Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

Deutschland Tour - ProT

Germany, August 15-23, 2005

Ullrich lines up against ProTour big guns in home Tour

By Hedwig Kröner

Jan Ullrich (T-Mobile) gets wet in the 2004 Deutschland Tour
Photo ©: AFP
Click for larger image

The Deutschland Tour (Tour of Germany), a nine-day ProTour stage race, will start in Eastern Germany's Altenburg on Monday, August 15. Covering a total of 1,530 kilometres, the parcours forms a 'U'-shaped loop down South into the hills of the Bavarian forest, before crossing the Alpine border to Austria. With two Hors Catégorie climbs, three Cat. 1 and several other hills to master, this year's race is definitely suited for climbers, with the 'Rettenbachferner' mountain (2,684 m) on stage four to Sölden being the second highest ascent taken on by the European professional peloton this season, and certainly a very difficult one: its average gradient exceeds ten percent. A second mountain finish will await the riders on stage seven to the 'Feldberg' (1.280 m) in the Black Forest, before a 30 kilometre time trial will decide on General Classification on the penultimate stage to Weinheim. The event finishes in former German capital Bonn on Tuesday, August 23.

One major favourite for this year's Deutschland Tour is T-Mobile's Jan Ullrich, who has announced his aim for overall victory after placing third at the 2005 Tour de France last month. "For me, it’s not a build-up race for the Tour any more," he said about the race, which has been rescheduled from June to August to suit the UCI ProTour calendar. "So instead of having to save energy, I can give it my best shot."

Defending champion Patrik Sinkewitz (Quick.Step) will also be participating, and up against such big names as Alexandre Vinokourov (T-Mobile), Levi Leipheimer (Gerolsteiner), Cadel Evans (Davitamon-Lotto), Bobby Julich (Team CSC), Michael Rasmussen (Rabobank), Davide Rebellin (Gerolsteiner), Danilo Di Luca (Liquigas-Bianchi), Jörg Jaksche (Liberty Seguros) and Jens Voigt (Team CSC).