13,'min'=>15, 'refresh'=>500); // IN GMT $refresh[2]=array('hr'=>14,'min'=>00, 'refresh'=>300); // IN GMT $refresh[3]=array('hr'=>15,'min'=>50, 'refresh'=>0); // IN GMT //add new $refresh rows as you like in chronological order. Set refresh => 0 for no refresh line // foreach (array_keys($refresh) as $r) { // foreach not available in PHP3! Have to do it like this reset ($refresh); while (list(, $r) = each ($refresh)) { if (time() > gmmktime($r[hr], $r[min], 0, $m, $d, $y)) $delay=$r[refresh]; }; if ($delay) { return ("\n"); } else { return(''); }; }; ?>
Home  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   Cyclocross   Track   News   Images    Feedback 

Pearl Izumi
Limar helmets

85th Giro d'Italia (GT)

Italy, May 11-June 2, 2002

News for May 7, 2002

Latest newsflashes

May 25 - Mathew Hayman interview: Making hay while the sun shines
May 25 - Stage 12 wrap up, Post stage comments, Lunghi wins 12th stage, Simoni out, Saeco cancels journos' football game, Perfetto denies doping
May 24 - Stage 11 wrap up, Post stage comments, Simoni not in the clear yet, Cadel Evans re-launches website, Garzelli case to be heard on June 3, Frigo taken for a ride, Saeco pulls Simoni before B sample announced, Mercatone flicks Sgambelluri
May 23 - Stage 10 wrap up, Post stage comments, Simoni allowed to continue, regardless of B test, Mapei to continue in the Giro
May 22 - Stage 9 wrap up, Garzelli's B sample positive, Post stage comments, Gutted Garzelli to take a break from cycling, Cipollini comments, Castellano comments, Why probenecid?, Policeman admits to supplying Varriale and co. with doping products, Simoni non-negative for cocaine
May 21 - Stage 8 wrap up, Post stage comments, Santi Perez hospitalised with cranial trauma, Garzelli's counter-analysis due on Tuesday, Varriale and the wicked fridge

Complete story index

Mapei-Quick Step for the Giro

After a very successful early part of the season, the Mapei-Quick Step team is heading to the Giro d'Italia with high hopes. The leader of the team will be Stefano Garzelli, who has showed his form in the hilly classics. He will be supported by Andrea Noč, Dario Cioni and Cadel Evans in the climbs, with Davide Bramati and Paolo Fornaciari for the flats and Paolo Bettini, Daniele Nardello and Robert Hunter for stage wins. The team will be directed by Roberto Damiani, with Serge Parsani and Fabrizio Fabbri alternating.

Fassa Bortolo for the Giro

Giancarlo Ferretti has selected a similar team to last year for the Giro d'Italia, which starts on May 11. Leading the team is Francesco Casagrande, who has an excellent chance of winning the race, and he will have strong support in Wladimir Belli, Serguei Gontchar and Michele Bartoli, with Dmitri Konychev, Gorazd Stangelj, Matteo Tosatto, and Denis Zanette as domestiques and Alessandro Petacchi for the sprints.

Kelme-Costa Blanca for the Giro

In the face of financial problems for the team, Kelme-Costa Blanca has selected its riders for the Giro. Led by strong time trialist Aitor González and Romandie revelation Santiago Pérez, the team features sprinters Angel Vicioso and Isaac Gálvez, and domestiques José Cayetano Juliá, Jesús Manzano, Juan José de los Angeles and Francisco León.

Lotto-Adecco for the Giro

Thierry Marichal has been given the final spot in the Lotto-Adecco team for the Giro, as Tom Stremersch is out of form. The team is as follows: Rik Verbrugghe, Kurt Van De Wouwer, Ief Verbrugghe, Robbie McEwen, Stefan Van Dijk Aart Vierhouten, Thierry Marichal, Kurt Van Lancker and Christophe Detilloux.

Cipollini the second most successful Giro stage winner

With an impressive 34 stage wins in Italy's biggest race, Mario Cipollini is ranked second behind only Alfredo Binda in Giro d'Italia stage wins. Binda, who was active between 1925 and 1933, won 41 stages in the Giro, a target that is probably even out of Supermario's reach. But not completely, as Cipollini has managed to win four or more stages in the Giro six times in his career (1992, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999 and 2001). He just has to do that for another two years to give him 42 wins.

Cipollini's first Giro stage win came in 1989, and since then he won at least one stage a year with the exception of 1993 and 1994. He is currently the most successful rider in the peloton, with over 170 career wins, including criteriums.

Top 10 Giro stage winners

1 Alfredo Binda (Ita)            41
2 Mario Cipollini (Ita)          34
3 Learco Guerra (Ita)            31
4 Costante Girardengo (Ita)      30
5 Giuseppe Saronni (Ita)         24
5 Eddy Merckx (Bel)              24
7 Francesco Moser (Ita)          23
7 Fausto Coppi (Ita)             23
9 Roger De Vlaeminck (Bel)       22
10 Franco Bitossi (Ita)          20
10 Miguel Poblet (Spa)           20

Merckx has the most leader's jerseys

There is no-one in the current peloton who can get close to Eddy Merckx's record for number of days in the leader's jersey in the Giro d'Italia. Merckx, who won five editions of the race, held the pink jersey for a total of 72 days. The next best is Francesco Moser (56 days) followed by Alfredo Binda (55).

Most days in pink

1 Eddy Merckx (Bel)              72
2 Francesco Moser (Ita)          56
3 Alfredo Binda (Ita)            55
4 Gino Bartali (Ita)             55
4 Giuseppe Saronni (Ita)         47
6 Jacques Anquetil (Fra)         40
7 Bernard Hinault (Fra)          28
8 Miguel Indurain (Spa)          27
9 Costante Girardengo (Ita)      26
9 Fausto Coppi (Ita)             26
9 Roberto Visentini (Ita)        26

Back to top