Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for April 6-7, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Lincoln Plating Spring Classics – Criterium #3

Mahoney Park, Lincoln, Nebraska, April 14, 2002

Criterium Points Title Goes to McWilliams

By John Lefler, Jr

In a hotly contested points competition, Joe McWilliams of NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos held on to finish third and secure the overall points championship by 4.5 points over teammate Chris Spence in the Cat. 1/2 race on Sunday afternoon at Mahoney Park in Lincoln.

However, the real story of the day was the return of RCRC's Christian Davenport to the front of affairs, and the soild performances of SNORT standout Darin Schlak and NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos rider Ian Robertson (both Cat. 3). After only 10 minutes, Davenport along with Robertson, Schlake and overall race winner Banning Ostrow of the Minneapolis based SuperTeam Racing squad broke away and set a blistering pace to eventually lap the field.

As the Cat. 1/2 second place finisher Davenport later explained, "I needed to do well this week. After my poor performance last weekend, I knew I had to have a good day."


Cat 1/2 - 60 minutes
1 Banning Ostrow (STR)
2 Christian Davenport (RCRC)
3 Joe McWilliams (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
4 Chris Spence (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
5 Adams Mills (Kansas Cycling)
6 Jordan Brasch (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
7 Marco Vasquez (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
8 Jay Thomas (CCB/Volkswagen)
9 Kevin Burke (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
Cat 3 - 60 minutes
1 Darin Schlake (SNORT)
2 Ian Robertson (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
3 Kevin Wilkins (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
4 Benjamin Coles (KU/Wheatland)
5 Mark Merritt (Runza Cycling)
6 Scott Stevens (Runza Cycling)
7 Robert Kelly (Kansas Cycling)
Cat 4 - 45 minutes
1 Jeremy Reimer (unattached)
2 Paul Smith (AJC)
3 David Jablonski (HRC)
4 David Kosark (Runza Cycling)
5 Greg Theiss (OBCR)
6 Christoph Rothmund (TSG)
7 Brent Peteron (UNL Cycling)
8 Matt Sherman (UNL Cycling)
9 Robert Gregg (AJC)
10 John Lefler, Jr (NHS/UNMC/Cycling)
11 Joey Bibby (UNM)
12 Josh Schwantes (UNM)
Masters 30+ - 45 minutes
1 Kevin Burke (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
2 Chris Spence (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
3 Joe McWilliams (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
4 Jordan Brasch (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
5 Mark Brackenbury (AJC)
6 Marco Vasquez (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
7 Jim Adams (unattached)
Masters 40+/50+
1 Paul Whaley
2 Ron Nelson (Runza Cycling)
3 Robert Sack
4 Mike Swanson
5 Andrew Baker (AJC)
Women (Open)
1 Marie Neville (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
2 Renee Carter (OBCR)
3 Julie Kuruc (UMC)
4 Dawn Clements (Runza Cycling)
5 Vera Hall (UMC)
1 TJ Prieur
Cat 5 - 30 minutes
1 Aaron Pool (BBC)
2 Brian Biggerstaff
3 Steven Leuty
4 Seth Sarakaitis
5 David Spinar (Runza Cycling)
6 Eric Peterson
7 Barry Johnson
8 Kerry Kingsley-Smith (AJC)
9 Scott Marble
10 Kelly Soden
11 Brian Hamm (UNL Cycling)
12 Mark Plagman

Previous USA Results