Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

7th Montreal World Cup- CDM

Canada, May 30, 2004

2003 results     Preview    Start List     Past winners

Wood to continue her quest for World Cup victory

By Kristy Scrymgeour

Jeanson all smiles on the podium in 2003
Photo: © Cyclingnews.com
Click for larger image

Riders will line up for the sixth round of the UCI Women's World Cup Series this weekend in Montreal, Canada. This is the seventh edition of the Montreal race, a race that is considered one of the more challenging world cup courses.

Still leading the series is Australian Oenone Wood (Australian National Team) who won round one in Geelong, Australia, back in March. Since that first win, which earned her the world cup leaders jersey, Wood has placed well in every round, maintaining her lead in the series.

Her closets rival going into round six, Zoulfia Zabirova (Go Finland) who currently sits 48 points behind her in the rankings, however is not on the start list for this weekend's event, which takes a little pressure off the Australian. Additionally Mirjam Melchers (Farm Frites-Hartol), who currently sits in third place in the rankings, will not be racing the sixth round. Melchers has placed highly in many of the World Cup series' in past years five years since the inception of world cups for women. In both 2001 and 2002 she took second place overall and in 2000 and 2003 she took third overall.

The course is 12 laps of an 8.3km lap for 100 kilometers in total. Set on Mont Royale, riders have to contest the steep climb up the mountain 12 times with the finish line situated at the top of the climb. Last year, after much attrition throughout the race, it came down to a battle up of the climbers, with local rider Jeanson outdoing her rivals to take the event by 11 seconds from eventual world cup series winner Nicole Cooke.

Jeanson is on the start list for the world cup this weekend, despite facing a possible suspension after not turning up to a drug test at Fleche Wallone in April. Jeanson will be allowed to race and will find out the final decision on her case in the next couple of weeks. At best, Jeanson will be let off with a warning, but there is a chance she will be suspended for between one and six months, which could put her out of action for the Olympics. Results at the world cup this weekend are essential for Jeanson to be selected for the Games, who has not yet qualified for a position on the Canadian Team.

Apart from Wood and Jeanson, other favourites for the race are Lyne Bessette (Quark Cycling Team), Judith Arndt (Nurnberger) who came third in the race last year, and Dede Barry (T-Mobile) who won the event in 2002. Edita Pucinskaite will also be a factor, as will Kimberly Bruckner (T-Mobile) and Christine Thorburne (Webcor) with riders from teams like Victory Brewing and Genesis Scuba definitely ready to shake things up.

World Cup standings after round 5

1 Oenone Wood (Aus) Australian National Team                        202 pts
2 Zoulfia Zabirova (Rus) Team Let's Go Finland                      154
3 Mirjam Melchers (Ned) Team Farm Frites - Hartol                   115
4 Angela Brodtka (Ger) German National Team                          79
5 Sonia Huguet (Fra) French National Team                            75
6 Trixi Worrack (Ger) Nurnberger Versicherung                        71
7 Alison Wright (Aus) Nobili Rubinetterie - Guerciotti               71
8 Petra Rossner (Ger) Nurnberger Versicherung                        68
9 Priska Doppmann (Swi) Swiss National Team                          65
10 Joanne Marie Kiesanowski (NZl) New Zealand National Team          58
11 Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Team S.A.T.S.                              57
12 Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) Vlaanderen - T-Interim Univega Ladies Tea 50
13 Olga Slyusareva (Rus) Nobili Rubinetterie - Guerciotti            48
14 Edita Pucinskaite (Ltu) S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox            40
15 Olivia Gollan (Aus) Australian National Team                      40
16 Miho Oki (Jpn) Team Farm Frites - Hartol                          38
17 Leontien Zijlaard-Van Moorsel (Ned) Team Farm Frites - Hartol     35
18 Sara Carrigan (Aus) Australian National Team                      33
19 Susan Palmer-Komar (Can) Canadian National Team                   30
20 Anita Valen (Nor) Team S.A.T.S.                                   30
21 Susanne Ljungskog (Swe) Team S.A.T.S.                             30
22 Regina Schleicher (Ger) Safi-Pasta Zara Manhattan                 30
23 Judith Arndt (Ger) Nurnberger Versicherung                        27
24 Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Safi-Pasta Zara Manhattan                  27
25 Sharon Vandromme (Bel) Vlaanderen - T-Interim Univega Ladies Team 26
26 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Ondernemers Van Nature                       26
27 Katia Longhin (Ita) S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox                25
28 Hayley Rutherford (Aus) S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox            24
29 Annette Beutler (Swi) Lietzsport Cycling                          23
30 Arenda Grimberg (Ned) Therme Skin Care                            21
31 Rachel Heal (GBr) Team Farm Frites - Hartol                       21
32 Nicole Brandli (Swi) S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox               18
33 Barbara Heeb (Swi) Lietzsport Cycling                             11
34 Liane Bahler (Ger) German National Team                           11
35 Tanja Schmidt-Hennes (Ger)                                        11
36 Theresa Senff (Ger) German National Team                           9
37 Debby Mansveld (Ned) Vlaanderen - T-Interim Univega Ladies Team    9
38 Marion Clignet (Fra) Mixte Basis Aude T-Mobile                     9
39 Sara Symington (GBr) Team S.A.T.S.                                 9
40 Nicole Freedman (Isr) Mixte Basis Aude T-Mobile                    8
41 Eneritz Iturriaga (Spa) Team Let's Go Finland                      8
42 Noemi Cantele (Ita)                                                7
43 Catherine Marsal (Fra) Nobili Rubinetterie - Guerciotti            7
44 Svetlana Boubnenkova (Rus) Russian National Team                   7
45 Tina Mayolo-Pic (USA)                                              6
46 Modesta Vzesniauskaite (Ltu) Safi-Pasta Zara Manhattan             5
47 Katie Mactier (Aus)                                                5
48 Deidre Demet-Barry (USA) Mixte Basis Aude T-Mobile                 4
49 Evy Van Damme (Bel) Belgian National Team                          4
50 Jaccolien Wallaard (Ned) Team Ton Van Bemmelen Sports              3
51 Tatiana Stiajkina (Ukr) Ukrainian National Team                    3
52 Lyne Bessette (Can) Canadian National Team                         2
53 Rosa Maria Bravo Soba (Spa) Spanish National Team                  2
54 Margaret Hemsley (Aus) Nurnberger Versicherung                     2
55 Frances Newstead (GBr) British National Team                       2
56 Bertine Spijkerman (Ned) @Home Cycling Team                        2
57 Trine Hansen (Den) Team S.A.T.S.                                   1
58 Gunn-Rita Dahle (Nor) Safi-Pasta Zara Manhattan                    1

Past winners

     First               Second             Third                Distance/Time  
2002 Dede Demet-Barry    Anna Millward      Genevieve Jeanson    99.6 km in 2.58.16
2001 Genevieve Jeanson   Susanne Ljungskog  Lyne Bessette        99.6 km in 2.44.45
2000 Pia Sundstedt       Fabiana Luperini   Diana Ziliute        99.6 km in 2.46.41
1999 Tracy Gaudry        Lyne Bessette      Anna Wilson          91.3 km in 2.43.07
1998 Diana Ziliute       Jeanie Longo       Barbara Heeb         88.8 km in 2.29.00