22rd Grand Prix Rennes - 1.4

France, April 8, 2001

2000 Results    Results    Past winners

Casarotto wins GP Rennes

Alessio's Davide Casarotto has won today's 23rd Grand Prix de la Ville de Rennes, the fifth round of the Coupe de France. The Italian beat Scott Sunderland (Fakta) and Davide Bramati (Mapei), after the latter had made a late attack.

The conditions for the race were somewhat better than in the Route Adelie on Friday, and there were many more finishers as a result. The riders had to do a 160 kilometre loop, before coming back to Rennes for 6 laps of a 6.3 kilometre circuit.

Damien Nazon (Bonjour) and Sandy Casar (Française des Jeux) were the day's main protagonists, attacking on the côte de Talensac and gaining a maximum 6 minutes lead. However, the sprinters teams brought them back before the finishing circuit, and Pascal Chanteur (Festina), Franck Bouyer (Bonjour) and Bradley McGee (La Française des Jeux) counter-attacked.

They too were caught and Mapei's Davide Bramati took off with 2 km to go. He looked good but Scott Sunderland chased him down with less than 1 km to go. However, Sunderland had no answer to Davide Casarotto, who went by "like a locomotive" to win the sprint.

Results - 195 km

1 Davide Casarotto (Ita) Alessio               4.28.22 (43.619 km/h)
2 Scott Sunderland (Aus) Team Fakta
3 Davide Bramati (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
4 Franck Bouyer (Fra) Bonjour
5 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Ag2R Prevoyance
6 Wilfried Cretskens (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
7 Florent Brard (Fra) Festina
8 Matthias Buxhofer (Aut) Phonak Hearing Systems
9 Eddy Serri (Ita) Alexia Alluminio
10 Stéphane Heulot (Fra) Bigmat-Auber 93
11 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Bonjour
12 Franck Renier (Fra) Bonjour
13 Daniel Schnider (Swi) La Francaise Des Jeux
14 Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) La Francaise Des Jeux
15 Bobby Julich (USA) Credit Agricole
16 Claude Lamour (Fra) Cofidis
17 Ludovic Auger (Fra) Bigmat-Auber 93
18 Ivailo Gabrovski (Rus) Jean Delatour
19 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Domo-Farm Frites            0.18
20 Lenaïc Olivier (Fra) Jean Delatour
21 Damien Nazon (Fra) Bonjour
22 Serguei Outschakov (Ukr) Alexia Alluminio
23 Raphael Jeune (Fra) CSC-World Online
24 David Clinger (USA) Festina
25 Massimiliano Lelli (Ita) Cofidis
26 Graziano Gasparre (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
27 Linas Balciunas (Ltu) Ag2R Prevoyance
28 Christophe Capelle (Fra) Bigmat-Auber 93
29 Olivier Perraudeau (Fra) Bonjour
30 Anthony Morin (Fra) Credit Agricole
31 Pascal Chanteur (Fra) Festina
32 Patrice Halgand (Fra) Jean Delatour
33 Bradley McGee (Aus) La Francaise Des Jeux
34 Bruno Thibout (Fra) Jean Delatour
35 Benoît Poilvet (Fra) Credit Agricole
36 Christophe Gauthier (Fra) St Quentin Oktos
37 Gilles Maignan (Fra) Ag2R Prevoyance
38 Oleg Kozlitine (Kaz) Saint-Quentin Oktos
39 Arturas Kasputis (Ltu) Ag2R Prevoyance
40 Kurt Asle Arvesen (Nor) Team Fakta
41 Didier Rous (Fra) Bonjour
42 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
43 Christophe Moreau (Fra) Festina
44 Ciaran Power (Irl) St Quentin Oktos
45 Pascal Herve (Fra) Alexia Alluminio
46 Marcus Ljungqvist (Swe) Team Fakta
47 Benoît Salmon (Fra) Ag2R Prevoyance
48 Sven Montgomery (Swi) La Francaise Des Jeux
49 Christian Auriemma (Ita) Alexia Alluminio
50 Eddy Ratti (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
51 Jaime Hernandez (Spa) Festina
52 Cédric Fragniere (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems
53 Bert Grabsch (Ger) Phonak Hearing Systems
54 Roger Beuchat (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems
55 Pierre Bourquenoud (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems
56 Thierry Gouvenou (Fra) Bigmat-Auber 93
57 Andrei Kivilev (Kaz) Cofidis
58 Christophe Bassons (Fra) Jean Delatour
59 Alberto Vinale (Ita) Alessio
60 Yoann Le Boulanger (Fra) Cofidis
61 David Millar (GBr) Cofidis
62 Arnaud Pretot (Fra) Festina
63 Anthony Langella (Fra) Credit Agricole
64 Iñigo Cuesta Lopez De Castro (Spa) O.N.C.E
65 Morten Sonne (Den) Team Fakta
66 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Credit Agricole
67 Xavier Jan (Fra) Bigmat-Auber 93
68 Jacob Moe Rasmussen (Den) CSC-World Online
69 Eddy Seigneur (Fra) Jean Delatour
70 Mickael Olejnik (Pol) St Quentin-Oktos
71 Pascal Derame (Fra) Bonjour
72 Manu L'hoir (Bel) Team Fakta
73 Charles Wegelius (GBr) Mapei-Quick Step
74 Saza Gajicic (Yug) Alessio
75 Paolo Valoti (Ita) Alessio
76 Sandy Casar (Fra) La Francaise Des Jeux         0.33
77 Karel Vereecke (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites           0.35
78 Christophe Morel (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites         0.44

Starters: 123
Classified: 78

Coupe de France standings after 5 rounds

1 Florent Brard (Fra) Festina             94 pts
2 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2r                62
3 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean Delatour    60

Courtesy of velomania.net

Past winners

2000 Gordon Fraser (Can) Mercury Cycling Team   183.4 km in 4.09.24
1999 Max Van Heeswijk (Ned) Mapei-Quick Step 	193.5 km in 4.15.17
1998 Pascal Chanteur (Fra) Casino		193.5 km in 4.35.10
1997 Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) Cofidis 		197.5 km in 4.24.08

1997 (2) Nicolas Jalabert (Fra)
1996 Nicolas Jalabert (Fra)
1995 Peter DeClerc (Bel)
1994 Gilles Delion (Fra)
1993 Eddy Seigneur (Fra)
1992 Jean-Cyril Robin (Fra)
1991 Kim Andersen (DK)
1990 Edwin Bafcob (Bel)
1989 JanBogaert (Bel)
1988 Ronan Pensec (Fra)
1987 Jean-Francois Bernard (Fra)
1986 Eric Boyer(Fra)
1985 Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Fra)
1984 Bruno Wojtinek (Fra)
1983 Domenique Arnaud (Fra)
1982 Jean-Francois Rault (Fra)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl, Berlin