Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

41st Circuit des Mines - 2.5

France, April 26-May 1, 2002

Main Page    Results    Next stage

Stage 1 - April 26: Thionville - Herserange 165 km

Gian Paolo Cheula gains Mapei-Quick step's 600th win

Gian Paolo Cheula (Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs) won the first stage of the Circuit des Mines, bringing the team's total amount of wins up to 600; the team's first victory dates back to the Melinda Trophy of 1993. Cheula attacked from the group along with seven other riders shortly after the start of the race, battling the strong rain and wind that made the 163 kilometres of the race particularly difficult. The small group of 'attackers' started to break up as the race continued leaving just Cheula and J°rgen Bo Petersen of the EDS-fakta team at the head of the race.

These two riders collaborated with each other right up until the final sprint when Cheula launched himself to the line at 200m to go, to take his first ever pro win.

"I am very proud to have had the honour of reaching this important goal for the team," said Cheula. "I have been riding well since the beginning of the season; I had been waiting for a win for some time".


1 Gianpaolo Cheula (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs   4.06.55
2 J°rgen Bo Petersen (Den) EDS-fakta                   0.01
3 Andy Flickinger (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance                1.19
4 Jacob Moe Rasmussen (Den) EDS-fakta
5 Sergiy Matveyev (Ukr) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo       1.21
6 Bert Roesems (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop                 1.49
7 Morten Sonne (Den) EDS-fakta
8 Chris Newton (GBr) Great Britain
9 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs
10 Jimmy Casper (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux            3.03
11 Erki Putsep (Est) EC St Etienne Loire
12 Lars Ytting Bak (Den) EDS-fakta
13 Cedric Celarier (Fra) EC St Etienne Loire
14 Evgeni Petrov (Russia) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs
15 Arturas Kasputis (Ltu) Ag2r-Prevoyance
16 Graziano Gasparre (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs
17 Jacky Durand (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux
18 Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux
19 Christophe Mermer (Lux) Luxembourg                  4.20
20 Max Becker (Lux) Palmans-Collstrop                  6.12
21 Davy Commeyne (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop
22 Luigi Giambelli (Ita) Vellutex-Zoccorinese
23 Klaus Mutschler (Ger) Wiesenhof Cologne
24 Lars Boyson (Lux) Luxembourg
25 Petr Herman (Cze) Czech Republic
26 Danny Baeyens (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop
27 Nicolas Paris (Fra) CC Nogent-Sur-Oise
28 Kilian Patour (Fra) Credit Agricole Espoirs
29 Olivier Maignan (Fra) EC St-Etienne-Loire
30 Antony Guiriato (Fra) Lorraine
31 Jan Deutschmann (Lux) Luxembourg
32 A Ptcheulkin (Rus) Russia
33 Phil West (GBr) Great Britain
34 Mikhail Mikheev (Rus) Russia
35 Laurent Przybyl (Fra) Lorraine
36 Petr Sestak (Cze) Czech Republic
37 Beat Anderegg (Swi) Mita Medic
38 Karl Pauwels (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop
39 Nicola Chesini (Ita) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo
40 Andrew Jackson (GBr) EC St-Etienne-Loire
41 Stephen Gallagher (Irl) Ireland
42 Bryan Steel (GBr) Great Britain
43 Jerome Desjardins (Fra) CC Nogent-Sur-Oise
44 Nicolas Portal (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
45 Allan Davis (Aus) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs
46 MickaŰl Malle (Fra) Credit Agricole Espoirs
47 Davide Bemminati (Ita) Vellutex-Zoccorinese
48 Andy De Smet (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop
49 Dany Caprais (Fra) VC Rouen 76
50 Olivier Trastour (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
51 Thomas Pezzoli (Ita) Vellutex-Zoccorinese
52 Nicolas Meunier (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
53 Ivan Terenine (Rus) Russia
54 Sergey Poluklin (Rus) Russia
55 Antonio Varriale (Ita) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo
56 Matteo Benedetti (Ita) Vellutex-Zoccorinese
57 Russiasel Downing (GBr)
58 Tim Buckle (GBr) Great Britain
59 Thierry Loder (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
60 Renaud Dion (Fra) EC St-Etienne-Loire
61 David O'Loughlin (Irl) Ireland
62 Frederik Willems (Bel) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs
63 Mathieu Sprick (Fra) Lorraine
64 Christian Grob (Swi) Mita Medic
65 Magnus Bńckstedt (Swe) EDS-fakta
66 Alexei Sivakov (Russia) Big Mat-Auber 93
67 Carsten Podlesch (Ger) Team Wiesenhof
68 Ludovic Collingnon (Fra) Lorraine
69 Regis L'hullier (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux
70 Enrico Degano (Ita) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo
71 Nicolas Meret (Fra) VC Rouen 76
72 Rodolphe Parent (Fra) VC Rouen 76
73 Scott Sunderland (Aus) EDS-fakta
74 Ludovic Lanceleur (Fra) Credit Agricole Espoirs
75 Rudy Gerard (Fra) VC Rouen 76
76 Mark Scanlon (Irl) Ireland
77 Alexei Garanine (Rus) Russia
78 Yauheni Seniushkin (Blr) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo
79 Anthony Testa (Fra) CC Nogent-Sur-Oise
80 Pascal Carlot (Fra) CC Nogent-Sur-Oise
81 Paul Manning (GBr) Great Britain
82 Jerome Rouyer (Fra) Lorraine
83 Stephen Cummings (GBr) Great Britain
84 Fabrice Billard (Fra) EC St-Etienne-Loire
85 CÚdric Coutouly (Fra) Credit Agricole Espoirs
86 David Mckenzie (Aus)
87 Linas Balciunas (Ltu) Ag2r-Prevoyance
88 Alan Iacuone (Aus)
89 Jamie Drew (Aus)                      9.49
90 Brett Lancaster (Aus)
91 Pascal Perrin (Fra) Lorraine
92 Baden Cooke (Aus) La Francaise des Jeux
93 Gregor Gut (Swi) Mita Medic                        10.37
94 Giovanni Turchetti (Ita) Vellutex-Zoccorinese      15.07
95 Martin O'Loughlin (Irl) Ireland
96 Benjamin Levecot (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
97 Thierry Gouvenou (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
98 Nicolas Liboreau (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
99 Dirk Ronellenfitsch (Ger) Team Cologne
100 Nathan O'neill (Aus) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo     15.48
101 Giovanni Becagli (Ita) Vellutex-Zoccorinese       17.34
102 Lionel Lorrainegeou (Fra) CC Nogent-Sur-Oise
103 Bradley Wiggins (GBr) La Francaise des Jeux       18.44
104 Paul Griffin (Irl) Ireland                        18.51
105 Mickael Leveau (Fra) VC Rouen 76                  18.57
106 Sylvain Anquetil (Fra) VC Rouen 76
107 J÷rn Reuss (Ger) Team Wiesenhof
108 Dirk Muller (Ger) Team Wisenhof
109 Holger Loew (Ger) Team Wiesenhof
110 Franck Charrier (Fra) CC Nogent-Sur-Oise
111 Markus Zingen (Lux) Luxembourg
112 Julien Mazet (Fra) Credit Agricole Espoirs
113 Vincenzo Centrone (Lux) Luxembourg                18.57
114 Cameron Lamont (Swi) Mita Medic                   21.05
115 Mirco Jaisli (Swi) Mita Medic
116 Brian Kenneally (Irl) Ireland                     27.21
117 Karel Kopr (Cze) Czech Republic                   27.47
118 Tomas Fleissner (Cze) Czech Republic
119 Eric Leblacher (Fra) Credit Agricole Espoirs

Courtesy of