Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

46th Vuelta Asturias - 2.3

Spain, May 15-19, 2002

2001 Results    Stage List    Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - May 15: Oviedo - Llanes, 155.6 km
  • Stage 2 - May 16: Llanes - Gijon, 165.0 km
  • Stage 3 - May 17: Gijon - Aviles, 150.0 km
  • Stage 4 - May 18: Cafés Toscaf - Santuario del Acebo, 170.6 km
  • Stage 5 - May 19: Cangas del Narcea - Oviedo, 164.0 km


The stage racing in Spain continues this week with the 46th Vuelta Ciclista Asturias, a UCI 2.3 event that will see all the strong Spanish teams taking part. The race starts on Wednesday, May 15 in Oviedo, where it also finishes on Sunday, May 19. The format is simple: five stages between 150 and 170 kilometres, no time trials and no split days. It's actually a six day event if you take into account the Subida a Naranco that took place today, won by Jazztel's Gonzalo Bayarri.

In addition to the top Spanish riders, the race will also feature Colombian Santiago Botero who finished fifth in the Clasica Alcobendas last weekend, his first race in Europe after logging around 18,000 kilometres training in Colombia. Botero, winner of the Tour de France's mountains jersey in 2000, is aiming at both the Tour and the Vuelta this year, and already looks in good form. Hopefully his team, Kelme, will stay together as well, as they have had financial problems of late.

Joseba Beloki (ONCE) is racing again, and will need the kilometres in order to prepare for the Tour and Vuelta. He will be accompanied by Abraham Olano, Ivan Parra and Jan Hruska.

Juan Miguel Mercado ( is certainly a favourite for the race, with good chances also for his teammates Leonardo Piepoli and Aitor Osa, the latter who was second in Subida a Naranco.

Start List
Jazztel-Costa del Almeria
Relax Fuenlabrada
Spanish Selection
LA Pecol
Acqua & Sapone
Mercatone Uno
Big Mat
De Nardi

Past winners

2001 Juan Carlos Dominguez (Spa)
2000 Joseba Beloki (Spa) Festina
1999 Juan Carlos Dominguez (Spa) Vitalicio Seguros
1998 Laurent Jalabert (Fra) ONCE
1997 Manuel Fernandez-Gines (Spa)
1996 Miguel Indurain (Spa)
1995 Beat Zberg (Swi)
1994 Abraham Olano (Spa)
1993 Erik Breukink (Ned)
1992 Alex Zülle (Swi)
1991 Pjotr Ugrumow (Let)
1990 Raul Alcala (Mex)
1989 Gert-Jan Theunisse (Ned)
1988 Rolf Gölz (Ger)
1987 Inaki Gaston (Spa)
1986 J. Rodriguez Magro (Spa)
1985 Jesus Blanco-Villar (Spa)
1984 Faustino Ruperez (Spa)
1983 Pedro Munoz (Spa)
1982 Jesus Ibanez (Spa)
1981 Angel Arroyo (Spa)
1980 Faustino Ruperez (Spa)
1979 A. Fernandez-Blanco (Spa)
1978 E. Martinez-Heredia (Spa)
1977 Vicente Lopez-Carril (Spa)
1976 Santiago Lazcano (Spa)
1975 Miguel-Maria Lasa (Spa)
1974 Sentisteban (Spa)
1973 Jesus Manzaneque (Spa)
1972 Augustine Tamames (Spa)
1971 Edouardo Castello (Spa)
1970 Antonio Martos (Spa)
1969 Andres Oliva (Spa)
1968 Jesus Manzaneque (Spa)
1957 Federico Bahamontes (Spa)
1956 Hernan (Spa)
1955 Federico Bahamontes (Spa)
1954 Bernardo Ruiz (Spa)
1953 Antonio Gelabert (Spa)
1950 Miguel Gual (Spa)
1947 Emilio Rodriguez (Spa)
1928 Riccardo Mucio (Spa)
1927 Miguel Mucio (Spa)
1926 Riccardo Montero (Spa)
1925 Barruetabena (Spa)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,