22nd Grand Prix Rennes - Cat. 1.4

France, April 2, 2000

1999 results     Past winners

Mercury take Rennes

The US Mercury Cycling Team showed their continuing good form in France, by placing 3 out of the top six riders in the sprint finish, won by Canada's Gordon Fraser. Fraser beat Festina's Marcel Wüst and last year's winner, Max van Heeswijk (Mapei) for the honours. It marked Fraser's second success in five outings so far in France. They came close to three two days ago with Jan Bratkowski placing second in the Route Adelie.

Two riders escaped early on, but only managed a maximum lead of 1:40, before Festina started chasing and brought them back. They controlled the race until the last lap, when Mercury took over in order to lead out "Flash" Gordon for the finish. He managed to put in a strong finishing kick to leave Festina's Wüst, and took another victory.

The circuit style race was difficult to negotiate, and saw several crashes en route. Henk Vogels came down with two laps to go, but recovered well to finish 6th in the final sprint.

Results - 183.4 km

(including Coupe de France points)
1. Gordon Fraser (Can) Mercury Cycling Team           4.09.24 (44.121 Km/h)
2. Marcel Wüst (Ger) Festina                                     35 Pts
3. Max Van Heeswijk (Ned) Mapei-Quick Step
4. Jan Bratkowski (Ger) Mercury Cycling Team
5. Saulius Ruskis (Lit) Saint-Quentin-Oktos                      18
6. Henk Vogels (Aus) Mercury Cycling Team
7. Jens Voigt (Ger) Crédit Agricole                              14
8. Sven Teutenberg (Ger) Team Gerolsteiner
9. Damien Nazon (Fra) Bonjour                                    10
10. Olivier Perraudeau (Fra) Bonjour                              8
11. Leif Hoste (Bel) Mapei-Quick Step
12. Alain Turicchia (Ita) Amica Chips
13. Alexandre Chouffe (Fra) Big Mat                               3
14. Kevin Hulsman (Bel) Mapei-Quick Step
15. Janek Tombak (Est) Cofidis                                    3
16. Médéric Clain (Fra) Besson Chaussures
17. Erin Hartwell (USA) USA Cycling Team
18. Sébastien Hinault (Fra) Crédit Agricole
19. Angel Sainz De La Maza (Spa) Festina
20. Nicola Minali (Ita) Alexia Alluminio
21. Yvon Ledanois (Fra) La Française Des Jeux
22. Jimmy Casper (Fra) La Française Des Jeux
23. Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Ag2r
24. Linas Balciunas (Lit) St-Quentin-Oktos
25. David Casarotto (Ita) Alessio
26. Cruz De Cruz (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
27. Eddy Lembo (Fra) Jean Delatour
28. Ludovic Turpin (Fra) Ag2r
29. Ole Sigurd Simensen (Nor) St-Quentin-Oktos
30. Bobby Julich (USA) Crédit Agricole
31. Christophe Gauthier (Fra) Besson Chaussures
32. Sébastien Talabardon (Fra) Big Mat- Auber 93
33. David Millar (Gbr) Cofidis
34. Stéphane Heulot (Fra) La Française Des Jeux
35. Tomas Konecny (Cze) Wüstenrot - Zvvz
36. Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Bonjour
37. Alessandro Bertolini (Ita) Alessio
38. Pascal Lino (Fra) Festina
39. Dimitri Fofonov (Kaz) Besson Chaussures
40. Bruno Thibout (Fra) Jean Delatour
41. Fabio Malberti (Ita) Amica Chips
42. Christopher Jenner (Nzl) Crédit Agricole
43. Christophe Faudot (Fra) Bonjour
44. Noan Lelarge (Fra) Bonjour
45. Gilles Bouvard (Fra) Jean Delatour
46. Mauro Gerosa (Ita) Amica Chips
47. Oleg Kozlitine (Kaz) St-Quentin-Oktos
48. Christophe Moreau (Fra) Festina
49. Claude Lamour (Fra) Cofidis                    0.10
50. Serguei Yakovlev (Kaz) Besson Chaussures
51. Aleksandr Shefer (Kaz) Alessio
52. Michael Blaudzun (Den) Memory Card             0.16
53. Floyd Landis (USA) Mercury Cycling Team
54. Ryan Miller (USA) USA Cycling Team
55. Alan Iacuone (Aus) Wüstenrot - Zvvz
56. Vincent Templier (Fra) St-Quentin-Oktos
57. Franciscque Teyssier (Fra) Jean Delatour       0.20
58. Gilles Maignan (Fra) Ag2r                      0.22
59. Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) La Française Des Jeux
60. David Delrieu (Fra) Ag2r
61. Laurent Lefevre (Fra) Cofidis
62. Damien Pommereau (Fra) Cofidis
63. Jaroslav Bilek (Cze) Wüstenrot - Zvvz
64. Laurent Desbiens (Fra) Cofidis
65. Michel Klinger (Swi) Festina
66. Giuseppe Palumbo (Ita) Amica Chips
67. Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
68. Cyril Dessel (Fra) Jean Delatour
69. Philippe Bordenave (Fra) Ag2r
70. Branko Filip (Slo) Team Gerolsteiner
71. Pascal Derame (Fra) Bonjour
72. Denis Leproux (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
73. Christopher Horner (USA) Mercury Cycling Team   0.26
74. Cyril Saugrain (Fra) La Française Des Jeux
75. Serguey Beloussov (Kaz) Besson Chaussures
76. Scott Mc Grory (Aus) Team Gerolsteiner
77. Andreas Sauerborn (Ger) Team Gerolsteiner
78. Martin Rittsel (Swe) Memory Card                0.36
79. Oleg Joukov (Rus) Big Mat - Auber 93            0.49
80. Torsten Schmidt (Ger) Team Gerolsteiner         1.01
81. Jay Sweet (Aus) Big Mat - Auber 93              1.05
82. Jeremy Hunt (Gbr) Big Mat - Auber 93
83. Michael Sayers (USA) Mercury Cycling Team
84. Sandy Casar (Fra) La Française Des Jeux         1.06
85. Bart Leysen (Bel) Mapei-Quick Step              1.10
86. Sébastien Laroche (Fra) Besson Chaussures       1.20
87. Petr Bencik (Cze) Wüstenrot - Zvvz
88. Dario David Cioni (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step        1.52
89. René Andrle (Cze) Wüstenrot - Zvvz              2.07
90. Davide Scalmana (Ita) Amica Chips               2.13
91. Frédéric Finot (Fra) Crédit Agricole
92. Jérôme Bernard (Fra) Jean Delatour              2.21
93. Aldo Zanetti (Ita) Alexia Alluminio             2.40
94. Eddy Serri (Ita) Alexia Alluminio               2.50
95. Mickael Kyneb (Den) Memory Card                 3.13
96. Sven Montgomery (Swi) La Française Des Jeux
97. Volker Ordowski (Ger) Team Gerolsteiner
98. Freddy Ravaleu (Fra) St-Quentin-Oktos
99. Christophe Morel (Fra) Besson Chaussures        3.23
100. Jamie Drew (Aus) Mercury Cycling Team          4.59
101. Takehiro Mizutani (Jap) Besson Chaussures
102. Mariano Friedick (USA) USA Cycling Team
103. Stéphane Auge (Fra) Festina
104. Stéphane Krafft (Fra) Cofidis
105. Tommy Mulkey (USA) USA Cycling Team            5.56
106. Mike Tillman (USA) USA Cycling Team
107. Slawomir Heger (Cze) Wüstensrot - Zvvz         6.23
108. Sébastien Joly (Fra) Bonjour                  11.00

143 starters

Past Winners

1997 Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) Cofidis 		197.5 kms in 4.24.08
1998 Pascal Chanteur (Fra) Casino		193.5 kms in 4.35.10
1999 Max Van Heeswijk (Ned) Mapei-Quick Step 	193.5 kms in 4.15.17