Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Bring it on! Race Series #1

Alachua, Florida, January 24, 2004

Bring it on! series kicks off US season

The first full day of racing to open the US road racing scene came and went in fair weather and under beautifully sunny skies. The "Bring it on!" race series in Florida features a simple format designed to open up the legs in the pre-season and offer newer riders a chance to cut their teeth in a group event. To spite the laid back developmental atmosphere, the event's A grade race often features surprise appearances by some top domestic riders. The 2004 opener was no exception.

The A grade race featured several current and former US national champions, the most noteworthy being Fuji rider Bobby Lea, current US Elite Kilometer and Individual Pursuit national champion. Lea has been spending some time in sunny Ft. Lauderdale, FL with the US national track program in preparation for the UCI Track World Cup season that kicks off in Moscow next month. Lea matched his superior credentials with a superior performance and eventually dismantled the small field with the help of his equally decorated Fuji teammates, Kyle Wamsley, former junior and collegiate national champion, and Jason Snow, past masters national and masters world champion.

Lea's closest challenger was a former teammate and former Espoires national road champion Mike Freidman (ESSM/GPOA Fort). Both champions were part of a select group that also included Dan Larson (Cycle Science), Rudy Rubino (Cycle Science), Daniel Holt (Locos), Kyle Wamsley (Team Fuji), Bill Pryor (Orlando Road Club) and Gary Yates (The Bike Route). This key group formed about two thirds of the way through the event then the two leaders slipped away with under five laps to go. Lea then pulled clear with 1 lap to go. Larson slipped in solo for 3rd just ahead of Wamsley and Robaina led a small sprint of the remaining breakaway members for 5th. Snow cleanly took the field sprint and the top ten was then rounded out by Anton Tupa (UF Cycling).

The B grade race enjoyed the beautiful weather as well, but thanks to vigilant riding it featured a drastically different result. While the A grade leaders came to the finish one by one, the B grade spin wound down to a mad herd dashing for the line. To spite the eventual field sprint, the race featured all manner of action. Aside from the usual attempts to escape by several ambitious riders, including top Elite Woman rider, Rebecca McClintock (Colavita/Bolla); near the halfway point there was a large pileup on the backstretch. Fortunately, all of the 12 involved riders escaped with only minor injuries and most returned to the racing action promptly.

In the mass finish, Dan Muchlschlegel (Gainesville Cycling Club) proved to be fastest by leapfrogging a tight battle for the lead by Alex Rodriguez (UF Cycling) and Brock Adams (UF Cycling). Rebecca McClintock (Colavita/Bolla) and Paul Johnson (UF Cycling) claimed fourth and fifth repectively. The races five prime prizes were split amongst McClintock (2), Seth Haley (1) (unattached) and Ken Foley (2) (UF Cycling).

As has become tradition, reigning collegiate national track champion McClintock then moved on to the women's race to face additional challengers. The handicap format first adopted last year and renewed for 2004 series has made for some exciting competition amongst the ladies. To spite a two minute and thirty second handicap, McClintock took the win after a tough chase that consumed nearly the whole event. Fighting to stave her off for most of the race were middle markers Kelly Rooney (The Bike Route/UF Cycling), Michelle Moss (UF Cycling). Outmarkers Teresa Garcia (UF Cycling) and Nancy Bruner (Florida State University) also held on to the eventual lead group and Bruner closed the race with an impressive sprint to take 2nd behind the unstoppable McClintock. Rooney, Moss, and Garcia finished 3rd , 4th and 5th respectively. Garcia, Moss and Keeley Smith (UF Cycling) split the races primes with one a piece.


A grade, 25 laps, 30 miles
1 Bobby Lea (Team Fuji)
2 Mike Freidman (ESSM/GPOA Fort)
3 Dan Larson (Cycle Science)
4 Kyle Wamsley (Team Fuji)
5 Rudy Robaina (Cycle Science)
6 Dan Holt (Locos)
7 Bill Pryor (ORC)
8 Gary Yates (The Bike Route)
9 Jason Snow (Team Fuji)
10 Anton Tupa (UF Cycling)
B grade, 20 laps, 22 miles
1 Dan Muchlschlegel (Gainesville Cycling Club)
2 Alex Rodriguez (UF Cycling)
3 Brock Adams (UF Cycling)
4 Rebecca McClintock (Colavita/Bolla)
5 Paul Johnson (UF Cycling)
6 Seth Hansley (unattached)
7 Dominik Girovard (UF Cycling)
8 Zak Ball (Atomic racing)
9 Tony Alexander (GCC)
10 Robert Newsome (UF Cycling)
Women, 10 lap handicap, 11 miles
1 Rebecca McClintock (Colavita/Bolla)
2 Nancy Bruner (FSU)
3 Kelly Rooney (The Bike Route/UF Cycling)
4 Michelle Moss (UF Cycling)
5 Teresa Garcia (UF Cycling)
6 Stephanie Sherrill (UF Cycling)
7 Charise Rivers (UF Cycling)
8 Keeley Smith (UF Cycling)
Courtesy of Team Florida Cycling

Local results 2004