Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Biggin & Scott 50km Points Classic, Packer Park Velodrome - Thursday, February 15, 2007

By Mal Sawford

Hamish Taylor
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

After 137 grueling laps in 35 degree heat, the 2007 edition of the Biggin & Scott 50km Points Classic was decided on the final sprint, with Hamish Taylor (Fitzroy Cycles) taking the double points win to overhaul early leaders Mark O'Brien (Drapac Porsche Cycling) and Japanese rider Ken Ichiyama.

Carnegie's unique circumference of 365 metres sees the field tackle 137 laps to cover the fifty kilometres. The first sprint comes at 120 to go, with the next five sprints at ten lap intervals until the 70 to go sprint, which carries double points in an homage to ‘old style' points racing. From there, the sprints are every five laps, with the twentieth and final sprint also carrying double points. Continuing the classic theme, the race is primarily decided on distance - there are no bonus points for lapping the field, but only riders on the leading lap can win.

After a few laps settling in, Jarrod Moroni (Moroni Cycles) was the first to jump away from the big field. Despite opening a near half lap lead, he was reeled in for the first of the sprints, taken with a late burst round the outside by Taylor.

Josh Gundry (Hardings Cycles) took second in the opening sprint, and went on the attack soon after with Japanese rider Masahiro Watanabe. Gundry took the second sprint, and just held the bunch off to take the third and move into the race lead with ten points. O'Brien counter attacked after the sprint, and worked with Rohan McCaig and Todd Wilksch (Richmond Cyclery) to build a lead, before pushing on alone to take the fourth sprint. Peter Trigar had stayed at the front of the field and collected points in all four sprints to hold second place.

Japanese visitors Toru Yuasa and Masahiro Watanabe
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

Another of the Japanese contingent, Kazuya Nagae, took the next sprint in a solo break, but Gundry led the chasers across the line to extend his lead, with Trigar adding yet another point to his tally.

Locally based British license holder Brett Perez (Prime Estate) hit out at the bell to try and claim the $60 prime at the half way mark, but had no answer for the sprint of Ken Ichiyama, who moved into second place only a single point behind Gundry. Taylor took wins in the seventh and eleventh sprints to stay in touch, while Gundry's second places in the eighth and eleventh sprint kept him in the lead.

Ichiyama won the sprint at 40 laps to go to move into second place, but could only watch as Nagae and O'Brien attacked and threatened to lap the field. Despite the language barrier the two combined well to share the next three sprints, with Nagae taking two wins to jump into the race lead. O'Brien kept the pressure on after Nagae sat up to win the 20 lap sprint, bringing his total to 23, level with Nagae, four points ahead of Gundry.

Ichiyama's win in the next sprint saw him move into a share of the lead, only to see O'Brien pick up three points in the next two sprints to head into the final five laps on 27 points. Ichiyama trailed on 24 while Taylor's third sprint win saw him in a three way tie for third on 23 with Gundry and Nagae.

Race sponsor Dennis Bowen-Day
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

After 136 laps, with ten points on offer for the final win, and Trigar and Kyle Marwood (Decked Out Coaching) still mathematical chances of pulling off the win, the final sprint was fiercely contested. O'Brien was the first to concede two laps out, with Taylor taking the win and the race with a well timed burst in the final straight after Perez had made another bold showing for the bonus cash.

Taylor said after the race that loved riding the track at Carnegie, but hadn't been overly confident going into the race. "I was really struggling half way through, too" he said, "but the pace dropped a bit and I came good!" The 50 kilomtres were completed in 1.06.09, after the first 25 kilometres flew by in 31 minutes.

Thanks to Matt Wright and his team of CycleSport Victoria commissaires, race caller Daryl Perkins, lap scorer Mick Hollingworth, judges Frank Cipriano and Darren Cathie and canteen staff Paul Mason and Mick and Virginia Cummings for helping to make the night's racing so successful; and to Mike Goldie of Gardening by Goldie's for donating $200 towards sprint primes.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mal Sawford


Biggin & Scott 50km Points Classic (31 starters)
1 Hamish Taylor (Northcote)                        33 pts
2 Mark O'Brien (Horsham)                           27
3 Ken Ichiyama (Japan)                             26
4 Kazuya Nagae (Japan)                             23
5 Joshua Gundry (Bendigo)                          23
6 Peter Trigar (Brunswick)                         19
7 Kyle Marwood (Bendigo)                           17
8 Brett Perez (Great Britain)                      17
9 Toru Yuasa (Japan)                               14
10 Masahiro Watanabe (Japan)                        9
11 Jarrod Moroni (Bendigo)                          5
12 Peter Ladd (Bendigo)                             5
13 Danny Kah (Carnegie Caulfield)                   2
14 Tim Decker (Bendigo)                             2
15 Adrian Hanson (Coburg)                            
16 Doug Garley (Carnegie Caulfield)                  
17 Clint McDonnell (Carnegie Caulfield)              
18 Alexander James (Brunswick)                       
One lap down 
19 Peter Johnstone (Chelsea & Peninsula)            6
Half distance sprint
1 Ken Ichiyama (Japan)                               
Final sprint
1 Hamish Taylor (Northcote)                          
1st CCCC rider
1 Danny Kah (Carnegie Caulfield)                     

Local results 2007