Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Bring it On! #2

Alachua, FL, January 28, 2006

The wind greeted the second stop of the season races with 20+ mph gusts, turning the straightforward outing into a slugfest.

In the A grade race it was on from the word "GO!" as Phil Gaimon of VMG Racing bolted off the line and the attacks didn't cease until the final lap. Early in the race the field split nearly in half and didn't regroup until about 10 miles to go. Just as this occurred the winning move slipped away. It contained eight riders: Rudy Robaina, Phil Gaimon (both VMG Racing), David Potter (ASV), Brad Davis (Ford/Orlando Velo), Chuck Jerabek (JRC), Mike Starr (True Blue cycling), Mark Hewitt (Cyclescience) and Brett Miller (UF). This group resisted all of the charges in the final laps to come in ahead of the rest. It was Potter who eventually proved fastest of this select group, followed home by Robaina and Jerabek.

The B grade event featured a complete reshuffling from the previous week. None of the top six finishers were in the top six in the first race. The style of the finish was slightly different as well. In the closing laps a small break of three built an advantage, Phil Bailey (UF), Stephen Wanta (UF), and Andrea Tosolini (GCC). From this group, Bailey won the sprint followed by his teammate Wanta. In the main group James Penrod (Santos Trailhead) slipped away on the final lap for 4th and Paul Messal (GCC) won the group gallop for 5th.

The Women's handicap event was again dominated by the scratch riders. This time, Beth Mundy, Angela Connaughton (both Helen's cyclery), Elisabeth Heal (UF), and Julie Ficker (unattached) were joined by Jaquelyn Crowell (Team19) and Amanda Hall (Bike Route) in the charge past all of the challengers. The young Crowell proved to have the most speed after putting in several strong attacks and an eventually winning the final sprint. Mundy edged Hall for 2nd, while Ficker nipped Connaughton for 4th.


A Grade - 27.5 miles
1 David Potter (ASV)                        
2 Rudy Robaina (VMG Racing)                 
3 Chuck Jerabek (Jax Racing Club)           
4 Brett Miller (UF)                         
5 Brad Davis (Ford/Orlando Velo)            
6 Mark Hewitt (Cyclescience)                
7 Mike Starr (True Blue Cycling)            
8 Phil Gaimon (VMG Racing)                  
9 Bill Pryor (Team Florida )                
10 Hamilton Mundy (Helen's)                 
11 Alex Boyd (VMG Racing)                   
12 Gary Yates (Bike Route/Naples)           
13 Anton Tupa (Cyclescience)                
14 Anthony Alexander (Helen's)              
15 Rebecca Larson (Cyclescience)            
16 Chase Fullerton (VMG Racing)             
17 Dan Larson (VMG Racing)                  
18 Ryan Saylor (Cyclescience)               
19 Jayson O'Mahoney (American Classic)      
20 Jason Stoner (Locos)                     
21 Kerry Duggan (unattached)                
22 Ryan Ellner (Cyclescience)               
23 James Wright (Jax Racing Club)           
24 Ken Schofield (Cyclescience)             
DNF Jim Konopasek (Jax Racing Club)         
DNF Dan Langlois (Providence Velo)          
DNF Chris Casey (Team John Deer)            
DNF AJ Smith (Aerospace Engineering)        
DNF Darryl Tompkins (Bike Route)            
DNF Cindy Tompkins (Bike Route)             
DNF Zach Ball (Atomic)                      
DNF Thomas Idayago (Helen's)                
DNF Chet Smith (Atomic)                     
Women - 16 miles
1 Jaquelyn Crowell (Team 19)                
2 Beth Mundy (Helen's)                      
3 Mandi Hall (Bike Route)                   
4 Julie Ficker (unattached)                 
5 Angela Connaughton (Helen's)              
6 Elisabeth Schneider (Team Florida)        
7 Christi-Ann Hansley (Olympus)             
8 Courtney Dehon (Team Florida)             
9 Heather Davis (Team Florida)              
10 Eugena Rodriguez (Team Florida)          
11 Stephanie Sherril (Team Florida)         
12 Lori Hazel (Gainesville Cycling Club)    
13 Nika Merta (Team Florida)                
DN Teresa FGarcia (Team Florida)            
B Grade - 22 miles
1 Phil Bailey (Team Florida)                
2 Stephen Wanta (Team Florida)              
3 Andrea Tosolini (GCC)                     
4 James Penrod (Santos Trailhead)           
5 Paul Messal (GCC)                         
6 Jason Codding (Team Florida)              
7 Scott Pfaff (GCC)                         
8 Adam Baker (Champion)                     
9 -                                         
10 David Comiskey (Team Florida)            
11 Nate Snyder (Team Florida)               
12 Ryan Fisher (Team Florida)               
13 Shawn Gravois (Bike en Java)             
14 Ted Bibby (FSU)                          
15 -                                        
16 Romero Gill (Champion)                   
17 Alex Price (Team Price is Right)         
18 -                                        
19 Ed Joy (Unattached)                      
20 Rodrigo Sagastegui (GCC)                 
21 Joseph Cornely (Team Florida)            
22 Mike Sanford (Team Florida)              

Local results 2004