grade 20 lap Points 

1 Mitch Brooks
2 Tom Griffith

U/17 Boys 15 lap Scratch Race

1 Mitch Benson
2 Luke Zaccaria
3 Aaron Lee. 

U/15-U17 Girls 6 lap Group Hícap

1 Monica Young
2 Jessica Allen
3 Monica Bonasera

Novice Men-Masters-Women 3 lap Derby

1 Fred Landon
2 Mike Gamble

U/19-Men 25 lap State Open Qualifying Scratch Race

1 AJ Giacoppo
2 Mitch Brooks
3 Michael Fitzgerald
4 Tom Griffith
5 Ben Wibberley
6 Robbie Rhodes
7 Steven Hedley
8 Graham Betts 

U13-U15 Boys 6 lap Group Hícap

1 Theo Yates
2 Jai Hindley
3 Sam Welsford

U/17 Girls 6 lap Keirin

1 Monica Young
2 Monica Bonasera
3 Allee Proud

U/13-U15 Boys 5 lap Mini Scratch Race

1 Theo Yates
2 Jai Hindley
3 Sam Welsford

4 lap Mini Scratch Race

1 Flora Harper-Green
2 Elissa Wunderlitz
3 Genevieve Lamond

U/19-Senior Men 6 lap Group Hícap

1 Steven Hedley
2 Bill Darby
3 Josh Clarke

U/17 Boys 6 lap Keirin

1 Mitch Benson
2 Luke Zaccaria
3 Jack Ward

20 lap Points Score

1 Mitch Benson
2 Nick Graham-Dawson
3 Aaron Lee

U/17 Girls 15 lap Scratch Race

1 Monica Young
2 Monica Bonasera
3 Jessica Allen