Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Scottish Track Championships - NE

Meadowbank Stadium, Edinburgh, August 1-3, 2003

Program    Results

The Program

  • Day 1 - August 1: Team Sprint, Womens 500m Time Trial, Youth 500m Time Trial
  • Day 2 - August 2: 1km Time Trial, Men & Veteran Individual Pursuit, Youth Sprint

Day 1 - August 1: Team Sprint, Womens 500m Time Trial, Youth 500m Time Trial

City of Edinburgh RC continued their domination of the Team Sprint event extending their run of being unbeaten in this event in the opening evening of the Scottish Track Championships. The team of Marco Librizzi, Stef Collins and Matthew Haynes recorded a new Scottish best time of 50.46 in the final to beat the Team Velo Ecosse triplet of Julian Hopper, Evan Oliphant, and Graeme Steen some 4 seconds slower. The ride off for the bronze medal was a more exciting affair with two of the Edinburgh RC riders colliding going into the final lap and destroying their front wheels leaving the City of Edinburgh B team to take the medal.

Kate Cullen (City of Edinburgh RC) comfortably won the Women's 500m TT in a new Scottish Record of 39.00 is far from ideal conditions. Katrina Hair (Johnstone Wh) the new European Masters RR Champion recorded 41.90s to take second place from Denise Lamond who was a further second down.

In the Youth 50mm TT, Shane Charlton (Kingdom RT) narrowly beat Kevin Barclay (Edinburgh Racers) by the smallest of margins (2 hundredths of a second) with Ross Mitchell (Edinburgh Racers) taking third place. Patrick Galbraith, only 10 years old, improved on his Scottish best time to record 46.15s while his younger sister recorded 50.00s to set a new Scottish under 10 girls record.


Day 2 - August 2: 1km Time Trial, Men & Veteran Individual Pursuit, Youth Sprint

British World Class Performance riders Matthew Haynes (City of Edinburgh RC) and Russell Anderson (Classic Walls RT) dominated proceedings at the second day of the Scottish Track Championships.

Haynes lifted his first Scottish title with an impressive win in the Kilometre time trial with a time of 1.10.74 in blustery conditions. Graeme Steen improved from 3rd a year ago to take the silver medal 1.2 seconds adrift with Evan Oliphant a further ½ second back for bronze.

In the Pursuit Championship, Russell Anderson looked a class above the rest of the competition and was never really in trouble. Qualifying fastest and maintaining the top seed throughout the competition Anderson beat Ross Muir in the final with the fastest time of the series in 4.57.21. Despite the efforts of Evan Oliphant to catch his opponent within the first kilometre, Jason MacIntyre was a convincing winner in the ride off for third place eventually catching his opponent with 4 laps remaining.

In the sprint competition Marco Librizzi (City of Edinburgh RC) qualified fastest in 11.60 with Matthew Haynes second 0.12 seconds adrift and Graeme Steen (Team Velo Ecosse) third. All first round matches went according to seeding with Kate Cullen (City of Edinburgh RC) coming back in through the Reps to face a second round match against Matthew Haynes. Cullen had earlier set a new Scottish Record for the Women's 200m flying start in the qualifying round taking the record below 13 seconds for the first time with 12.99.

Librizzi, Haynes, Steen all rode according to seeding winning through to the semi-finals 2-0. In the last quarter final Stef Collins reversed the seeding beating Ivor Reid 2-0 to win the final semi-final place. The semi-final and finals take place on day 3 of the championships.

The Vets Pursuit Championship was retained by Graeme Barclay beating last years bronze medallist Andy Laing (Musselburgh RCC in the final.. Third place was taken by last years silver medallist Robert MacLean (Team Velo Ecosse).

In a closely contested Youth Sprint, Shane Charlton topped the qualification with Thomas Mackay a surprise 2nd place ahead of in form Kevin Barclay. In the first round Thomas Mackay lost out to Scot Robertson but came back into the competition through the reps. In the semi-finals Shane Charlton and Kevin Barclay progressed 2-0 but it was Charlton, still with 2 years remaining as a Youth rider who comfortably won the finals 2-0 with Mackay recording a similar win over Robertson.



Day 1 - August 1: Team Sprint, Womens 500m Time Trial, Youth 500m Time Trial

Team Sprint Championship Final
Bronze ride-off
3 City of Edinburgh RC 'B'                       55.13
4 Edinburgh RC 'A'                                 DNF
1 City of Edinburgh RC                           50.46
2 Team Velo Ecosse                               54.58
Women's 500m Time Trial Championship
1 Kate Cullen (City of Edinburgh RC)             39.00*
2 Katrina Hair (Johnstone Wh)                    41.90
3 Denise Lamond (Edinburgh RC)                   42.97
4 Kate Britton (Edinburgh RC)                    45.85
5 Christine Lockhart (Yasumitsu-Schlapp)         47.38
6 Isobel Fletcher (Stourbridge CC)               48.40
7 Fiona Walker (Sandy Wallces Cycles)            52.20
* Scottish record
Youth 500m Time Trial (non-championship)
1 Shane Charlton (Kingdom RT)                    37.80
2 Kevin Barclay (Edinburgh Racers)               37.82
3 Ross Mitchell (Edinburgh Racers)               40.86
4 Thomas Mackay (Edinburgh Racers)               41.30
5 Scot Robertson (Glasgow RC)                    43.84
6 Martin McGarry (Edinburgh Racers)              44.29
7 Patrick Galbraith (Edinburgh Racers)           46.15*
8 Ross Wilson (Edinburgh Racers)                 46.42
9 Alister Ewing (Edinburgh Racers)               46.80
10 Alice Galbraith (Edinburgh Racers)            50.00**
11 Craig Wilson (Edinburgh Racers)               51.50
* Youth C Male Record; ** Youth C Female Record

Day 2 - August 2: 1km Time Trial, Men & Veteran Individual Pursuit, Youth Sprint

1km Time Trial Championship
1 Matthew Haynes (City of Edinburgh RC)        1.10.74
2 Graeme Steen (Team Velo Ecosse)              1.11.89
3 Evan Oliphant (Team Velo Ecosse)             1.12.34
4 Richard Chapman                              1.13.38
5 Ivor Reid (Clachnacuddin CC)                 1.13.83
6 Stefan Collins (City of Edinburgh RC)        1.16.15
7 Alistair Taylor (Musselburgh RCC)            1.16.90
8 Malcolm Ward (Glasgow Couriers)              1.17.41
9 Martin Ross (Edinburgh RC)                   1.17.90
10 Andrew Skeen (City of Edinburgh RC)         1.18.00
11 David Nisbet (Glasgow Couriers)             1.20.50
12 Mike Zagorski (Team Velo Ecosse)            1.21.72
13 Julian Hopper (Team Velo Ecosse)            1.22.05
14 Neil Laing (Edinburgh RC)                   1.22.52
15 Vic Possee (Ayr Roads CC)                   1.26.28
Individual Pursuit Championship Final
3 Jason MacIntyre (Team Velo Ecosse)
4 Evan Oliphant (Team Velo Ecosse)       ct in 3.42.44
7 Russell Anderson (Classic Walls RT)          4.57.21
24 Ross Muir (Team Velo Ecosse)                5.04.15
Veteran's 3000m Pursuit Final
3 Robert MacLean (Team Velo Ecosse)            4.04.25
4 Ivor Reid (Clachnacuddin CC)                 4.06.90
1 Graham Barclay (Kirkcaldy & Dist CC)         3.58.61
2 Andy Laing (Musselburgh RCC)                 4.04.03
Youth Sprint
3/4 ride off
3 Thomas Mackay (Edinburgh Racers)               15.90    14.42
4 Scot Robertson (Glasgow RC)
1/2 ride off
1 Shane Charlton (Kingdom RT)                    13.07    14.40
2 Kevin Barclay (Edinburgh Racers)