Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Tri-Nations International Track Challenge - NE

Johannesburg, Saturday, March 13, 2004


Australia takes overall; great night for Blignaut

By Mark Windsor, Australian team coach

The Australian sprint team
Photo ©: Mark Windsor

Although South Africa put in some top individual performances Australia has won the 2004 Tri National Track Challenge with a solid team performance where they aimed to put members in the major placings in all events.

South African sprinter Morne Blignaut had a great night winning the Sprint, Keirin and 1500m. However, the Australian sprinters took the minor placings and performed strongly in the endurance events. Matt Goss won the elimination race with Block second and Rossendell third, giving the Aussies the advantage early in the program.

South Africa's Garen Bloch won the Points Race came after he, Sergey Kolesnikov (Russia) and Sydney's Pete Fitzpatrick lapped the field. The Australians dominated the Teams Sprint with Team 1 (Barendilla, Taylor, Johnson) and Team 2 (Fitzpatrick, Scott, Irwin) taking the points to give the Aussies the lead going into the final event the Madison.

The Russians where brilliant in the Madison, attacking from the start. The Australian Pair of Goss/Rossendell recovered to take second after a great battle with pre race favourites Bloch and SA legend JP Van Zyl.

The teams victory gave the Aussies back to back wins in the Tri Nations, the Russians winning the junior section.


Images by Mark Windsor

  • The Australian team - (bottom L- R) Carlo Barendilla, Clint Johnson, Stephen Rossendell, Mat Goss; (top L to R) Warren Scott, Pete Fitzpatrick, Andrew Taylor, Grant Irwin, and Coach Mark Windsor
  • Cape Town in March is the best place in the world for a cyclist - or just about anyone, really. Enthusiasts have the Giro del Capo on the road, the Tri Nations on the track, plus the Amazing Pick'n Pay Argus, ensuring everyone is talking cycling, among other things. Here, the Australian Track Team enjoys their company of friends at the Argus Expo.
  • Australian sprinter Clint Johnson steps up to the stationary bike challenge at the Argus Expo.
  • Clint Johnson set a new record on the Ferrari stationary bike at the Shell V Power Stand, and has the podium girls to prove it.
  • Australian coach Mark Windsor and his charges before the Tri Nations.
  • The Australian team is introduced to the big crowd in the Bellville Velodrome prior to the start of the 7th annual Tri Nations Track Challenge.
  • The Australian sprint team ready for take-off (bottom to top) Carlo Barendilla, Andrew Taylor and Clint Johnson)
  • The Australian team pit.
  • South African stars Morne Blignaut, Garen Bloch and Jean-Pierre Van Zyl.
  • The winning team - Windsor, Rossendell, Johnson, Barendilla, Scott, Irwin, Fitzpactick, Taylor and Goss.
  • The Australian and Russian teams after winning the Open and Junior categoriess of the 2004 Tri Nations in South Africa.


Senior Events

15km Points Race
1 Garen Bloch (South Africa)
2 Sergey Kolesnikov (Russia)
3 Peter Fitzpatrick (Australia)
4 Matthew Goss (Australia)
5 Valery Valynin (Russia)
6 Stephen Rossendell (Australia)
7 Durwan Benjamin (South Africa)
8 Ivan Kovalev (Russia)
1 Morne Blignaut (South Africa)
2 Carlo Berendilla (Australia)
3 Grant Irvin (Australia)
4 Andrew Taylor (Australia)
1 Matthew Goss (Australia)
2 Garen Bloch (South Africa)
3 Stephen Rossendell (Australia)
4 Gary Rabie (South Africa)
5 J P Van Zyl (South Africa)
6 Alexei Gushin (Russia)
7 Warren Scott (Australia)
8 Emile Steenkamp (South Africa)
1500 Metre
1 Morne Blignaut (South Africa)
2 Clint Johnson (Australia)
3 Warren Scott (Australia)
4 Grant Irvin (Australia)
5 Nolan Hoffman (South Africa)
Sprint final rankings
1 Morne Blignaut (South Africa)
2 Wikus Esterhuizen (South Africa)
3 Clint Johnson (Australia)
4 Carlo Berendilla (Australia)
5 Andrew Taylor (Australia)
Olympic Sprint
1 Australia 1 (Barendilla, Taylor, Johnson)
2 Australia 2
3 South Africa 1
1 Ivan Kovalev (Russia)
2 Goss / Rossendell (Australia)
3 J P Van Zyl / Bloch (South Africa)
4 Valery Valynin (Russia)
5 Scott / Fitzpatrick (Australia)
6 Reon Els (South Africa)
7 Taylor / Irwin (Australia)

Junior Events

1 Stoyan Vasey (Russia)
2 Denis Dmitriev (Russia)
3 George Du Toit (South Africa)
4 Reon Els (South Africa)
1500 Metre
1 Denis Dmitriev (Russia)
2 Sergey Kolesnikov (Russia)
3 Reon Els (South Africa)
4 Emile Steenkamp (South Africa)
Sprint final rankings
1 Stoyan Vasey (Russia)
2 Denis Dmitriev (Russia)
3 Tarakanov Maxim (Russia)
4 Rolf Deppe (South Africa)
5 Gadi Chait (South Africa)
6 Brinley Hector (South Africa)
Olympic Sprint
1 Russia 1
2 Russia 1
3 South Africa Junior