Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Oceanside Grand Prix

Oceanside, CA, July 28, 2002

Success is sweet

Report courtesy Red5adventures

Race pace was extremely fast in every category. Breakaways were chased down very quickly as nobody want to let anyone escape. With the laps winding down in the men's pro race, Trent Klasna and Rashaan Bahati went to the front and lined it up for Saturn / Timex teammate Jay Sweet, who took his second victory in the series and the overall Triple Crown series championship.

In the women's pro race, Tamara House of Harbour Lights road very aggressively, and attacked often. But with two laps to go, the field was back together and blazing fast. Erika Schwarz moved to the front and started to pull away for the victory. But Carla Koehler riding for MMD was able to bridge the gap and catch Erika at the line for the win. With her second place, Erika won the Triple Crown series championship.


Men Pro 1/2
1 Jay Sweet (Saturn / Timex)
2 Brent Dawson (Jelly Belly)
3 Jamie Paolinetti (Schroeder Iron)
4 Ryan Lane (Team Zombies)
5 Joseph Otereo (Team Tailwinds)
6 Victor Ayala (DARE)
7 Robert Kampilla (Helenís Trek VW)
8 Steve Sonheim
9 Mark Scott (Lipovitan B3)
10 Peter Armitage (Helenís Trek VW)
Triple Crown Point Prime # 1
1 Ryan Barrett
2 Jay Sweet
Triple Crown Point Prime # 2
1 Jay Sweet
2 Ryan Lane
Men Cat 3
1 Dave Herbst (Viejas)
2 Steven Strickler (Simply Fit)
3 Jeremy Keller (MMD / La Grange)
4 Joe Mellone (UCSD)
5 Steve Nadon (Team Helenís)
6 Josue Estrada (Philís BBQ)
Triple Crown Point Prime # 1
1 Jason Cianfrocca
2 Pete Riley
Triple Crown Point Prime # 2
1 Aram Dellalian
2 Frank Schroeder
Men Cat 4 / 5
1 Kyle Gritter (Cyclones)
2 Austin Whitson
3 Michael Borba (Anthonyís Cyclery)
4 Kevin Shrive (7 UP)
5 John Devine (3 BRT)
6 Ty McLaughlin (Redwood Empire Velo)
Women Pro 1-3
1 Carla Koehler (MMD / La Grange)
2 Erika Schwarz (Red 5 Racing)
3 Becky Quinn (Red 5 Racing)
4 Laura Downey (MMD / La Grange)
5 Deborah Durand (Helenís Trek VW)
6 Jenny Eyerman (SCS)
Triple Crown Point Prime # 1
1 Erika Schwarz
2 Debbie Durand
Triple Crown Point Prime # 2
1 Debbie Durand
2 Becky Quinn
Women 3/4
1 Annette Padilla (Velo Allegro)
2 Melanie Ochoa (Velo Allegro)
3 Michelle Webster (Red 5 Racing)
4 Jennifer Hamblen (Mtn. Velo / Supergo)
5 Alisha Lopez (Lightning Velo)
6 Betsy Bloom (Red 5 Racing)
Triple Crown Point Prime # 1
1 Alisha Lopez
2 Cathy Keeley
Triple Crown Point Prime # 2
1 Alisha Lopez
2 Cathy Keeley
Masters 30+
1 Mark Scott (Lipovitan B3)
2 Allen Richburg (Taylor Made)
3 Scott Cochran (Cyclery USA Trek VW)
4 Joseph Otereo (Team Tailwinds)
5 Christian Walker (Team Zombies)
6 Dave Herbst (Viejas)
Triple Crown Point Prime # 1
1 Mark Scott
2 Scott Cochran
Triple Crown Point Prime # 2
1 Scott Raymond
2 Craig Turner
Masters 45+
1 Mark Chrysler (DARE)
2 Don Edwards (San Clemente Velo)
3 Michael Ash (Sun Coast Velo)
4 Rocco Orsini (Peninsula Velo)
5 Rick Swanson (Radsports)
6 Ed Kurzenski (Simple Green)
Masters 55+
1 Jim Miller (PAA Merrill Lynch)
2 Hylton Murphy (Sun Coast Velo)
3 Robert Barney (Sun Coast Velo)
4 Ernie Hoffer (PAA Merrill Lynch)
5 Mario Seri (MMD / La Grange)
6 Michael Fleming (DARE) 

Previous USA Results