Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for June 22-28, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



CMI Coastal Classic

Pescadero, CA, 22 June 2002

Casey takes slippery victory

By Daniel Connelly

Wet roads throughout much of the cool morning made for difficult descending in the 2002 CMI Coastal Classic from Pescadero, CA. After a 3 km promenade, riders entered 45 km main loop at the town of Pescadero. Immediately following the sprint after 3 km, there were 130 and 100 meter climbs of Stage Road. Highway 84 then delivered them inland for the 180 meter climb through the redwoods of Haskins Hill, on the summit of which was the finish. For nonterminal laps, however, riders needed to survive the treacherous descend of Pescadero Road into Loma Mar, then the narrow, winding 13 km return to Pescadero.

In the Pro 1-2 race, US Postal rider Dylan Casey beat Glen Mitchell for the win, with back-to-back USCF California road champion James Mattis of host club Webcor/Alto Velo finishing best of the rest for the final podium position. In the women's 1-2 race, Christine Thorburn of the strong Palo Alto Bicycles team won over Northern California/ Nevada Cycling Association road champion Jane Despas (UA), with Erin Kassoy taking third as part of Palo Alto Bicycles' 1-3-4.


Pro/1/2, 166km, 72 riders
1 Dylan Casey (US Postal Service)       4.38.18
2 Glen Mitchell
3 James Mattis (Webcor/Alto Velo)          2.55
4 Ben Jacques-Maynes                       2.57
5 Ted Huang (Webcor/Alto Velo)             3.07
6 Marc Collard                             3.12
7 Chris Walker (Team Z)                    3.23
8 Marc Hagenlocher (Webcor/Alto Velo)      3.25
9 Chris D'Aluisio                          3.26
10 Jason Klikna                            3.30
11 David Wyandt                            3.36
12 Justin Robinson (Santa Cruz Spokesman)  3.39
13 Jason Lokkesmoe                         3.45
14 Matt Dubberley (Sierra Nevada)          3.53
15 Roman Kilun                             3.59
16 Brian Rick                              4.33
17 Gustavo Gomez                           4.41
18 Kevin Klein (F2 Consulting)             5.54
19 Andrew Touchstow                        6.21
20 Richard Pego (LGBRC/Content Labs)       8.10
21 Randy Rocchi (F2 Consulting)            8.12
22 Robert Newman                          11.02
23 Anastasio Flores                       12.51
24 Keith Szolusha (Webcor/Alto Velo)      13.57
25 John-Paul Ballou                       14.29
26 Lionel Syne                            19.47
27 Joshua Klikna                          20.03
28 David Avila
Women 1-2, 121km, 19 riders
1 Christine Thorburn (Palo Alto)        4.01.57
2 Jane Despas (UA)                         0.10
3 Erin Kassoy (Palo Alto)
4 Kathleen Lenno (Palo Alto)
5 Eryn Hanna (Reno Hilton)                 0.24
6 Joy Shaffer (LGBRC)
7 Carmen D'Alusio (Luna Team)
8 Taitt Sato (LGBRC-ContentLab)
9 Elizabeth Benishin (San Diego Cyclovets) 0.29
10 Cynthia Mammsen (Olympic Club)          0.41
11 Heather Cole (Davis Bike Club)          0.43
12 Chynthia Carroll (      1.08
13 Kristin Drumm (Team Spline)             1.13
14 Dorothy Wong (Kelly Bike)               1.29
15 Kimberley Boester (Webcor/Alto-Velo)    1.35
16 Cheryl Binney (Diet Rite)               3.02
17 Cynthia Maree (Helen's WV Trek)         3.51
18 Lisa Hunt (Olympic Club)                9.43
19 Brenna Wolford (Palo Alto)

Previous USA Results