Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Bring it On! #1

Alachua, FL, January 21, 2006

The 2006 edition of the Bring it on! series opened with some significant changes for it's first stop. The typical early season chill was replaced with uncharacteristically warm weather, and some very different faces came to the fore in each of the events. (The temperature of 79 degress F was a record high for that date (previously 78F).

The A grade race was decided quickly as a race long breakaway formed within the first five laps. The three successful members battled age, gender and the wind to best all of the rest. Carl Westergen (Velo Brew), a former Florida State and masters national champion, escaped early with new U23 rider Winston David (AG Edwards), and Rebecca Larson (Cyclescience). While putting time into the ever chasing field of a more traditional demographic, the trio proved too strong to contain. In the end, it was David that jumped out for the win, with Larson and Westergren close behind. Brad Davis (Ford/Orlando Velo) and Anton Tupa (Cyclescience) slipped away from the tiring field to claim 4th and 5th respectively, while Rudy Robaina (VMG Racing) took the field sprint from the main group for 6th.

The B grade event featured a larger group trading punches for the duration only to finish in the traditional mass sprint. Some of the best team efforts came from the Orlando Road Club contingent. Their well drilled crew repeatedly gained small advantages, only to be reeled in by the big group on the open course. Emerging from the jockeying on the last lap however, it was Danny Meuhlschleger (GCC) who edged out the University of Florida's Brett Miller and Mitch Hall.

The Women's handicap event was dominated by an impressive trio riding off scratch. Beth Mundy, Angela Connaughton (both Helen's cyclery), and Elisabeth Heal rode through all of the outmarkers and made their way further ahead with only Julie Ficker (unattached) (@30sec) able to match the pace. In addition to the quick work of catching all of the challengers, Mundy also proved too powerful in the sprint for both the primes and the finish, winning every prize available to her. The remainder of the group rode home in shattered ones and twos for their respective placements. Mundy and Connaughton are both past veterans of elite women's racing, returning to the sport after long periods away from competition, while Heal is in only her second year of serious racing.


A Grade - 27.5 miles
1 Winston David (AG Edwards)                
2 Rebecca Larson (Cyclescience)             
3 Carl Westergren (Velo Brew)               
4 Brad Davis (Ford)                         
5 Anton Tupa (Cyclescience)                 
6 Rudy Robaina (VMG Racing)                 
7 David Guttenplan (AG Edwards)             
8 Bill Pryor (Team Florida )                
9 Hamilton Mundy (Helen's)                  
10 Mark Hewitt (Cyclescience)               
11 Anthony Alexander (Helen's)              
12 Robbie Higdon (Ford)                     
13 Phil Gaimon (VMG Racing)                 
14 Chuck Jerabek (Jax Racing Club)          
15 Ryan Saylor (Cyclescience)               
16 Jason Stoner (Locos)                     
17 Kerry Duggan                             
18 Ryan Ellner (Cyclescience)               
19 Jayson O'Mahoney (American Classic)      
DNF Dan Langlois (Providence Velo)          
DNF Jim Wright (Jax Racing Club)            
DNF Jared Fullerton (Ford)                  
DNF Dennis Sutherlin (ORC)                  
Women - 15.4 miles
1 Beth Mundy (Helen's)                      
2 Angela Connaughton (Helen's)              
3 Elisabeth Schneider (Team Florida)        
4 Julie Ficker (unattached)                 
5 Tracy Wallace (Team Florida)              
6 Rachel Hallum (Team Florida)              
7 Teresa Garcia (Team Florida)              
8 Heather Davis (Team Florida)              
9 Nika Merta (Team Florida)                 
10 Kelli Williams (Team Florida)            
11 Lori Hazel (Gainesville Cycling Club)    
12 Eugena Rodriguez (Team Florida)          
13 Stephanie Sherril (Team Florida)         
14 Amanda Tosh (Team Florida)               
B Grade - 22 miles
1 Danny Muehlschleger (GCC)                 
2 Brett Miller (Team Florida)               
3 Mitch Hall (Champion Cycles)              
4 David Comisky (Team Florida)              
5 Dominik Girouard (Team Florida)           
6 Scott (GCC)                               
7 Phil Bailey (Team Florida)                
8 -                                         
9 Jason Gibson (ORC)                        
10 Rodrigo Sagastegui (GCC)                 
11 -                                        
12 Gary Sobolevskiy (Team Florida)          
13 Stephen Wanta (Team Florida)             
14 Patrick McNamara (Team Florida)          
15 Javier Beuzevillz (unattached)           
16 Romero Gill (unattached)                 
17 -                                        
18 Roger Monteo (Team Florida)              
19 Ed Joy (unattached)                      
20 Ted Bibby (FSU)                          
21 Alex Price (unattached)                  
22 Michael Christopher (Team Florida)       
23 -                                        
24 Keith Creedon (ORC)                      
25 -                                        
26 -                                        
27 Kevin Savage (Team Florida)              
28 Steve Heal (Team Florida)                

Local results 2004