Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

6 Giorni delle Rose - 6D

Fiorenzuola, Italy, July 3-8, 2003

2002 Results     Program    Preview     Start List     Past winners

The Program


An impressive field of 22 teams has been announced for the "Sei Giorni delle Rose" - Italy's summer Six Day race that is held in the Fiorenzuola d'Arda velodrome between July 3-8. The large field will give the crowds plenty of action, with several young pairs mixing it in with the more experienced professionals.

The number one dossard will be worn by Scott McGrory and Matthew Gilmore, and this pair will be one of the big favourites for the overall points score. Gilmore recently tested his legs in the Belgian road championship last Sunday, being involved in a long but ultimately unsuccessful breakaway with two other riders. Apart from Gilmore, there are several other pairings who have been honing their form by riding the kermesses in Belgium. These include Belgians Iljo Keisse/Wouter Van Mechelen, South Africans Robert Dale/Jean-Pierre Van Zyl, Chileans Richard Rodriguez/Luis Sepulveda. Another pair to watch is the Australian combination of Darren Young and Nicolas Sanderson, with Young in particular a top performer in his own country.

That's not to neglect the pairing of Argentinean specialist Juan Curuchet with Giovanni Lombardi, winner of a stage in the Giro d'Italia this year and an excellent track rider. This couple should be competitive along with Italians Marco Villa and Devid Garbelli, with Villa one of the most experienced Six Day riders in the game.

Start list

1 Scott McGrory (Aus)/Matthew Gilmore (Bel) BMW
2 Marco Villa (Ita)/Devid Garbelli (Ita) Ferri
3 Samuele Marzoli (Ita)/Franco Marvulli (Swi) Acef
4 Roland Garber (Aut)/Andrew Bradley (Aut) Cmo2
5 Juan Curuchet (Arg)/Giovanni Lombardi (Ita) Casamercato
6 Alexei Chmidt (Rus)/Andrei Minashkin (Rus) Elios
7 Robert Dale (RSA)/Jean-Pierre Van Zyl (RSA) Garbi
8 Jukka Heinikainen (Fin)/Fabio Masotti (Ita) Paulaner
9 Sebastian Donadio (Arg)/Fernando Antogna (Arg) La Rocca
10 Walter Perez (Arg)/Ruben Bongiorno (Arg) Alutecno
11 Xavier Carrion (Spa)/Alvaro Noguera (Spa) Ardanatura
12 Martin Liska (Svk)/Jozef Zabka (Svk) Doctor Glass
13 Juan Louis Contreras (Mex)/Fernando Maciaz (Mex) Hydro Sprint
14 Geertjan Jonkman (Ned)/Gideon De Jong (Ned) Locat
15 Tony Gibb (GBr)/Huw Pritchard (GBr) Canova
16 Darren Young (Aus)/Nicolas Sanderson (Aus) Fragile
17 Iljo Keisse (Bel)/Wouter Van Mechelen (Bel) Nico Sport
18 Richard Rodriguez (Chi)/Luis Sepulveda (Chi) Agip Luongo
19 Andrea Zaggi (Ita)/Davide Tortella (Ita) G M
20 Angelo Ciccone (Ita)/Miguel Alzamora (Spa) Pinarello
21 Alexandre Cloutier (Can)/Martin Gilbert (Can) Piacenza 74
22 Juan José De La Rosa (Mex)/Sotelo Sanchez (Mex) Orc. Bagutti 

Past winners

2002 Matthew Gilmore (Bel)/Scott Mc Grory (Aus) 

Past winners by Mario Stiehl, www.world-of-cycling.com