Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Madison of the Americas - IM

Pennsylvania, USA, July 28, 2007


Rain doesn't stop Madison of the Americas

Alejandro Action and Gustavo Artacho (Team Colavita – Sutter Home)
Photo ©: Todd Leister
(Click for larger image)

This past Friday's Madison of the Americas featuring the Wilsey Tool Alaric Gayfer Junior Memorial Series was postponed until Saturday, July 28 due to heavy storms. Despite the bad weather on Friday, the riders were out in full force the following evening to showcase superb Madison racing action. At the close of the night, it was Team Colavita's Argentinean duo Alejandro Acton and Gustavo Artacho who took home the title of this year's Madison of the America's Champion.

The competition was stiff this weekend with riders such as defending champion Pete Fitzpatrick of Australia riding with Argentina's Sebastian Alexandre, and Rite Aid's Alejandro Borajo and Guido Palma. Throughout the three 50-lap Madisons the racing was tight and it was anyone's game until the final ride when Acton and Artacho pulled ahead for a show-stopping win.

In sprinting action, T-Town Express rider Ryan Nelman earned the win in the South Mountain Cycles Sprint Invitational. Fellow teammate Ben Barczewski seemed to be his biggest competition throughout the night, but Nelman rode hard and came out victorious, with Barczewski finishing second.

Liz Reap riding for the T-Town Express had an awesome night of racing, taking the win in both the 500m Chariot Race and the 1km Final. New Zealand's Jocelyn Rastrick was not far behind coming in second to Reap in each of those rides.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Todd Leister/www.leisterimages.com


Elite Men - South Mountain Cycles Sprint Invitational

1 Ryan Nelman
2 Ben Barczewski
3 Kasper Jessen
4 Mike Beers
5 Matt Diefenbach
6 Nathan Seddon
7 Haseem Maclean
8 Simon VanVelthooven

Junior Men - Alaric Gayfer Memorial 2km

1 Tynan Farley
2 Gevan Samuel
3 Jeremy Shirock
4 Epes Harris
5 Jeffrey Alpert

Elite Women - Chariot Final

1 Liz Reap
2 Jocelyn Rastrick
3 Dana Feiss
4 Mindi Martin
5 Juliet Earle
6 Veronica Martinez
7 Shelbe Eck

Elite men - Madison final

1 Gustavo Artacho/Alejandro Acton
2 Alejandro Borrajo/Guido Palma
3 Pete Fitzpatrick/Sebastian Alexandre
4 Jackie Simes/Dave Wiswell
5 Tucker Brown/Taylor Brown
6 Brian Crosby/Bobby Miller
7 Chris Ruhl/Rodney Santiago
8 Jason Snow/Dan Larson

Elite Women - 1 km final

1 Liz Reap
2 Jocelyn Rastrick
3 Veronica Martinez
4 Dana Feiss
5 Mindi Martin
6 Juliet Earle
7 Shelbe Eck