Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

US Collegiate National Track Championships - NE

Trexlertown, USA, September 16-18, 2004

Main Page    Results    Next Day

Day 1 - September 16: Men's/Women's Individual Pursuit, Men's/Women's 1km/500m TT

Lea, Lang, and Uhl big winners

By USA Cycling

The opening day of the 2004 Penn State Lehigh Valley Collegiate National Track Cycling Championships presented by Subaru began with a bang. Bobby Lea (Penn State University) took home the gold medal in the 3000m TT and the 1km TT, while Anna Lang (UC San Diego) and Sarah Uhl (Penn State University) took the women's opening day titles.

In the men's 3000m TT Charles Huff (Southwest Missouri), the elite madison national champion, set the early pace with a time of 3:39.424 until Bobby Lea and Mike Friedman (Penn State University) stole the top two placings in the final two heats for Penn State. In the end Lea successfully defended his title from last year with a blistering time of 3:32.724. Mike Friedman placed second and Huff third.

The men's 1km TT proved the strength of the 2004 Penn State Cycling Team as they swept first, second and third. Bobby Lea led the way as he easily won with a 1:07.288. One of the up and coming stars in cycling Mike Friedman placed second and Andy Lakatosh (Penn State University) third.

In the women's 2000m TT Anna Lang took the event with a 2:40.267 time in the six-lap event. Lehigh Valley Velodrome regulars Rebecca McClintock (University of Florida) and Erica Allar (Penn State University) came in a close second and third respectively.

In the women's 500m TT Sarah Uhl smoked her competition winning by more than a half second over second place with a 38.740. Former national champion in the event Jenn Wangerin (Indiana University) placed second in front of third place competitor and 3000m TT champion Anna Lang.

Events to be held tomorrow include the men's sprint, women's points race and team event, the Italian pursuit.


Women's 2000m TT

1 Anna Lang (UC San Diego)                       2.40.267
2 Rebecca McClintock (University of FL)          2.42.896
3 Erica Allar (Penn State University)            2.45.987
Men's 3000m TT

1 Bobby Lea (Penn State University)              3.32.724
2 Mike Friedman (Penn State University)          3.37.279
3 Charles Huff (Southwest Missouri)              3.39.424
4 Benjamin Richter (U of Minnesota)              3.42.564
5 Stefan Rothe (Midwestern State)                3.45.992
Women's 500m TT

1 Sarah Uhl (Penn State University)                38.740
2 Jenn Wangerin (Indiana University)               39.281
3 Anna Lang (UC San Diego)                         39.744
Men's 1km TT

1 Bobby Lea (Penn State University)              1.07.288
2 Mike Friedman (Penn State University)          1.08.761
3 Andy Lakatosh (Penn State University)          1.09.619

Courtesy of Stefan Rothe