21st Grand Prix Cycliste de la Ville de Rennes, Cat 1.4

France, April 4, 1999

1998 Results     History    


Dutchman Max Van Heeswijk (Mapei-Quick Step) won the 21st edition of the Grand Prix Cycliste de la Ville de Rennes, which was raced over 193.5 kms in the heart of the Breton capital. The 21st Grand Prix was held in very tough conditions on a very flat parcours but took a long time to take any shape. Even though the average speed was high the final move didn't occur until the third last lap when a group of 19 riders succeeded in finally breaking the peloton.

The group was joined by 4 other riders soon after and last year's winner Pascal Chanteur was prominent. With less than two laps to go, the final attack came with Chanteur looking dangerous but accompanied by Max Van Heeswijk. Under the red 1 km to go flag, Van Heezwijk escaped and dropped Pascal Chanteur, who appeared to be paying for the work he had done to break the race up. He worked very hard in the last 5 kms but had no support.

Van Heeswijk easily won the sprint and the average speed for the race was a very fast 45.470 km/h.

Rennes - Rennes, 193.5 kms:

 1. Max Van Heeswijk (Ned) Mapei-Quick Step 		     4.15.17 (45.470 km/h)
 2. Pascal Chanteur (Fra) Casino				0.02
 3. Cristian Moreni (Ita) Liquigas				0.02
 4. Marc Streel (Bel) Team Home-Jack & Jones			0.02
 5. Frédéric Delalande (Fra) Crédit Agricole			0.02
 6. Michael Blaudzun (Den) Team Home-Jack & Jones		0.10
 7. Bruno Boscardin (Swi) Team Post Swiss			0.35
 8. Daniele Contrini (Ita) Liquigas				0.35
 9. François Simon (Fra) Crédit Agricole			0.35
10. Thierry Gouvenou (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93			0.35

Past Winners

1997 Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) Cofidis 	197.5 kms in 4.24.08
1998 Pascal Chanteur (Fra) Casino	193.5 kms in 4.35.10