Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Red Robin Fastest Man on Wheels - NE

Lehigh velodrome, Trexlertown, USA, June 27, 2003


Timmy Reinhart Takes the Red Robin Fastest Man on Wheels

Largest Prize Purse in USA Track Cycling

By Jacob Burns

After two weeks of inclement weather, the Lehigh Valley Velodrome continued its international race season with the Red Robin Fastest Man on Wheels featuring the B104 5 & 10 Mile Dash for Cash. With the Men's 10-mile race and the Women's 5-Mile race counting towards the prestigious National Racing Calendar and with the offer of the largest prize purse of the 2003 USA Track Cycling season, a stellar field of cyclists was present for the night.

Between qualification heats for the men and women, it was the juniors time to shine. The Aldo Broccari Trophy Races were held commemorating the long time Velodrome patron. The juniors races were split into levels of "A", "B", and "C", with Shane Kline, Colleen Hayduk, and Nichola Latzgo winning those levels, respectively.

The two main events of the night, the Women's 5-mile and the Men's 10-mile, kept the fans on the edge of their seats. In the 5-mile race, Ashley Kimmet of Colavita-Bolla squeaked out the victory, and the prize purse, while Becky Conzelman of the Frisco Cycling Club was a very close second.

The feature event of the night, the men's 10-mile, saw Tim Reinhart lap the field with Gustavo Artacho with only a few laps remaining in the bike race. On the final lap Reinhart edged ahead of Artacho to take the prestigious Artie Greenberg 10 Mile Memorial victory.


Men Five-Mile Qualification
Heat 1
1 Jame Carney (Prime Alliance)
2 Gustavo Artacho (Colavita-Bolla)
3 Juan Jose Haedo (Colavita-Bolla)
Heat 2
1 Marty Nothstein (Navigators)
2 Sebastian Alexandre (Colavita-Bolla)
3 Tim Reinhart (Saturn Development)
Aldo Broccari Trophy Race (Juniors (C)
1 Nichola Latzgo (Unattached)
2 Colleen Gulick (Future Champions)
3 Kevin Griffin (Unattached)
Aldo Broccari Trophy Race (Juniors (B)
1 Colleen Hayduk (Vortex Cycling Club)
2 Mary Costelloe (East Coast Velo)
3 Frank Vita (East Coast Velo)
Women One Mile (For Placement in 5 Mile Race)
Heat 1
1 Sarah Uhl (Saturn Cycling Team)
2 Becky Conzelman (Frisco Cycling Club)
3 LeeAnne Manderson (Freddie Fu)
Aldo Broccari Trophy Race (Juniors (A)
1 Shane Kline (Team Vortex)
2 Brian Friend (East Coast Velo)
3 Nik Reinert (Unattached)
Men Consolation Race
1 Charlton Hoag (Liberty Cycle)
2 Mike Pudlinski (T.E.A.M Fuji)
3 David Creswell (Unattached)
Women 5 Mile Final
1 Ashley Kimmet (Colavita-Bolla)
2 Becky Conzelman (Frisco Cycling Club)
3 Cindy Lakatosh (Tri-State Velo)
Men 10 Mile Final
1 Tim Reinhart (Saturn Development)
2 Gustavo Artacho (Colavita-Bolla)
3 Marty Nothstein (Navigators)