Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Bring it on! Series finale (#3)

Alachua, FL, February 1, 2003

Larson, McClintock take series titles in well-attended finale

By Team Florida Racing

The finals of the three race series saw the warmest weather yet this season but still treated the riders to some persistent winds to toughen up the course. The attendance was the best for the series as well thanks to a convenient combine with an annual traditional season opening ride on Sunday, the "Battle of Olustee".

The A grade race was a story of aggression. Couple that with some good old fashioned wind and the race was soon to fall to pieces. After some prodding and tugging, the group came apart by the halfway point and finished in fragments for all of the prizes. The final beneficiaries of the tough day were Andy Woodruff (Lightning Fast) and previous week's winner Dan Larson (Cyclescience). After leaving a five rider break that included Dutchman Marco Verwijs and Bernd Liesenfeld (both Bike Route) and Jax Racing rider Andy Mills, Larson narrowly edged Woodruff in a two up sprint. The shed breakaway companions were swallowed by a small chase group that sprinted in for the third place spot that was claimed by Daniel Holt (FSU).

The B grade event was a quick affair and saw the fastest average speed of the day. Much of the pressure originated from to split of the University of Florida racers into "Orange" and "Blue" scrimmage teams for the day. So with the intrasquad rivalries being played out, the speed remained high. Two relative independents took advantage of this battle and snuck away to spite the fast pace. Junior Shane Braley (Treasure Coast Racing) and solo rider Brad Johr (unattached) rode away to eventually face one another in the final dash to the line. Braley bested Johr and tied the record for the youngest winner of one of these series races at 15 years old (prev. Beck Frydenborg, 15yr, 1/18/03). Reid Savid (UF) claimed the proud 3rd place field sprint to lift the Blue team slightly over the Orange who featured JD Herlihy (UF) in 4th.

The Women's event featured a challenging handicap that brought all the competitors into the final lap relatively together and fully gassed. An opportunistic move in the closing laps by Natalie Webb (UF) nearly paid off as she entered the last lap with nearly a 10 second advantage. She was finally overcome by a late charge led by Rebecca McClintock (Colavita) and the rest of the ladies field. McClintock sailed in for a solid victory as Lori Palmer (UF) finished close behind in 2nd. A consistent Alexis Dabroski (Bike Route) rounded out the top three in the sprint.

The final standings for the series saw a close race in the B category with a two way tie for the win between Lorne Johnson and Shane Braley. Johnson amassed his points consistently over the three events while Braley cashed in on the double points stature of the finals. The A grade and women's competitions saw each of last years winners come from behind in the final race to take their second straight series trophies. Larson and McClintock began the day in third and fourth overall respectively.


A grade (26 laps, 31 miles)
1 Dan Larson (Cyclescience)
2 Andy Woodruff (Lightning Fast)
3 Daniel Holt (Florida State University)
4 Chuck Jerabek (Jax Racing Club)
5 Marco Verwijs (Bike Route)
6 Andy Hemmings (Bike Route)
7 Andy Mills (Jax Racing Club)
8 Bernd Liesenfeld (Bike Route)
9 Josh Seldman (Krystal)
10 Frank Lopez (Lightning Fast)
11 Jason Snow (Cyclescience)
12 Ryan Saylor (Team Florida/Chain Reaction)
B grade (22 laps, 26 miles) 
1 Shane Braley (Treasure Coast Racing)
2 Brad Johr (unattached)
3 Reid Savid (Team Florida (Blue))
4 JD Herlihy (Team Florida (Orange))
5 Jimmy Hendry (Bike Route)
6 Lorne Johnson (Bike Route)
Women (12 laps, 14 miles)
1 Rebecca McClintock (Colavita)
2 Lori Palmer (Team Florida)
3 Alexis Dabroski (Bike Route)
4 Valerie Parks (Team Florida)
5 Natalie Webb (Team Florida)
6 Vicki Santello (Team Florida)
7 Natalie Wright (Team Florida)
Final Overall Standings
A grade
1 Dan Larson (Cyclescience)                 20 pts
2 Jason Snow (Cyclescience)                 11
3 Andrew Woodruff (Lightning Fast)           10
4 Chuck Jerabek (Jax Racing Club)            9
5 Bruno Langlois (Volkswagen/Trek)           8
5 Daniel Holt (Florida State University)      8
7 Mike Starr (True Blue)                     5
8 Marco Verwijs (Bike Route)                 4
9 Ray MacNamara (Atomic racing)              3
10 Alex Lavallee (Volkswagen/Trek)           2
11 Bobby Lee (unattached)                    2
11 Andrew Hemmings (Bike Route)               2
B grade
1 Lorne Johnson (Bike Route )               12 pts
1 Shane Braley (Treasure Coast Racing)       12
3 Reid Savid (Team Florida)                 12
4 JD Herlihy (Team Florida)                 11
5 Brad Johr (unattached)                    10
6 Beck Frydenborg (Atomic Racing)            6
7 Ryan Strickland (Team Florida)             5
8 James Hendry (Bike Route)                  4
9 Chris Ridgard (Team Florida)               3
9 Pete Butler                                3
11 Rebecca McClintock (Colavita)             2
11 Steve Heal (Team Florida)                 2
13 Russ Frydenborg (Atomic racing)           1
13 Jason Hall (Team Florida)                 1
1 Rebecca McClintock (Colavita)             18 pts
2 Alexis Dabroski (Bike Route)              16
3 Summer Calder (Boston)                    10
3 Lori Palmer (Team Florida)                10
4 Kelly Rooney (Team Florida)                7
5 Cindy Tompkins (Bike Route)                5
5 Natalie Webb (Team Florida)                5
7 Amanda Hall (Bike Route)                   2
7 Vicki Santello (Gainesville Cycling Club)  2

Previous USA Results