Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Los Angeles Cycling Classic - IM

Carson, CA, August 13, 2006


Aussies dominate in LA

Olympic and Commonwealth Games champions Ryan Bayley (Australia) defeated team-mate Mark French in two straight heats in the men's sprint while Shane Perkins did the same to Canadian Travis Smith.

French had qualified fastest in 10.62sec but Bayley (10.71sec) proved too strong in the head to head competition racing from the front to post two emphatic wins. Perkins qualified in 10.78.

Bayley again took the front position in the men's keirin but French pipped him on the line by a narrow margin to clinch the victory. 2005/06 World Cup keirin champion Malaysia's Josiah Ng was third.

In the women's events Commonwealth Games gold medallist Anna Meares (QLD) was the stand out clinching both the sprint and the keirin events.

Meares secured the top seeding in the sprint with her qualifying ride of 12.11sec and made light work of her rivals to move into a final match up with team mate and fellow Queenslander Chloe McPherson (12.62sec).

Meares then showed her class to down McPherson in two straight heats. In the keirin Meares again dominated to collect her second win ahead of McPherson.

"Anna was the emphatic winner in both events and was clearly the strongest rider out there," said Australian Coach, Martin Barras.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mitch Friedman/www.mitchophoto.com


Final Classification Men
1 Mark French (Australia)         
2 Ryan Bayley (Australia)         
3 Josiah Ng (Malaysia)            
4 Shane Perkins (Australia)       
5 Adam Duvendeck (USA)            
6 Giggeon Massie (USA)            
7 Travis Smith (Canada)           
8 Kevin Selker (USA)              
9 Matt Barlee (USA)               
10 Ben Barczewski (USA)           
Final Classification Women
1 Anna Meares (Australia)         
2 Chloe MacPherson (Australia)    
3 Anna Lang (USA)                 
4 Liz Reap (USA)