Home  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   Cyclocross   Track   News   Images    Feedback 


Start list
Past winners

Stages & Results






2001 results


54th Critérium du Dauphiné Libéré - 2.HC

France, June 9-16, 2002

2001 Results     Preview    Stages and results     Start list    Past winners


Click for larger image
Christophe Moreau wins the 2001 Dauphiné
Photo: © AFP

Starting on Sunday, June 9 with a 3.6 kilometre prologue in Lyon is the 54th edition of the Critérium du Dauphiné Libéré. With names such as Lance Armstrong, Christophe Moreau, David Millar, Oscar Sevilla, Santiago Botero, Didier Rous, Richard Virenque, and Laurent Jalabert, the race will be an excellent preview of the Tour de France which starts on July 6.

There are a total of eight stages including the prologue, with Wednesday's 41 kilometre time trial from Montélimar to Pierrelatte a crucial test for the Tour contenders. But a day prior this, the riders face the extremely tough ascent of Mont Ventoux (1909m), that marks the finish of stage 2. Mont Ventoux also features in stage 14 of the Tour de France, and is one of the reasons why the Dauphiné will see so many Tour favourites at the start.

However, the key stage will be stage 6 from Albertville to Morzine-Avoriaz. Only 146 kilometres long, the stage takes in three category 1 climbs (Saisies, Aravis, Colombière) and the Hors Categorie Col de Joux Plane (1691m) before the descent into the finish. As ever, the Dauphiné Libéré is well suited to the climbers, and we may well see the winner of this go on to take the Tour de France.

Past winners

Year  First                        Second                       Third

2001  Christophe Moreau (Fra)    Pavel Tonkov (Rus)         Benoit Salmon (Fra)
2000  Tyler Hamilton (USA)       Haimar Zubeldia (Spa)      Lance Armstrong (USA)
1999  Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz) Jonathan Vaughters (USA)   Wladimir Belli (Ita)
1998  Armand De las Cuevas (Fra) Miguel Angel Pena (Spa)    Andrei Teteriouk (Kaz)
1997  Udo Bolts (Ger)            Abraham Olano (Spa)        Jean-Cyril Robin (Fra)
1996  Miguel Indurain (Spa)      Tony Rominger (Swi)        Richard Virenque (Fra)
1995  Miguel Indurain (Spa)      Chris Boardman (GB)        Vicente Aparicio (Spa)
1994  Laurent Dufaux (Swi)       Ronan Pensec (Fra)         Arturis Kasputis (Lit)
1993  Laurent Dufaux (Swi)       Olivier Rincom (Col)       Franck Bouyer (Fra)
1992  Charly Mottet (Fra)        Luc Leblanc (Fra)          Gianni Bugno (Ita)
1991  Luis Herrera (Col)         Ludino Cubino (Spa)        Tony Rominger (Swi)
1990  Robert Millar (Sco)        Thierry Clavyrolet (Fra)   Alviro Mejia (Col)
1989  Charly Mottet (Fra)        Robert Miller (Sco)        Thierry Clavyrolet (Fra)
1988  Luis Herrera (Col)         Niki Ruttiman (Swi)        Charly Mottet (Fra)
1987  Charly Mottet (Fra)        Henry Cardenas (Col)       Ronan Pensec (Fra)
1986  Urs Zimmermann (Swi)       Ronan Pensec (Fra)         Joop Zoetemelk (Ned)
1985  Phil Anderson (Aus)        Steven Rooks (Ned)         Pierre Bazzo (Fra)
1984  Martin Ramirez (Col)       Bernard Hinault (Fra)      Greg Lemond (USA)
1983  Greg Lemond (USA) *        Robert Millar (Sco)        Robert Alban (Fra)
1982  Michel Laurent (Fra)       Jean-René Bernaudeau (Fra) Pascal Simon (Fra)
1981  Bernard Hinault (Fra)      Joaquim Agostinho (Por)    Greg Lemond (USA)
1980  Johan Van de Velde (Ned)   Raymond Martin (Fra)       Joaquim Agostinho (Por)
1979  Bernard Hinault (Fra)      Henk Lubberding (Ned)      Francisco Galdos (Spa)
1978  Michel Pollentier (Bel)    Mariano Martinez (Fra)     Francisco Galdos (Spa)
1977  Bernard Hinault (Fra)      Bernard Thévenet (Fra)     Lucien Van Impe (Bel)
1976  Bernard Thévenet (Fra)     Vicente Lopez-Carril (Spa) Raymond Delisle (Fra)
1975  Bernard Thévenet (Fra)     Francisco Moser (Ita)      Joop Zoetemelk (Ned)
1974  Alain Santy (Fra)          Raymond Poulidor (Fra)     Jean-Pierre Danguillaume (Fra
1973  Luis Ocaña (Spa)           Bernard Thévenet (Fra)     Joop Zoetemelk (Ned)
1972  Luis Ocaña (Spa)           Bernard Thévenet (Fra)     Lucien Van Impe (Bel)
1971  Eddy Merckx (Bel)          Luis Ocaña (Spa)           Bernard Thévenet (Fra)
1969  Raymond Poulidor (Fra)     Ferdi Bracke (Bel)         Roger Pingeon (Fra)
1966  Raymond Poulidor (Fra)     Carlos Echeverria (Spa)    Francisco Gabicia (Spa)
1965  Jacques Anquetil (Fra)     Raymond Poulidor (Fra)     Karl-Heinz Kunde (Ger)
1964  Valentin Uriona (Spa)      Raymond Poulidor (Fra)     Esteban Martin (Spa)
1963  Jacques Anquetil (Fra)     José Perez-Francés (Spa)   Fernando Manzaneque (Spa)
1962  Raymond Mastrotto (Fra)    Hans Junkerman (Ger)       Raymond Poulidor (Fra)
1961  Brian Robinson (GB)        Raymond Mastrotto (Fra)    François Mahé (Fra)
1960  Jean Dotto (Fra)           Raymond Mastrotto (Fra)    Gérard Thielin (Fra)
1959  Henry Anglade (Fra)        Raymond Mastrotto (Fra)    Gaston Riviere (Fra)
1958  Louis Rostollan (Fra)      François Pipelin (Fra)     Jean-Pierre Schmitz (Lux)
1957  Marcel Rohrbach (Fra)      René Privat (Fra)          Jean-Pierre Schmitz (Lux)
1956  Alex Closs (Fra)           Antonin Rolland (Fra)      Fernand Picot (Fra)
1955  Louison Bobet (Fra)        Roger Walkowiak (Fra)      Marcel De Mulder (Bel)
1954  Nello Lauredi (Fra)        Jean-Pierre Schmitz (Lux)  Pierre Molineris (Fra)
1953  Lucien Teissiere (Fra)     Charly Gaul (Lux)          Jean Robic (Fra)
1952  Jean Dotto (Fra)           Nello Lauredi (Fra)        Jean Le Guilly (Fra)
1951  Nello Lauredi (Fra)        Antonin Rolland (Fra)      Lucien Lazarides (Fra)
1950  Nello Lauredi (Fra)        Apo Lazarides (Fra)        Jean Diederich (Lux)
1949  Lucien Lazarides (Fra)     Jean Robic (Fra)           Fermo Camelini (Ita)
1948  Edouard Fachleitner (Fra)  Paul Giguet (Fra)          Jean Robic (Fra)
1947  Edouard Klabinski (Pol)    Gino Sciardos (Ita)        Fermo Camelini (Ita)

* Pascal Simon (Fra) was first but later disqualified for doping 

back to top