12,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>500); // IN GMT $refresh[2]=array('hr'=>13,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>300); // IN GMT $refresh[3]=array('hr'=>17,'min'=>30, 'refresh'=>0); // IN GMT //add new $refresh rows as you like in chronological order. Set refresh => 0 for no refresh line // foreach (array_keys($refresh) as $r) { // foreach not available in PHP3! Have to do it like this reset ($refresh); while (list(, $r) = each ($refresh)) { if (time() > gmmktime($r[hr], $r[min], 0, $m, $d, $y)) $delay=$r[refresh]; }; if ($delay) { return ("\n"); } else { return(''); }; }; ?>
Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  
Rotterdam Tour




2002 World Cups


Competitive Cyclist
Chain Reaction
Full Speed Ahead
Look Cycle

Rotterdam Tour - CDM

Rotterdam, Netherlands, September 15, 2002

Past winners


Mirjam Melchers looking for World Cup honours in Rotterdam

By Jeff Jones

This Sunday's Rotterdam Tour marks the final round of the women's World Cup, which started in Australia in March. The nine race series has been fiercely contested throughout the year, with the lead oscillating between German sprinter Petra Rossner (Saturn) and Dutch all rounder Mirjam Melchers (Farm Frites Hartol). The difference between the two coming into the final round is just 13 points, meaning that Melchers has to finish in front of Rossner in Rotterdam, or not too far behind her. Rossner will have to finish in at least 9th place to gain the requisite 13 points, but will also have to be wary of Melchers. If Rossner wins or finishes second (and in front of Melchers), then she will win the World Cup.

Farm Frites-Hartol will be sending its strongest team to help Melchers in her quest, with Leontien Zijlaard-Van Moorsel, Anouska van der Zee, Madeleine Lindberg, Sissy van Alebeek and Arenda Grimberg. Van Moorsel and Van der Zee have interrupted their track preparation for the World Championships in order to help Melchers on Sunday.

Past winners

2001 Judith Arndt (Ger)
2000 Chantal Beltman (Ned) Dutch National Team
1999 Petra Rossner (Ger)
1998 Diana Ziliute (Ltu