Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Zesdaagse van Rotterdam - 6D

Netherlands, January 4-January 9, 2007

2006 results     Schedule     Preview    Start List     Past winners



Spaniard Juan Llaneras will make his comeback to racing after suffering the tragic death of his partner, Isaac Galvez, in the Gent six day last November. Dimitri De Fauw, the rider who was emotionally devastated after being involved in the accident with Galvez, will also mark his return to racing in Rotterdam. There were a few last minute shufflings of the pairings, since Danny Stam's usual partner, Peter Schep, has been suffering from a viral infection, and is not able to start. Stam will now pair with Italian Marco Villa, who was originally slated to partner with Juan Llaneras. Llaneras will instead team up with German Andreas Beikirch.

Bruno Risi and Franco Marvulli will team up again after winning the Zurich six day. Risi will have to keep his temper in check after a scrap with Danny Stam in Zurich nearly cost his team the win. Perennial 'taxi-driver' Marco Villa, a former world champion with 23 six day victories under his belt and a keen professional, should be able to keep the rivalry in check.

In addition to the normal six day racing, a new event was introduced to the Rotterdam event, the 'Masters of Sprint', featuring world champion Theo Bos. The sprinters will face off during a special matinee session on Saturday, January 6, when Theo Bos takes on "the rest of the world", including former world champion Arnoud Tournant and British champion Craig MacLean.

Start list

1 Danny Stam / Marco Villa (Ned/Ita)                   
2 Andreas Muller / Wouter Van Mechelen (Ger/Bel)       
3 Bruno Risi / Franco Marvulli (Swi)                   
4 Juan Llaneras / Andreas Beikirch (Spa/Ger)           
5 Robert Bartko / Iljo Keisse (Ger/Bel)                
6 Kenny DeKetele / Steve Schets (Ned)                  
7 Matthe Pronk / Jos Pronk (Ned)                       
8 Jens Mouris / Marc Hester (Ned/Den)                  
9 Aart Vierhouten / Alexander Aeschbach (Ned/Swi)      
10 Steven De Neef / Dimitri De Fauw (Bel)              
11 Kenny Van Hummel / Jozef Zabka (Ned/Svk)            
12 Wim Stroetinga / Niki Terpstra (Ned)                
13 Bobbie Traksel / Gerd Dorich (Ned/Ger)              

Masters of Sprint

1 Theo Bos (Ned) 2 Teun Mulder (Ned) 3 Tim Veldt (Ned) 4 Craig Maclean (GBr) 5 Roberto Chiappa (Ita) 6 Jan van Eijden (Ned) 7 Arnoud Tournant (Fra) 8 Francois Pervis (Fra) 9 Yondi Schmidt (Ned)

Past winners

2006 Robert Slippens/Danny Stam (Ned)
2005 Robert Slippens/Danny Stam (Ned)   Past winners by Mario Stiehl, www.world-of-cycling.com