Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Devonport Simplot Australia Carnival - NE

Tasmania, Australia, December 11, 2005


Harman goes one better

By Rod Morris in Devonport

Wheelrace winners
Photo ©: Lynne Ryan
(Click for larger image) Wheelrace winners Jarrod Harman and Tarrisha Jones

The promise of form that Devonport rider Jarrod Harman has been hinting towards bore fruit when he won the Simplot Australia Oval Wheelrace at the Devonport Athletic Club's annual pre-Christmas Carnival. Harman, in just his second year in open company, produced a performance that something special for the forthcoming National Grid Tasmanian Christmas Carnivals is certainly not out of the question.

Harman scored a third placing in a significant Under 19 road race in New Zealand two months ago and started the Devonport Carnival in bold fashion with an unlucky second behind Tom Robinson in the Men's 1000 m Lightning Handicap. But it was in the 2000 m Simplot Australia Oval Wheel where he showed his true form

Starting off a 150 m handicap, Harman bided his time in the first 1500 m before hitting out strongly at the bell lap. Inside the 200 m sprint line and Harman had picked up enough tempo to clearly dictate that no-one was going to catch him. In the run to the line, Harman had metres to spare over the luckless Will Robinson, who for the second week in a row has finished second in a track handicap wheelrace final. Joining Harman and Robinson on the podium in third place was Daniel Jamieson, younger brother of international star, Mark.

One of the feature events of the day was the Men's A Grade Scratch, but reigning Latrobe Wheel champion, Nathan Clarke turned the race into his own. For the bulk of the 6000 m, Clarke was content to watch the "would-bes" and "could-bes" try attack after attack. Heading into the home straight for the penultimate time, Clarke launched a scathing attack on the field which left everyone wondering what had hit them.

While Clarke was able to coast to the finish line in effortless fashion, the battle for the minor placings saw Hobart scratchman Stephen Rossendell outgun Gareth Atkins, who was marginally ahead of his older brother Matthew.

Tom Robinson
Photo ©: Lynne Ryan
(Click for larger image) Tom Robinson winner of the Lightning Handicap

There was high drama in the women's racing, particularly in the 1000 m Lightning Handicap when four riders were involved in a spectacular crash on the back straight of the final lap. Sarah Ellis and Adele Gee were able to walk away virtually unscathed, but for Bethany Coleman and Melissa Barnes, their day ended there, with both requiring medical attention and trip to the local hospital via ambulance.

George Town's Tarrisha Jones won her first race for a long time when she greeted the judge in the Women's Simplot Wheelrace ahead of Sarah Cure and Alitta Laskey. Last season's Cycling Tasmania female Rider-of-the-Carnivals, Laura McCaughey, who by-passed the State's road season, showed good early form when she powered away to win the women's scratch.

In junior racing, wheelrace winners included Andrew Smith (U17), Ryan Ockerby (U15) and Drew Redman (U13).

Tasmania's cycling summer continues on Tuesday night with the annual Devonport Trial Wheel sponsored by Derrico Cycles and then next weekend with the staging of the 49th Rosebery Carnival.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Lynne Ryan


Simplot Wheelrace, 2000 m
1 Jarrod Harman (150)          2.15.20
2 Will Robinson (150)
3 Daniel Jamieson (140)
4 Ben Laskey (200)
1000 m Lightning Handicap
1 Tom Robinson (85)            1.07.00
2 Jarrod Harman (75)
3 Steve Martini (100)
4 Adam Hartley (65)
A Grade Scratch
1 Nathan Clarke                7.37.53
2 Stephen Rossendell
3 Gareth Atkins
4 Matthew Atkins
B Grade Scratch
1 Aaron Jones                  5.02.00
2 Ben Laskey
3 Steve Martini
4 Craig Burrows
Simplot Wheelrace, 2000 m
1 Tarrisha Jones (130)         2.32.00
2 Sarah Cure (200)
3 Alitta Laskey (230)
4 Emma Smith (220)
1000 m Lightning Handicap
1 Emma Heynes (130)            1.16.00
2 Sarah Cure (100)
3 Emma Smith (110)
4 Alitta Laskey (115)
Scratch Race
1 Laura McCaughey
2 Tarrisha Jones
3 Grace Sulzberger
4 Emma Smith
Junior 1 Simplot Wheelrace
1 Andrew Smith (130)           1.16.00
2 David Lyons (160)
3 Matthew Sermicki (180)
4 Andrew Dolan (160)
Junior 2 Simplot Wheelrace
1 Ryan Ockerby (210)           1.41.00
2 Amy Cure (150)
3 Kodey West (210)
4 Ryan Mather (170)
Junior 3 Simplot Wheelrace
1 Drew Redman (80)             1.33.85
2 Bradley Ryan (20)
3 Nathan Hinkley (45)
4 David Stride (40)
Junior 1 1000 m Lightning Handicap
1 Ed Robinson (60)             1.12.00
2 Alex Benson (40)
3 Andrew Smith (65)
4 David Lyons (80)
Junior 2 1000 m Lightning Handicap
1 Ryan Ockerby (115)           1.57.00
2 Kodey West (110)
3 Ryan Mather (85)
4 Tom Ellison (125)
Junior 3 1000 m Lightning Handicap
1 Izac Guest (50)              1.14.00
2 David Stride (45)
3 Macey Stewart (120)
4 Liam Ockerby (50)
Junior 1 Scratch
1 Ben Grenda                   4.38.00
2 Alex Benson
3 Ed Robinson
4 Andrew Smith
Junior 2 A Scratch
1 Luke Ockerby                 3.20.00
2 Brandon Stewart
3 Sam Brett
4 Ryan Mather
Junior 2 B Scratch
1 Ryan Ockerby                 3.20.00
2 Kodey West
3 Stephen Heppell
4 Tom Ellison
Junior 3 Scratch
1 Bradley Ryan                 2.35.65
2 Izac Guest
3 Drew Redman
4 David Stride