Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

22nd Six Days of Stuttgart - 6D

Germany, January 20-25, 2005

2004 results     Program     Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Days

Three riders per team in Stuttgart

Scott Mcgrory (Aus)
Photo ©: John Pierce
Click for larger image

With one night of intense Six Day racing to go in Bremen, Germany, another track event lies ahead: the Hofbräu-Six Days in the Southern German city of Stuttgart will start on Thursday, January 20. Because of several crashes in the Bremen velodrome, some riders may have to skip the event - certainly Matthew Gilmore, whose Belgian doctors have now firmly ruled out his participation in Stuttgart. Gilmore will be replaced by 26 year-old Jimmy Hansen.

Featuring 13 three-man-teams and eight sprinters, the 22nd Stuttgart Six Day will also feature a changed Derny competition with twelve riders. Favourites for the overall classification are Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart/Franco Marvulli. In the sprint competition, Olympic champion Jens Fiedler will try to beat French Florian Rousseau. Fiedler will be keen to win, as he is approaching the end of his career - his last appearance is planned at the Berlin Six from January 22-27.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by John Pierce

Start list

1 Erik Weispfennig/Christian Grasmann/Patrick Betz (Ger)
2 Juan Llaneras (Spa)/Juan Curuchet/Walter Perez (Arg)
3 Robert Bartko (Ger)/Scott Mcgrory (Aus)/Jimmi Madsen (Den)
4 Danny Stam/Robert Slippens/Peter Schep (Ned)
5 Stefan Steinweg/Guido Fulst/Thorsten Rund (Ger)
6 Marco Villa (Ita)/Alexander Aeschbach (Swi)/Leif Lampater (Ger)
7 Frank Kowatschitsch/Lars Teutenberg/Christian Lademann (Ger)
8 Andreas Kappes/Andreas Beikirch/Gerd Dörich (Ger)
9 Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart/Franco Marvulli (Swi)
10 Franz Stocher/Roland Garber/Werner Riebenbauer (Aut)
11 Ronny Lauke/Christian Bach/Christoph Meschenmoser (Ger)
12 Stefan Löffler/Andreas Müller/Daniel Schlegel (Ger)
13 Jimmy Hansen (Den)/Peter Jörg (Swi)/Mario Vonhof (Ger)

Past winners

2004 Andreas Kappes/Andreas Beikirch/Gerd Dörich (Ger)
2003 Scott Mcgrory (Aus)/Matthew Gilmore (Bel) 
2002 Bruno Risi (Swi)/Kurt Betschart (Swi)
2001 Silvio Martinello (Ita)/ Marco Villa (Ita)
2000 Andreas Kappes (Ger)/Silvio Martinello (Ita)
1999 Adriano Baffi (Ita)/Andreas Kappes (Ger)
1998 Kurt Betschart (Swi)/Bruno Risi (Swi)
1997 Andreas Kappes (Ger)/Carsten Wolf (Ned)
1996 Jimmi Madsen (Den)/Jens Veggerby (Den)
1995 Danny Clark (Aus)/Etienne de Wilde (Bel)
1994 Jens Veggerby (Den)/Etienne de Wilde (Bel)
1993 Andreas Kappes (Ger)/Etienne de Wilde (Bel)
1992 Pierangelo Bincoletto (Ita)/Danny Clark (Aus)
1991 Andreas Kappes (Ger)/Etienne de Wilde (Bel)
1990 Volker Diehl (Ger)/Etienne de Wilde (Bel)
1989 Uwe Bolten (Ger)/Danny Clark (Aus)
1988 Roman Hermann (Lie)/Dietrich Thurau (Ger)
1987 Roman Hermann (Lie)/Josef Kristen (Ger)
1986 Gert Frank (Den)/René Pijnen (Ned)
1985 Josef Kristen (Ger)/Henry Rinklin (Ger)
1984 Gregor Braun (Ger)/Gert Frank (Den)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl, www.world-of-cycling.com