Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for June 15-21, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Tour de Nez

Reno, Nevada, June 15, 2002

Saturn's Wohlberg Wins Pro Race at Tour de Nez

By Laura Thompson

The mighty Tour de Nez Classic, aka "the Coolest Race in America" continued to be dominated by Canadians. Eric Wohlberg of Saturn Cycling Team took first place in the Tour de Nez Bicycle Classic held on June 15th in downtown Reno, Nevada.

What has become one of the most prestigious master's races in the United States, the 10th annual Tour de Nez added a pro cat. 1,2 race which was dominated by Saturn from the start. Wohlberg's teammate Trent Klasna broke free from the field two laps in and succeeded to stay away for the first two thirds of the 1.5 hour race. Two laps after Klasna got swallowed up by the what was left of the shattered field, Wohlberg broke free and proceeded to finish fifteen seconds ahead of the drag race for second place.

The challenging 1.1 mile course, which included twelve turns, questionable pavement, and a short steep hill, gave riders little opportunity for recovery. The sprint for second had Sierra Nevada's Chad Gerlach edging out U.S. Postal Service's Antonio Cruz for third, and Mike Sayers of Mercury for fourth.

The 5,000 plus spectators were ecstatic about former Reno resident Antonio (Tony) Cruz's participation in the race. "This was a really spur of the moment decision, " Cruz said. Cruz delayed his return to the European peloton so he could show support to the Reno community that supported him as he began his return to cycling after a five year hiatus. He went on to win the Nevada City Classic the following day.

The Master's race was dominated by three-time Tour de Nez winner Glen Winkle of U.S. Postal Service and his teammates Peter Allen and Larry Nolan. Allen and Nolan worked to set Winkle up for the win until he (Winkle) blew up with two laps to go. In the end, it was Richard del Valle of the Santa Cruz Spokesman who finished two bike lengths ahead of previous winner Brian McGuire of The Olympic Club. Winning the field sprint for third was Morgan Stanley's Tim Granshaw.


Pro, Cat. 1,2
1 Eric Wohlberg (Saturn Cycling Team)
2 Chad Gerlach (Sierra Nevada/Cannondale)
3 Tony Cruz (U.S. Postal Service)
4 Mike Sayers (Mercury Cycling Team)
5 David O'Loughlin (OFOTO-Lombardi)
6 Trent Klasna (Saturn Cycling Team)
7 Erik Saunders (OFOTO-Lombardi)
8 Colby Farrell (OFOTO-Lombardi)
9 Dave Fuentes (Sierra Nevada)
10 David Bly (Helens/Trek/VW)
Masters, Cat. 1,2,3
1 Richard del Valle (Santa Cruz Spokesman)
2 Brian McGuire (The Olympic Club)
3 Tim Cranshaw (Morgan Stanley)
4 Michael Hernandez (GS Reno/Bicycle Warehouse)
5 Chris Hipp (Labor Power)
6 Roger Worthington (Labor Power)
7 Peter Allen (U.S. Postal Service)
8 Larry Nolan (U.S. Postal Service)
9 Mark Cutino (Morgan Stanley)
10 Mark Leffler (Rocknasium/CBE) 

Previous USA Results