Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Archer Grand Prix - 1.5

Great Britain, April 7, 2002

2001 Results   Results    Past winners

McCauley makes it two in a row

By Gerry McManus

New Zealander Gordon McCauley (RDM Flanders) won the Archer International Grand Prix in Buckinghamshire for the second successive year yesterday.

McCauley out-sprinted his breakaway companion Kevin Dawson (Compensation Group RT - GB) as the two finished 51 seconds ahead of a chasing group of 12 riders. Dawson’s teammates John Tanner and Mark Lovatt took third and fourth respectively again proving their domination of the domestic race scene in the UK.

The 118-mile race was completed a little over 4 hours, 43 minutes on a bright sunny day but with a sharp easterly wind keeping temperatures down for the contestants.

An attack went on the first of three laps of the big circuit. The group of ten riders containing Martin O’Loughlin (Team Ireland), Aaron McCaffrey (Sigmasport RT) and Denis Easton (Northern Ireland Commonwealth Games B) but with the main race favourites still in the bunch, they were reeled after 45 minutes.

While the half-mile climb of Longdown came fairly early in the race, it didn’t feature as an opportunity to attack as could be normally expected. On the second ascent of the climb, the bunch was in the process of mopping up a break of six including Peter Gaarde (Denmark / Ringsted TCR), Bryan Steel (Gt Britain) and Aussie David McKenzie (iTeamNova).

As they reached the smaller finishing circuit seven riders had forged a 45 second lead over the long Woodrow climb and McCauley was setting the pace at the front again. With two Danes, Lovatt, McKenzie and Anthony Malarczyk (Atom Elite) sharing the work, the break should have lasted longer than it did but as they came up the hill to Penn Street, Tommy Evans launched an attack that set up a successful chase group including local Colin Roshier (Team Quest – The Bike Shop) Gary Baker (Angliasport / Condor) and Russell Downing (

With around two laps and 14 miles to go, McCauley attacked again taking Kevin Dawson with him, steadily building up a lead on a 12-man chase group. The Compensation Group RT tactics could be brought into question as the sprint result was correctly predicted by the majority of knowledgeable spectators who felt that Tanner would have been stronger competitor to McCauley in the final 200 metres.

Young Russell Downing ( continued to mix it with his more experienced contemporaries in his colours under team manager Sean Yates, taking fifth in the bunch sprint from 34-year-old race veteran Gary Baker. Tommy Evans (Team Ireland) came seventh in his last race before he starts the Tour of Majorca with the Northern Ireland Commonwealth Games team on Wednesday 10th April.


Images by Gerry McManus

Results, 190km (118m)

1 Gordon McCauley (NZl) RDM Flanders                  4.43.38
2 Kevin Dawson (GBr) Compensation Group                  0.01
3 John Tanner (GBr) Compensation Group                   0.51
4 Mark Lovatt (GBr) Compensation Group              
5 Russell Downing (GBr)
6 Gary Baker (GBr) Angliasport/Condor
7 Tommy Evans (Res) Ireland
8 Tino Haakman (Ned) BRC Kennemerland
9 Colin Roshier (GBr) Team Quest/The Bike Shop
10 Martin Ford (GBr) British Cycling PM
11 Anthony Malarczyk (GBr) Atom Elite RT/Cottrills
12 Gethin Butler (GBr) Preston Wheelers
13 Rory Wyley (GBr)               
14 Ross Muir (GBr) Scotland
15 Huw Pritchard (GBr) Angliasport/Condor                4.14
16 Mathew Stephens (GBr) Sigma Sport                     4.17
17 Simon Gaywood (GBr) CC Luton/Bandon      
18 Chris Newton (GBr) Gt Britain
19 Gary Dodd (GBr) Sigma Sport             
20 Mike Jones (GBr) Robert Grinsell Travel            
21 Morten Bugge Andersen (GBr) Ringsted TCR/Denmark
22 Stephen Gallagher (GBr) Northern Ireland
23 Chris Spence (GBr) Caesarian CC      
24 Martin O’Loughlin Ire) Ireland                        5.06
25 Roger Morgan (GBr) Liphool Cycles RT    
26 Anders Michaelsen (Den) Ringsted TCR                  5.21
27 Jesper Larsen (Den) Ringsted TCR
28 Arjan de Heer (Ned) BRC Kennemerland
29 Co Maas (Ned) BRC Kennemerland/
30 Andy Lyons (GBr) Stilton/Parrot Print RT
31 Rowan Horner (GBr) VC St Raphael/Waite Contracts
32 Graeme Hatcher (GBr) Isle of Man       
33 Gary Willis (GBr) Scotland                            5.33
34 Alastair Kay (GBr) York Cycleworks
35 James Flanagan (GBr) Tm Milton Keynes

Past winners

2002 (2) Gordon McCauley (GBR)
2001 Gordon McCauley (NZl)
2000 Roger Hammond (GBr)
1999 Chris Walker (GBr)
1998 Jonathan Clay (GBr)
1996 Gary Baker / Elite (GBr)
1995 Chris Newton / Elite (GBr)
1994 Paul Curran / Elite (GBr)
1993 David Williams (GBr)
1992 Peter Longbottom / Elite (GBr)
1991 (2) Steve Farell / Amateur (GBr)
1987 Steve Farrell / Amateur (GBr)
1986 Wayne Randle (GBr)
Past winners by Mario Stiehl,