Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

26th Seis Horas de Euskadi

San Sebastian, January 31, 2004

2003 Results     Results    Past winners

Marvulli and Villa in San Sebastian

The Six Hours (yes hours, not days) is traditional after the six days season with all the various events of a six day race crammed into one evening.

This year Swiss/Italian duo Franco Marvulli and Marco Villa won quite comfortably. The sensation of the day was local roadie Mikel Astarloza, last year's Tour Down Under winner, who with Gerd Dörich managed to hang onto the winners in laps, although a long way behind on points.

In a special omnium for the major Spanish road stars, Iban Mayo won ahead of Alejandro Valverde, Igor Astarloa and Joseba Beloki.


Seis Horas de Euskadi 

1 Franco Marvulli (Swi)/Marco Villa (Ita)           80 pts
2 Gerd Dörich (Ger)/Mikel Astarloza (Spa)           45

1 lap behind

3 Juan Curuchet/Walter Perez (Arg)                  75

2 laps behind

4 Robert Slippens/Danny Stam (Ned)                  22

3 laps behind

5 Andreas Kappes/Andreas Beikirch (Ger)             25
6 Alexander Aeschbach (Swi)/Matthew Gilmore (Bel)


1 Iban Mayo (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
2 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Com.Valenciana-Kelme
3 Igor Astarloa (Spa) Cofidis
4 Joseba Beloki (Spa) La Boulangere

Past winners

Seis Horas de Euskadi 

2003 Silvio Martinello/Marco Villa (Ita)
2002 Scott McGrory (Aus)/Matthew Gilmore (Bel)


2003 Aitor González (Spa) Fassa Bortolo
2002 Joseba Beloki (Spa)