Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

41st Circuit des Mines - 2.5

France, April 26-May 1, 2002

Main Page    Results    Previous stage    Next stage

Stage 2 - April 27: Briey - St Avold, 163 km

Another for Mapei as Gasparre takes stage 2

The Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs team continued its success in France today in the Circuit Des Mines. After Gian Paolo Cheula's win yesterday, today it was the turn of Graziano Gasparre who won the 2nd stage of the race from Briey to St. Avold over 163 kilometres.

Gasparre was part of a 30 man breakaway that was reduced to 20 riders in the cross winds. Gasparre also had his teammates Cancellara, Petrov and Cheula along in the break, and started his attack with 30 kilometres to go. He was able to keep in front with the next group of riders crossing the finish line 10 seconds after him. Renaud Dion (St Etienne-Loire) was classified in second place followed by Jimmy Casper (La Francaise de Jeux) in third.


1 Graziano Gasparre (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs       3.51.13
2 Renaud Dion (Fra) EC St-Etienne-Loire                     0.18
3 Jimmy Casper (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux                  0.20
4 Jacob Moe Rasmussen (Den) EDS-fakta
5 Andy Flickinger (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
6 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs
7 Chris Newton (GBr) Great Britain
8 Alexei Sivakov (Russia) Big Mat-Auber 93
9 Andy De Smet (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop
10 Sergiy Matveyev (Ukr) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo
11 Mark Scanlon (Irl) Ireland
12 Jerome Rouyer (Fra) Lorraine
13 Gianpaolo Cheula (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs
14 Jørgen Bo Petersen (Den) EDS-fakta
15 Arturas Kasputis (Ltu) Ag2r-Prevoyance
16 Evgeni Petrov (Russia) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs
17 Lars Ytting Bak (Den) EDS-fakta
18 Morten Sonne (Den) EDS-fakta
19 Dirk Muller (Ger) Team Wisenhof
20 Baden Cooke (Aus) La Francaise des Jeux                  1.01
21 Magnus Bäckstedt (Swe) EDS-fakta                         5.09
22 Petr Herman (Cze) Czech Republic                        13.56
23 Luigi Giambelli (Ita) Vellutex-Zoccorinese
24 Ivan Terenine (Rus) Russia
25 Phil West (GBr) Great Britain
26 Christophe Mermer (Lux) Luxembourg
27 Nicolas Liboreau (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
28 Laurent Przybyl (Fra) Lorraine
29 Dirk Ronellenfitsch (Ger) Team Cologne
30 Davy Commeyne (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop
31 Klaus Mutschler (Ger) Wiesenhof Cologne
32 Lars Boyson (Lux) Luxembourg
33 Gregor Gut (Swi) Mita Medic
34 Max Becker (Lux) Palmans-Collstrop
35 Andrei Ptcheulkin (Rus) Russia
36 Antony Guiriato (Fra) Lorraine
37 Petr Sestak (Cze) Czech Republic                        14.00
38 Thierry Loder (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
39 Pascal Perrin (Fra) Lorraine
40 Jamie Drew (Aus)
41 Russiasel Downing (GBr)
42 Nicola Chesini (Ita) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo
43 Regis L'hullier (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux
44 Ludovic Collingnon (Fra) Lorraine
45 Bert Roesems (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop
46 Olivier Maignan (Fra) EC St-Etienne-Loire
47 Giovanni Turchetti (Ita) Vellutex-Zoccorinese
48 Fabrice Billard (Fra) EC St-Etienne-Loire
49 Olivier Trastour (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
50 Alexei Garanine (Rus) Russia
51 Nicolas Meunier (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
52 Sergey Poluklin (Rus) Russia
53 Allan Davis (Aus) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs
54 Nicolas Paris (Fra) CC Nogent-Sur-Oise
55 Mikhail Mikheev (Rus) Russia
56 Jörn Reuss (Ger) Team Wiesenhof
57 Benjamin Levecot (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
58 Kilian Patour (Fra) Credit Agricole Espoirs
59 Andrew Jackson (GBr) EC St-Etienne-Loire
60 Mathieu Sprick (Fra) Lorraine
61 Christian Grob (Swi) Mita Medic
62 Linas Balciunas (Ltu) Ag2r-Prevoyance
63 Jacky Durand (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux
64 Franck Charrier (Fra) CC Nogent-Sur-Oise
65 Lionel Lorrainegeou (Fra) CC Nogent-Sur-Oise
66 Tim Buckle (GBr) Great Britain
67 Davide Beminati (Ita) Vellutex-Zoccorinese
68 Nicolas Portal (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
69 Bryan Steel (GBr) Great Britain
70 Julien Mazet (Fra) Credit Agricole Espoirs
71 Giovanni Becagli (Ita) Vellutex-Zoccorinese             14.08
72 Paul Manning (GBr) Great Britain
73 Stephen Gallagher (Irl) Ireland
74 Alan Iacuone (Aus)
75 Thomas Pezzoli (Ita) Vellutex-Zoccorinese
76 Stephen Cummings (GBr) Great Britain
77 Brett Lancaster (Aus)
78 Paul Griffin (Irl) Ireland
79 Cedric Celarier (Fra) EC St Etienne Loire
80 Vincenzo Centrone (Lux) Luxembourg
81 Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux
82 Holger Loew (Ger) Team Wiesenhof
83 Carsten Podlesch (Ger) Team Wiesenhof
84 Matteo Benedetti (Ita) Vellutex-Zoccorinese
85 Yauheni Seniushkin (Blr) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo
86 Jan Deutschmann (Lux) Luxembourg                        14.12
87 Antonio Varriale (Ita) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo
88 Dany Caprais (Fra) VC Rouen 76
89 David O'Loughlin (Irl) Ireland
90 Benjamin Levecot (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
91 Beat Anderegg (Swi) Mita Medic
92 Erki Putsep (Est) EC St Etienne Loire
93 Frederik Willems (Bel) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs
94 Markus Zingen (Lux) Luxembourg
95 Danny Baeyens (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop
96 Pascal Carlot (Fra) CC Nogent-Sur-Oise
97 Thierry Gouvenou (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
98 Anthony Testa (Fra) CC Nogent-Sur-Oise
99 Scott Sunderland (Aus) EDS-fakta
100 David Mckenzie (Aus)
101 Nicolas Meret (Fra) VC Rouen 76
102 Bradley Wiggins (GBr) La Francaise des Jeux
103 Nathan O'neill (Aus) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo
104 Karl Pauwels (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop
105 Sylvain Anquetil (Fra) VC Rouen 76
106 Rodolphe Parent (Fra) VC Rouen 76
107 Rudy Gerard (Fra) VC Rouen 76
108 Brian Kenneally (Irl) Ireland
109 Cédric Coutouly (Fra) Credit Agricole Espoirs
110 Enrico Degano (Ita) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo
111 Martin O'Loughlin (Irl) Ireland                        27.23
112 Mirco Jaisli (Swi) Mita Medic
113 Cameron Lamont (Swi) Mita Medic

General classification after stage 2

1 Gianpaolo Cheula (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs        8.00.16
2 Jørgen Bo Petersen (Den) EDS-fakta                        0.04
3 Andy Flickinger (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance                     1.27
4 Jacob Moe Rasmussen (Den) EDS-fakta                       1.31
5 Sergiy Matveyev (Ukr) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo            1.33
6 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs          2.00
7 Chris Newton (GBr) Great Britain                          2.01
8 Morten Sonne (Den) EDS-fakta
9 Graziano Gasparre (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs          2.55
10 Jimmy Casper (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux                 3.15
11 Lars Ytting Bak (Den) EDS-fakta
12 Evgeni Petrov (Russia) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs
13 Arturas Kasputis (Ltu) Ag2r-Prevoyance
14 Jerome Rouyer (Fra) Lorraine                             6.14
15 Renaud Dion (Fra) EC St-Etienne-Loire                    6.22
16 Andy De Smet (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop                     6.24
17 Alexei Sivakov (Russia) Big Mat-Auber 93
18 Mark Scanlon (Irl) Ireland                               6.44
19 Baden Cooke (Aus) La Francaise des Jeux                 10.42
20 Magnus Bäckstedt (Swe) EDS-fakta                        11.33

Courtesy of