Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for June 22-28, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Peerless Insurance Twilight Criterium

Keene, New Hampshire, June 25, 2002

"Hoppy" wins big... and US$5,000

In the lead-up race to the Fitchburg Longsjo Classic, Aussie Jeff Hopkins outsprinted some big race favourites to win the second Peerless Twilight Criterium Race in Keene, New Hampshire on Wednesday.

In a race deemed to end in a bunch gallop, twenty-one year old Belarussian Viktor Repinski (Saturn Development Cycling Team) escaped with 5 laps to go, quickly opening up a 11 second lead. However Danny Pate (Prime Alliance) sacrificed his chances of a win for his team sprinter, Alex Candalario, and brought the field back together with only two corners to go; the field speeding past an exhausted Repinski as if he were standing still.

At 200 metres to go, the bunch gallop commenced eight men wide, with Jeff Hopkins carving his way through the pack, and holding off Candelario and Graeme Miller (Mercury) in a photo-finish sprint.

Hopkins said afterwards that he had always intended on staying low until the last few laps, and not chasing down Repinski, where he would use his turn of speed to its greatest effect:

"I'm good at going fast. Eleven seconds I could possibly catch him (Repinski), but the problem with that is that I would have used all my energy. If the whole pack comes, I’m screwed."


Men Pro/1/2/3
1 Jeff Hopkins (Jittery Joe's)
2 Alex Candalario (Prime Alliance)
3 Graeme Miller (Mercury)
4 Juan Jose Haedo (Colavita Team)
5 Kevin Monahan (7UP/Nutra Fig)
6 Adam Hodges Myerson (GS Mengoni USA)
7 Juan Pineda (7UP/Nutra Fig)
8 Wilson Vasquez (GS Mengoni USA)
9 Skip Foley (Trek Racing Team)
10 Sebastian Alexandre (Colavita Team)
11 Oscar Pineda (7UP/Nutra Fig)
12 Matthew Svatek (Cannondale/Wheelworks)
13 Justin Lillie (Trek VW East Coast)
14 Bryan Leigh 
15 James Veliskakis (CCB/VW)
16 Peter Lopinto (OFOTO - Lombardi)
17 Peter Brennan (Trek/VW Goodales East Coast Factory Team)
18 Jason Snow (Fuji)
19 Steve Roszko (NCC/Bike Reg)
20 Josh Anthony (Saturn Development Cycling Team)
21 Kyle Gates (Community Bicycle Supply/Boston Bicycle Club)
22 Thomas Selyher (OFOTO - Lombardi)
23 Gustavo Artacho (Colavita Team)
24 Todd Bowden (Pigiron)
25 Peter Lauper (OFOTO - Lombardi)
26 Mike Sayers (Mercury)
27 Steve Stockwell (Sunapee/Banagans)
28 Eric Fleming (Pro Cycles-Giant)
29 Ryan Pinkham (GS Mengoni USA)
30 Patrick Heidkamp 
31 Conor Hurley (Trek/VW)
32 Michael Lesmerises (Knox Velo)
33 Randy Dreyer (High Performance Fitness)
34 Arlen Wenzel (Keene Horst)
35 Kindler Chase 
36 David Gutterman (Atomic)
37 Scott Plante (Trek VW East Coast)
38 Clayton Barrows (Team Redhook)
39 Tyler Monroe (CCB)
40 Keith Berger (Capital Velo Club)
41 Shams Helminski (Putney/West Hill)
42 Ben Early (Evergreen/Easton)
43 David Youngblood (NCC/Bike Reg)
44 Jason Baer (GS Mengoni)
45 Joe Alachoyan (Ideal Tile/Brielle Cyclery)
46 Greg Malone (Gearworks)
47 Randy Rusk (arc-en-ciel)
48 Tom Lewis (NHNECC)
49 Viktor Repinski (Saturn Development Cycling Team)
50 Andrew Mills (Trek VW East Coast)
51 Paul Rhodes (Ciclismo Sportivo Ardagna)
52 Zak Grabowski (Saturn Cycling Development Team)
53 Eric Sakalowsky (Boston Bicycle Club/Community Bike)
54 David Rusnak (Gearworks)
55 Nathaniel Deibler 
56 Mike Ballou 
57 John Corriveau (BOB Cycling Team)
58 Todd Yezefski (East Coast Velo)
59 Charles Issendorf (GS Mengoni)
60 John Verheul (Ideal Tile/Brielle Cyclery)
61 John Funk (Fiordifrutta/Ridgefield Bank)
62 Todd Rowell (NCC/Bike Reg)
63 Lincoln Brown (
64 Russell Stevenson (Prime Alliance)
65 Dylan Taylor 
66 Timothy Unkert (Capital Velo Club)
67 Eric Juzysta (Invensys/GMBC)
68 Allen Horton (Pro Cycles-Giant)
69 Andrew Boxer (Boston Road Club)
70 Wade Summers (
71 Michael Parr (CycleLoft/NEBC)
72 Kirt Fitzpatrick (Trek/VW/Goodale)
73 Jonathan Bruno (B2C/Community)
74 Will Letendre (Boston Road Club)
75 Kevin Dutt (ProCycles)
Results courtesy PEP results and Bob Fitzhenry, Peerless Insurance

Previous USA Results